We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another - WELL short of reasonable for price and location...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Mews Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Mews Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Mews Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Stanhope Row | Park Lane, London W1J 7BS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #662 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Norfolk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Choose another - WELL short of reasonable for price and location...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The location, outside aspect, corridors and lobby areas are fine - maybe even smart

The room was pretty poor by any standards - I have attached some images to show you and to be honest they look better than the real thing

1. the room smelled foisty - wondered why the window was open wide on arrival
2. the décor was in the style of 'tired' or 'shabby - not chic'
3. the view from the loo was of a grubby bin, filled holes in the tiles where 1980s fittings had been updated, nails holding the architrave on, grubby much patched grouting
4. you could clearly hear the conversation of the guests next door, luckily we retired at different times
5. the aircon/heating was decommissioned and replaced by an electric oil filled radiator (and open window combo)
6. the original sink plug mechanism had long broken and been replaced with a 99p rubber plug on a chain leaving a very grubby large hole where it used to be. You could lose a tooth brush down there let alone a ring
7. the doors had fallen off the cupboard, which had been made into a shelf by popping some filler in the hinge screw holes

Do you get the idea, I could go on

The breakfast was very average (British for not good). The bacon was particularly difficult to cut with the knives supplied so I left it, or at least it was bacon shaped.

This is an expensive area, the location is ideal but you will find better. We didn't complain as this trip was a birthday gift from my wife, that would be darn right rude.

Choose another - WELL short of reasonable for price and location...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We take all comments on board and do our very best to rectify any concerns immediately. Whilst our rooms may appear tired in your view I can assure that we have had many guests who have praised not only the hotel and staff but also the rooms. The hotel also offers a very attractive rate and we have taken on board the conditions of our product and priced it accordingly.

We have reviewed your comments and we can confirm the following:

- We have provided an extra radiator for extra warmth during the unpredictable weather.

- The sink plug fulfills it's requirements and we certainly have not had any guests complain in regards to this point.

- Upon checking the room, the fixtures were certainly in line with a traditional boutique hotel and we apologise if you felt the room was not up to you expectations however, we feel the hotel was chosen by you for the location and good rate. During your stay hotels around the area were certainly selling higher than us and we have always stated that we offer value for money.

I recommend in future that you raise your concerns immediately to the friendly attentive Reception team so the Hotel has the chance to deal with any concerns.

I do hope in future you decide to stay with us again so that we can rectify your experience.

Kind regards,

Raj Chana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    173
    127
    117
    117
See reviews for
78
221
62
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

From the outside the Park Lane Mews hotel looks most inviting. Nestled behind the iconic Park Lane Hilton and at the gateway to Shepherds Market in. Mayfair, the location could not be better. It's quiet, sufficiently back from the noise do Park. Lane and yet an easy walk to all the major clubs, restaurants and bars in the area.

Inside, the hotel is struggling a bit. Most rooms have air conditioning that is either noisy or impossible to adjust, and I've stayed in several now, all the same. The hotel have placed an electric radiator in each room as an alternative to using the heating function of the aircon, yet in my last room even that was inoperable.

The staff are cheerful enough and try to help, however on check in they are almost always juggling phone calls, handling a guest checking in or out and fielding random questions from guests from countries where it would seem, the concept of awaiting your turn is unknown. The staff deserve a medal for keeping their cool.

To be fair, the hotel is good value given the location and if the standard of rooms and service were higher the rooms would probably sell for nearly twice as much. Breakfast is adequate, nothing more nothing less. I usually wander into Shepherds Market and get breakfast that's twice as good for half the price.

Despite my comments I will certainly come back to this hotel, as I have done quite regularly, even though the staff never seem to acknowledge regulars, unlike most hotels. Once again I attribute this to the pressure under which they work.

Room Tip: Ask for one where the heating or air conditioning actually works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank for taking the time to post your review. Our staff are trained to multitask and we apologise if you had to wait longer than necessary to check in. During your stay the Hotel was extremely busy and our staff as you have stated have done their very best to manage all tasks.

As you have stated the Hotel is located in a prime location and offers value for money. Whilst you have the option of enjoying breakfast at Shepherd's Market the Hotel has an adequate English buffet which in our view is also reasonably priced for the variety we offer.

We will do our very best to greet you on your next visit to the Hotel and we will try to improve your experience during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in due course.

