We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can recommend this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanover Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hanover Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hanover Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30-32 Saint Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF BEST RATE
Ranked #252 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Nieuwstadt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I can recommend this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You really get what you're paying for. There's is a 24hours services, which means you are able to leave and enter the room anytime you want. The reception keeps your roomkey when you leave, so you can't loose it. The breakfast area is a bit small, but it offers everything you need. Drinks, toast, croissants, yoghurt and cereal. The room it self was quite big. The only downsite to the room was the bathroom. Our bathroom had a strange smell to it, but futher is was perfectly fine.

I can recommend this hotel, because of the big rooms, the good service and the good location. It was only a five minute walk to the victoria underground.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to read to that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to other people.
At the Hanover Hotel we have been undergoing a change in management attitude, staff training and quality of service we want to offer, which I hope was apparent during your stay. I know you had a choice of accommodation in London to choose from, but I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We were happy to be of service and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    164
    234
    92
    168
See reviews for
212
161
67
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We've been to this hotel two times now. First in 2010, with youngsters (18&30), and now, just the two of us. Both times were very satisfying.

The rooms are very clean, the staff changes sheets and towels daily, and the whole hotel has undergone a renovation since 2010. The carpets were new, bathrooms renovated...
To those, who complain about narrow stairways, small rooms, or the absence of a lift...
Well, of course the rooms are small, thay need to acommodate as many as possible, but the hotel is for sleeping mainly, so there is no need for lots of extra space. Also, the hotel is built in the middle of a series of rowhouses, were normal folk live as well. A typical british house isn't SUPPOSED to have anything but narrow halls, and steep stairs. If these are a problem, be prepared to pay extra: you need to book a more modern and business-y hotel somewhere else. This is a small family owned business. The staff is pleasant and efficient, they will help as long as you remember to ask politely. No need for crabbines.

The breakfast is humble, yes, but the place is more like a hostel anyway, so don't go in expecting fo a 4-star buffet. They have a reasonable selection of youghurts, bread, jam, tea, and cereal.

The location is SUPERB. Dozens of buses will take you straight from the doorstep to any corner of London you might need to visit. The Victoria Station is approx. 150m away, and from there you can take the tube, or the Gatwick Express straight to the airport.
There is a big grocery store nearby - this was a big help with cutting food expenses, and most of the rooms have a kettle for tea (or noodles, soup etc...)

In a nutshell:
- You get what you pay for, so be realistic with your expectations.
- Steep&narrow stairs and halls, not for the disabled!
- Thin walls, not for the easily disturbed!
- Remember to ask and open your mouth while booking in case of special needs, requests, or problems.
- Small rooms, this is not a lounging hotel!
- Awesome location, several buses, the tube, an express, and a convenience store nearby.
- Clean, cozy, JUST RENOVATED. Nice staff.
- Excellent quality-price ratio

9/10.

Anne & Esa from Finland

Room Tip: The rooms might be a surprise, so if you have special needs, CONSULT THE HOTEL BEFORE BOOKING so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post an honest and comprehensive review of the Hanover Hotel.
I am happy to read that you have had pleasurable stays with us. Your comments, suggestions and opinions mean very much to us as they help us to improve our product.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours faithfully,
Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We knew that we could not expect a lot from the low cost hotels in London and were very confused which one to choose from the Victoria area. We could not have chosen better! The hotel was very clean and had a modern interior and a friendly staff. Our room 403 was on the 4th floor (83 steps btw!) with no view from the window but that didn't matter because we knew there would be no lift and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. The bathroom was clean with nice toiletries, bed very comfortable and the free wifi was a big plus. If something must be given a minus it would be the fixed shower. Not a very good way to take care of your hygiene but during a short stay it was not that big of a problem.

We were pleasantly surprised that the breakfast was not just a toast with marmalade but offered also ham and cheese, cerials, buns, croissants, yoghurt, fruit salad, a coffee machine with many alternatives as well as two different kind of juices. A good start for the day.

Location was also good for us since we came from Gatwick to Victoria station by train. Short walk and very easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am extremely happy and proud to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hanover Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I hope to be of service in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Hanover hotel twice last year. The first experience was not ideal as I got a room in the basement which might turn out to be a disturbing experience as the windows open to the street with all the noise. room service at night was not ideal and I was asked to walk up to the reception myself to get more coffee sachets for my room. the bathroom was extremely narrow and cramped.
The second time was a better experience where I opted for a room at the top floor, much quieter and spacious. Wifi is free and good quality which is usually one thing I will always check for when I book. The rooms are clean and medium sized. Breakfast still leaves much to be desired.
The hotel is situated in the middle of London with victoria station only a few minutes walk away and all the major sights at a walking distance if its a good day. If you get a good last minute deal and dont plan to stay all day in your hotel room, then it is certainly worth going for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you experienced difficulty with the service in the evening however as we have only one member of staff at Reception past a certain time he is not allowed to leave the Reception and therefore he would have needed you to come and collect the coffee sachets. I apologise for any inconvenience caused.
I hope you otherwise had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again should you choose to stay at the Hanover Hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not a bad hotel. Good value for money although the bed was very small. Breakfast was terrible, they should not bother and it wasn't helped by the almighty row in the kitchen which disturbed all guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
With regards to the beds I am sorry you found the sleep quality uncomfortable. We have installed standard UK sized double and single beds throughout the hotel. I also apologise for the unprofessional behaviour in the kitchen. The appropriate people have been disciplined.
Thank you for your review once again.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The prices are good considering the location (even though the closest metro station is Victoria, 15 min of walking). The rooms are quite small, and rather dirty. The breakfast is included in the price, but it is of poor quality.
There is no elevator, so if you have heavy luggages ask for a room in the lower floors or in the lower ground.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hanover Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry to hear the Hanover Hotel did not match your expectations and that you were disappointed with your stay. It would be interesting to hear what aspects of the hotel you found dirty so that I can address the issue with the cleaning staff. We do not have an elevator and do advise guests to request a room on a lower floor of needed. When possible, we will transport luggage to rooms at the guests request.
Thank you once again for your review and I hope you will be able to get in touch regarding the feedback.
Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanover Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Hotel Victoria

Address: 30-32 Saint Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms are comfortably furnished, have en-suite facilities and come with:Complimentary Cole & Lewis of London toiletriesWorld renowned “Hypnos” beds in every room15-22” Flat screen Digital TVTelephoneHairdryerHospitality Tray with tea and coffeeComplimentary Continental breakfastFree Wi-Fi24 hours ReceptionThe Hanover Hotel Victoria is a bed and breakfast in central London and has been offering quality hospitality, and cheap hotel accommodation in London, for over 15 years. Combining a personalized service with comfortable accommodation and a convenient location, we are one of the most reasonably priced budget hotels in London.The Hanover Hotel London is extremely well located, close to the Underground (tube), Bus, Railway and Coach Stations of Victoria making it quite easy for our guests to get to other parts of Central London as well as the rest of the UK. The 30 minute high speed train service to Gatwick Airport departs from Victoria Station. The Hanover Hotel London is also well located for some of London’s top tourist attractions such as the Buckingham Palace, London Eye and Big Ben, which are within walking distance of the hotel. At the Reception, we can arrange for tickets to these sites and most other attractions in London as well as for sightseeing tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanover Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Hotel London
Hanover Hotel Victoria London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanover Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.