We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Mayfair to your Saves list
Ascott Mayfair
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Hill Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #565 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of room but old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Ascott is a charming apartment hotel in the heart of the May Fair. We had loads of room and we could get to every where easily. BUT the air broke down two of the first nights we were there and London was having its hottest summer ever. Not too good to come back to a sweat box after slogging around castle all day.

My older sons loved having their own rooms and Shepards market is close by for meals and there is easy access to Green Park, Picadilly Circus and Kensington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
58
25
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Ascott Mayfair. It was booked by World Traveler which is also a travel agency that I would not recommend. They said the hotel was very nice and a 5 star. Well it is not!! The location is a good one but the place did not have air conditioning and is very old on the inside. My four children ended up sleeping in one room, 2 on the floor, because of the heat. They gave us one small fan and said that the air conditioner takes awhile to cool the room. Well it never did. The bathrooms are tiny and have towel heaters located in each one. They put off a lot of heat throughout the suites and make them even hotter than they already are. My husband burned his back on one of them getting out of the shower. They are actually pretty dangerous. I even got burned on my arm when getting out. You do not realize how hot they are. We asked them to turn them off and they said that they couldn't be turned off. They also brag on their site about a room to have drinks and their terrace area, It is actually a very small room with 2 settees and you make your own drinks from a small bar area. The staff is not helpful at all either. They could not speak very good English. We were suppose to stay another weekend and changed to another hotel. There are so many nice hotels in England. My husband and I used to live there and really just wanted to be in this area. This is definitely a place I would not recommend. It is pretty expensive as well. My biggest mistake was trusting my travel agent and also not reading trip advisor first. This site is very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure that the rooms have modern day air conditioning and not window units. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location close to Hyde Park and short walk or tube ride to West End shows. Spacious comfortable suite with all facilities you would expect of a 5* hotel. Fresh flowers a nice touch. Checked in early at no additional cost. Found staff courteous and helpful, and check in and out was a breeze. Shame we were only there for 1 night as would have made a great base for further sight seeing!

Room Tip: Higher floor the better as away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Although a fantastic location in one of the most beautiful areas of London, this hotel fell so far short of expectations that it wasn't funny. At almost $1000 US per night we were charged a full day extra to check in early as our flight arrived in the morning after a long haul trip from Australia. We arrived at close to 11am and was frustrated that it took almost an hour to check in and that as we hadn't arrived the night before, (they HAD been informed of this), our room wasn't ready for us. Once settled into our room, (with no assurance with luggage etc), we found that the suite, (although initially attractive), was very poorly finished. Of the almost endless list of things wrong with it the most annoying was 1/ washer/dryer didn't work, 2/fridge didn't work, 3/ heating didn't work, 4/ door handle to my daughter room was broken thus locking her in, 5/ taps in bathroom were broken 6/ microwave didnt work, 6/ tv was faulty 7/ safe didnt work etc etc. Of course we complained and were met with complete apathy from the reception staff. In the end, under sufferance, they said that they'd get someone to fix the problem. After returning from a day out, nothing had been fixed and in fact the reception staff had no idea if it had been even looked at. She just said.."you go up and tell me if it hasn't!" Later we were told that they wouldn't be able to get anything seen to til the next day. We requested that they at least see to getting our clothes washed which they did very reluctantly and although we gave them to them at 7pm they delivered, (tossed a bag of unfolded clothes at us), at 12:55am!!! The next day nothing was fixed again and we had to push them to put us in another suite...this was almost as bad. Under circumstances would I ever recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arriving at The Ascott Mayfair, although in a great location, it was disappointing to find no air conditioning, with hot stuffy rooms, despite a 5 star rating. Even one of our toilets was Malfunctioning.The staff were inexperienced and had a poor command of English . They offered no solutions, but when pushed sent a single old-fashioned fan. Despite its expensive cost it failed to deliver on all levels. I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, the description of the hotel did not meet expectations. There was no air conditioning during our stay, so the place was unbearably hot. Along with the loud construction outside the widow, it was almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is hotel is in a wonderful location and might be okay in the winter but has no functioning air conditioning. Add to that the towel heater in our bathroom was on and dangerously hot, our room felt like a sauna. Several complaints to the hotel staff were met with a shrug and a story of how "repair people" were called. The location could not make up for the lack of sleep caused by the heat and I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMayfairRM, General Manager at Ascott Mayfair, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review, all feedback from our guests is appreciated.

I would like to appologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay with us. The cooling system was not working last week due to a system error. We regret that it was not able to be repaired immediately. We did our best to try to assist our guests by providing alternative options of cooling such as fans. The problem has now been resolved, I sincerly appologise for the discomfort you and our other guests felt.

The towel rails are a centralised system and unfortunately cannot be controlled in the individual apartments. Again my sincere appologies if you felt that this was another items which made your stay unpleasant.

I hope that if you decide to return to London that you give us the oppurtunity to change your opinion of our residence.

Yours Faithfully
Dyanne Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Mayfair

Address: 49 Hill Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Mayfair 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated by the world's leading serviced residence company - The Ascott Limited - experience luxury and ultimate service while residing in Mayfair, London's most exclusive district. Surrounded by museums, stylish restaurants and grand theatres, you can relax and enjoy the sophistication of these boutique accommodations while on business travel or a weekend retreat. The 1920s Art Deco building combines all the comforts and amenities of home with an extensive range of facilities and personalised services. Enjoy the best of London while indulging in the spacious comfort of a luxury London serviced apartment. Choice of Serviced Residence Designed and furnished to reflect the sophistication of the Art Deco period, the apartment sizes range from studios residences to expansive three-bedroom suites. Each apartment has a fully-equipped kitchen and optional separate living area. They are ideal for those who desire spacious comfort when on business trips and leisure vacations. Ideal Location: Guests staying at the Ascott’s London serviced apartments are within walking distance or a short journey from many of the most popular attractions and shopping areas. The rich vibrancy of the city, highlighted through the various museums, opera and dining locations, are just at our doorsteps. Spacious Comfort & Personalised Service: Experience the exceptional services you desire and the benefits of exclusive luxury accommodation in London. Breakfast leisurely in The Terrace while viewing the gardens and unwind with cocktails at The Club Lounge. You can relax in the comfort and security of your own private apartment. 24-Hour reception, Board room, Broadband Internet access, 6-day maid service (excluding Sundays), Fitness centre, Grocery shopping services, Laundry & dry cleaning services, Room service from external restaurants, Steam & sauna room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Mayfair London, England
Ascott Mayfair Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.