Kind regards,

Raj Chana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very convenient location and reasonable price compared to other hotels in the area. Room was compact but had everything you want and was perfect for a one night stay. I have seen some of the pictures on this site, but the room I was given was fine, and I had no complaints. Staff on reception and in the restaurant were welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food. My only suggestion for improvement would be to include some sachets of hot chocolate on the tea tray!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear CarolS98,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found my staff to be friendly and that you were happy with your overall stay.

We will take your comment regarding hot chocolate sachets on board however, I am sure you will understand that we cannot cater for everyone's needs complimentary. For future reference, all guests can order hot chocolate through room service.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Raj Chana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had read some varying reviews of this hotel after I had got my room cheaply - this worried me slightly. However, the hotel was really good. My room was a double (free upgrade from the single I booked), the room was a bit small but comfortable and clean, the bathroom fine and perfectly good enough for a one night stay and I could not only open the window, there was very little noise at night due to the tucked away location.

The lady at reception was very polite and helpful when I asked for tube directions (Green Park is best) and the chap on reception when I checked out was very polite.

It is not far from the tube as well, which is very handy. All in all, a good hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was great for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with your overall stay and that you found the Reception staff friendly and helpful. Your kind words will be passed onto the team.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Raj Chana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the Park Lane Mews Hotel on a Sunday night because I was working in the area early on Monday morning. The hotel is located in a fairly exclusive part of London and was reasonable value compared to other hotels in the area. The Hilton Hotel car park is located next door which was useful. The hotel reception decor is nice if a little dated and check-in was fine and fairly quick.

The room was of a decent size (for London) and the decor was fine again if a little dated. The room had a large TV but the picture wasn't great. Free WiFi was easy to access.
Breakfast in the morning was fine.

An ok stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on TripAdvisor.

I was happy to read that you found the location convenient and ideal for your business travels and that you were satisfied with your overall stay.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Raj Chana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

In general we are satisfied with this hotel. A nice and welcomming hotellobby and serviceminded receptionists. Unfortunately our (first) room was a disapointment. It was small, a bit worn down and the window could not be opened ("for safety reasons"...?). It was very warm in the room when we got there so we asked if we could have another one, but the hotel was full. The reseptionist promised us a new room the next day and we got a slightly larger and fresher room.
Everything was nice and clean, serviceminded staff, nice breakfast (a bit small breakfastroom, dont't have breakfast later than 0830). Our new room was just across the road from Hiltons goods delevery and garbage disposal so we was wakened by lorrys very early in the morning. Every taxidriver found the hotel when we said it was in the shadow(behind) of Hilton :-)
All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms seemed older, redecorated rooms a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your room and I am glad that you felt the second room was more to your liking.

It was a pleasure to read that you found the staff service minded and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

I am glad that overall you were satisfied with your stay and that you would recommend us. Your kind words will be passed onto the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Raj Chana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a comfortable bed in a good clean room which had a great shower with plenty of hot water. There is a pleasant communal area, a good restaurant with excellent breakfast, wonderful staff, (whatever they pay Angel, it is not enough) and free WiFi. Brilliant value for a perfect location; what is there not to like?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLMHGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Mews Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive TripAdvisor review.

I was happy to read that you found your stay comfortable and that you were satisfied with your overall stay.

Your kind words will be passed onto Angel and the rest of the team.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Raj Chana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Mews Hotel

Address: 2 Stanhope Row | Park Lane, London W1J 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Mews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Lane Mews Hotel is located in the prestigious Mayfair district, within a short walking distance of the very picturesque Hyde Park adjacent to Park Lane. This 4 star desirable hotel in Central London is within minutes walk to Knightsbridge, Oxford Street, Green Park, Piccadilly, Buckingham Palace, Regents Street and Hyde Park, the heart of London is truly on your doorstep! This 4 star property offers the charm of a traditional boutique hotel with the modern facilities required by today’s most discerning guest. In addition to the comfortable rooms and suites, the hotel also boasts a spacious conference room for meetings and private functions. Dine in our Stanhope Restaurant or simply relax in the Lounge; our dedicated staff look forward to welcoming you to The Park Lane Mews Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Lane Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Mews London
Hotel Park Lane Mews
Park Lane Mews Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Mews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.