We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and (fairly) cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huttons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Huttons Hotel to your Saves list
Huttons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and (fairly) cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My friends and I wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay for one night while in London to see a show and that's pretty much what we got. The location was great, just 10 minutes walk from Victoria station - and within walking distance of Buckingham Palace too - but our 3 twin rooms on the fifth floor were all very small and none of the showers were more than a dribble. We asked the hotel receptionist to book a taxi to take us to the West End for our show and this cost £30. The return journey in a taxi hailed in the street was £14, so be aware. Continental breakfast was included in the price but we opted for the full English at £5 which was good value. The staff were pleasant enough and the tiny rooms were clean but on the whole we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Cheap and cheerful ! well thanks for your review we are good value and Iam pleased you found the rooms clean and our service good . Room size is average for london and extremley good vaslue for the location . Next time If you want a bigger room then just opt for a triple or quad we have about 20 of these type of rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    251
    223
    121
    83
See reviews for
188
220
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had just the one night here recently - en route from JFK to home in Perth and needed one night in London. So chose this based on Trip Advisor reviews and because it was close to Victoria for the train to Gatwick. The hotel is good value, the room large by London standards and our room which faced the street with a window that opened was great! Only problem was a jet lagged neighbour either next door or upstairs who paced his or her room from 430am and the floorboards creaked! Despite this, recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for leaving a nice review its refreshing to here our rooms are large ! We are an old Victorian building a little quirky at times and we do creak with old age .!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A typical budget hotel. I'd say that it deserves the money paid. The breakfast was decent, the room was clean, although very small and crowded. The location is not exactly a great advantage. It is not fancy, but it does not pretend to be such. All in all, I'd say that it is a resonable experience, very suitable for business travels.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for the feedback we are as you say good value offering a decent service pleased you like ther breakfast and the fact you had a clean room. The location good . Finally we want to encourage more business clients who want less frills and more value !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Mid 3 star quality. First desk clerk man, very unfriendly and off putting. Later, terrific ladies followed, especially lovely Polish lady. Room very tiny and bed only so so. Quiet hotel. Fantastic breakfast service included in the price, I enjoyed the maid staff and room cleaner, but did not feel totally secure. They have an untended storage area, but any guest can access. I state the place was full, most international people from everywhere, mostly because of price? The room tiny. The bathroom door could not fully open because door hit the little double bed. But overall, a good deal for the price and excellent location, neighborhood, and access to transportation. TV but no room telephone. Did have 24 hour desk. Very sparse service. Place was really clean!

Room Tip: Quiet street. We 3rd floor. Can open windows for fresh air. I don't know if any of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for the detailed feed back lots of things to think about . I am pleased the service seems to get better as you went through the staff members . Rooms are clean and good value . Quiet hotel. Fantastic breakfast and good deal for the price and excellent location, neighbourhood, and access to transportation sounds good !
The luggage room is FREE and locked but we don’t take responsibility most customers are happy with this concept and in 20 years we have never had a theft so if its not broke! why fix it seems to be our approach . We never replaced our phones as our customers tell us they would not use hotel phones as the costs are high instead all our customers like the free Wifi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

With a location closed to Victoria Station who have train access directly to the airport are Huttons Hotel the ideal location for a trip to London, however short trips only as the rooms are very small, might not be all rooms, but the three rooms me and my family had booked was all very small rooms, but OK for a couple of nights. Breakfast WAS English breakfast, so don't expect this meal to be an unforgettable experience. The service was in top, so all in all are Huttons Hotel a few points above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for your review sounds like you over all happy with your stay apart from the room sizes . You are right all our rooms are different and some are bigger and those are generally more expensive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Here is some things you should know before booking this hotel. The staff was polite. The sheets and bathroom clean. While I knew it was a budget hotel, I was not prepared for a bare bones hotel. The towels were placed on a chair in the room and there was no place to hang hand towels. They had liquid hand soap for the soap in the shower and no washclothes. When I asked for washclothes at the desk they didn't know what I was talking about and after I explained what they were I was given more hand towels. The room also had a musty smell when you layed down on the bed. But most importantly, this is an older neighbor and is not exactly the safest part of town. Which I felt walking along the streets the first night and which was confirmed by a local resident the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for your feed back I sorry to hear your comments and apologise for any failings however we have rectified all the areas you highlight . Please feel free to look elsewhere but please try us one more time and give us a chance to give you a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A good location with friendly reception staff. But sadly that's where the good news stops. My basement room had a grubby feel to it with torn sheets & stained curtains. The table top was unfixed and could cause an accident to a small child. The radiator had no thermostat so it was impossible to control the temperature. Also reported a 'leak' above the shower & need for new batteries in the remote. I'll look elsewhere in the locality the next time I visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huttons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huttons Hotel

Address: 53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huttons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Huttons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huttons Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huttons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.