We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn London - Westminster

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn London - Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1 V2BB, England (Formerly Central House Hotel - Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #684 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tired but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Reviews for this hotel seem to depend on the room you get, and especially the en suites, which seem to vary greatly, so perhaps it's a bit pot luck. I requested an upstairs room on booking, after reading consistently poor reviews for the basement, and this was arranged. We were on the 1st floor, and the room was fine, but rough round the edges - felt a bit like student halls or a hostel: peeling paint, lights falling off the walls, temperamental toilet flush, creaky floors. They've given it a modern London theme, but cut corners and everything's a bit cheap. Bathroom was like a cupboard, but did have a separate shower rather than a wet-room like some of the rooms do.

Despite guests being fairly quiet, the hotel is very noisy because there are no carpets and thin walls. We could hear people just talking in the room opposite ours across the corridor.

They do have a luggage store room if you need it, though guests access it themselves so it's not too secure. (I arrived before check in, and they gave me the key without even asking my name.) We didn't stay for breakfast.

We paid £60 for our night here, and booked it because it was the cheapest central hotel we found and we just needed a bed for a night, nothing special. If you have the right expectations then this place is just fine (especially if you take ear plugs). However it does make me question whether next time we should pay a bit less for an actual hostel, or more for an actual hotel in order to get a better sleep.

Room Tip: Definitely request to not be in the basement. There's no air and no A/C. Having a room next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.

We have CCTV cameras in the public areas including the luggage room. Security is not an issue but at the end of the day it’s the guest’s choice whether or not to leave their luggage behind. We've provided a complimentary service, a facility very rare in B&B hotels in Central London.

We apologized for the noise disruption causing inconvenience. We do try hard to contain excess noise. There’s 24 hours reception service to take care of our guests. The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Thank you for a constructive feedback.
Regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    111
    143
    81
    85
See reviews for
71
111
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband, me and our 2 kids stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in August 2013.We booked Triple Room thru the Internet.The location of this hotel is good, Easy walking distance from both Victoria n Pomlico stations and some restaurants and especially KFC .
First we got the room was in the basement which had windows and see a small courtyard that was filled with rubbish so we could not leave the windows open.But the room was very clean and had Tea, coffee facilities..
A second room was requested after some days was in the first floor,It was really nice and windows were opend into the road side..Yes room was small but enough to sleep and for our luggages.. it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a tiny but had hot water and its worked well and Beds were comfortable enough.We had very good sleep after every tired days..
The continental breakfast was good and was a decent choice of cereals, bread, hard-boiled egg and some spreads, Coffee and soft drinks..
Wonderful service from the reception Team,They were friendly and helpful.
Overall, It was very pleasant time that we had spend Central house hotel..We would book this hotel straight away in our next trip..
(Dhammi-- SRI LANKA)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dhammi,

Thank you for putting up a brilliant review. We absolutely loved the pictures you uploaded on TripAdvisor.

We’re quite overwhelmed after reading your feedback. The review was shared with all the departments to look into the weak areas and encourage the good work going on.

We’ll be looking forward to your visit. We have quite a few special offers coming up so keep me updated on your travel plans in advance.
Regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surpised with this hotel.We stayed here on a girly weekend for one night, rooms were clean, a little small but to be expected in London, small bathroom but clean and had an ok shower with hot water! Tea and coffee in room! Pleasant staff on reception, nice little touches like water machine in reception. Lift was abit scary, made a few scary sounds and seemed to like getting stuck on 3rd floor. Our room was on the front so a little bit noisy but it was friday night. Continental breakfast was nice, cereal, toast, juice etc. Would stay here again fro one night when I just need a bed in London. Not far from Victoria station so good location too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It seems your London trip was fabulous and an ideal one… Great to hear that! Simply loved the way you’ve put all the details together. Thank you for making our day. Can’t wait to welcome you back to Central House Hotel!!

Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We went for a birthday weekend - 5 girls split between a triple room and a double. Triple was in the attic, bit of a trek to the top but we were only staying one night. Ideal city sleep- central location to access all the sites, beds comfortable to rest after a busy day. Hot water & a good breakfast- perfect for a budget stay, what more do you need when you are out of the room most of the time. We found staff friendly and helpful. Close to the bus and tube station. Would stay again but it was booked up the dates I needed! Surely a good sign!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

‘Thank you’ from all of us here at Central House Hotel for putting up a short and sweet review. Your feedback means a lot to us. Victoria London is a very exciting place and everything is just a short walk from our hotel. So I can assure you that you chose the right place for the birthday celebrations.

We shall certainly look forward for another reunion in near future.
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August. the location of this hotel is brilliant its about a 10 minute walk to Victoria station and about a 5 minute walk from pimlico. The hotel room we were given was in the basement which was fine , it was very clean and tidy although there was no fan in the room. The only down side was the size of the bathroom and the windows. The windows opened up onto staff stairs so we had staff going up and down the stairs from about 8 in the morning , also we could not leave the windows open as anybody could have quite easily have got in the room, all it needed was a safety catch or something to stop them opening up fully. The breakfast was really good there was a good selection and plenty of it although we did get there at about 7.45am. Overall the staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean and I would would stay here again but not in the basement.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a two night break through Superbreaks. On arrival we were told that due to the torrential rain the previous day we could not have the room we booked. We were allocated a room in the basement which was very small but clean, very hot with the window opening onto a hotel corridor. A second room was requested this time we looked onto the steps into the kitchen and adjacent to the lift, room very noisy. On the plus side, good location and staff helpfully, breakfast continental but not enough for people with a gluten free diet.

Room Tip: Request a first or second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Lesley,

It’s lovely to hear that you found our staff helpful and the location convenient. Your comments are passed on to the other members of the staff.

We had to make a last minute change in the room we assigned you. It was due to the torrential rain. We apologise if you faced any inconvenience due to this. I hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the near future. We will continue to make improvements based on your suggestions and observations.

Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room is simply too small. There is hardly any room to move around the bed (which narrowly fits two people). The bathroom is so tiny, that you bump against everything as a sink, a toilet and a shower are squeezed into an estimated 2 square meters. Drainage was poor in our bathroom. Also, we had a window from which we could see a small courtyard that was filled with rubbish. Ironically, there was a sign at our windowsill that said not to throw any rubbish out of the window.

That said, the room was fairly clean and the location is centrally located, being a 5-10 minute walk to Victoria underground/railway station. The proximity of Pimlico tube station is of little use, considering the subsequent need for changing trains for most destinations (many of which at Victoria station).

Breakfast was busy and in a crowded basement room with no windows, but overall adequate.

All in all, I would not go here again as the room was too tiny with no room to move (the pictures on their website and budgetplaces.com must be one of the largest rooms they have and I have to admit I was a bit misled by this). The only justification for the room price is its geographic location, anywhere else this place would be outrageously overpriced.

Room Tip: expect a room that hardly allows you to move, apart from that the room we had was acceptably clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Kibago,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us.

Sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction towards few issues you mentioned. By reading your room description we got to know you booked a double room for sole use. Our actual double rooms are much bigger in size. All the rooms are perfectly appointed with tea/coffee making facility, air conditioning, flat screen television and wardrobe for hanging the clothes. But not to worry we’ll make sure you get the perfect room type on your next visit.

We apologise for all the other inconveniences you faced during your stay. Your comments are passed on to the management to make further improvements in the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in near future!
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn London - Westminster

Address: 39 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1 V2BB, England (Formerly Central House Hotel - Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn London - Westminster 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most your stay at Central House Hotel by exploring the luxurious Pimlico and Belgravia area with their abundant choice of unique boutiques and antique shops with quality cafes and restaurants, lush gardens and character streets. The hotel is within walking distance from Victoria and Pimlico Underground Stations. The Central House Hotel offers a range of warm, comfortable and extremely clean accommodation. All our rooms are well furnished and equipped, and decorated in keeping with the tradition of the building, which is full of interest and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London
Comfort Inn London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.