We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Huttons Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huttons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Huttons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,073 hotels in London
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not go back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a two night stay in this hotel. The location was convenient for where we needed to be but everything else was terrible. The room was small, the bathroom was smaller and smelt of sewage. The shower was barely a trickle and was cold on both days. I've stayed in hits in Thailand with better shower facilities. When we told reception that the shower was cold, they didn't apologise, just asked if we had turned it on correctly; it was one tap with left or right for hot or cold!! The beds were uncomfortable, we had to put the spare blanket underneath the sheet to stop the springs from digging in. There was work going on somewhere as we could hear drills and banging at 9.30am each morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    225
    206
    115
    82
See reviews for
165
185
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights 31st Jan to 3rd feb , a spur of the moment trip to explore London,a good base to start from as Victoria and Pimlico are only 5 mins. by foot
Found staff friendly and reception helpfull.
Room was very clean and functional, and serviced daily. I would like to have had some form of alarm clock in the room as breakfast is from 0730 to 0915 Prompt !, I think the time should be extended as when on holiday it would be nice to get up at your own speed !.
The breakfast filled the gap however I think this could be improved by better quality produce, based on the continental, bread (or to toast if required),sliced cheese,jams, tinned fruit cocktail,cornflakes and muesli.tea,coffee, hot chocolate and orange juice.
A cooked breakfast is available at a small extra price although we did not opt for this due to the lack of time allotted for breakfast !
.Perhaps the addition of cold meats and pastries would bolster this up ?.
This was not too much of an issue to spoil the stay so overall we were pleased with this choice of hotel and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Manager at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you review it was very helpful we will consider your comments about the breakfast I'm glad you enjoyed yesterday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It's in an ideal location, a few mins from pimlico or about 10 mins from Victoria tube station. Buckingham palace is a 15 min walk away. Yes, the rooms and bathroom are a bit small, but perfectly adequate for all time you are there! The rooms were a bit warm though, so not sure how I'd cope here in summer! The breakfast is also adequate, but I personally felt 9.15 (especially on weekends!) was too early for it finishing. However, I would recommend this hotel and return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for a brilliant review we're so pleased you like the hotel and you are very welcome to come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When I initially arrived at the hotel, I had been booked into a non-refurbished room. This room was old fashioned and below my expectations. As a result of this, I contacted my booking agent to express my concerns that they had offered me this room. My concerns were quickly escalated to the hotel manager who resolved my concerns and moved me to a room I found to be extremely good value. I could not have asked for a more comprehensive resolution to my concerns, thank you!

I stayed in room 204 for my last night which is one of the Huttons refurbished rooms. The room is compact in size which is understandable given that the Huttons is so centrally located where space is always at a premium. My room was extremely clean and had a balcony looking out onto the street which was a nice surprise. The room is old fashioned in style, but all the amenities I expected were there; plenty of plug sockets, coffee & tea facilities, freeview television and very crisp clean sheets.

The nightlight of the room is probably the bathroom which has been very recently refurbished (older bathrooms are in desperate need of this!). Extremely clean, powerful shower, toilet and sink and good use of space.

Perhaps the room decoration should be considered for an upgrade soon, walls are quite thin and it's not recommended you drink the water from the tap owing to the way water is distributed around the hotel (but this makes for a more powerful shower).

Thanks again to the lovely lady manager who totally turned around my experience of The Huttons - if I was on a budget again I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Always ask for best available room with refurbished bathroom, and if you do have any concerns don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were full of trepidation having read so many negative reviews but our stay at this hotel was overall a positive experience.
We had a room at the back on the fourth floor. It was small but clean,newly fitted out and very warm. In fact,so warm we had to sleep with the window wide open. The shower worked well and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was basic but adequate and the coffee was good. The staff in the breakfast room and reception were charming.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a short stay hotel near the centre of London. The area is pleasant and Victoria station is nearby. So is the river and Tate Britain.
Our only problem was with noisy people in the room above late at night but earplugs sorted that out.

Room Tip: Room 403 was quiet with a lovely view of the rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We travelled in October 2012. We found this hotel to be centrally located, close to the Victoria station with buses and taxis available. Staff was extremely friendly. We had to check out of the hotel late at night since our flight was early morning, they organized a cab for us. We felt very safe and content. The breakfast although very simple, was like breakfast at home. The only downside was the rooms were small. But worth it if you are going to be staying for just a day or 2. I would visit again. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travelled up on Friday 18th jan in all the snow and when we arrived we was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, who also changed are room to a double without any fuss, the receptionist was a very helpful young man, also showing us where the hotel was and where we were going that evening on a map.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the only downside was the room was slightly crammed and the mirror to far from the plug, and very very warm in the room. The bathroom was great.
The breakfast room was clean and staff very cheerful.

Room Tip: We had a double at the back very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huttons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huttons Hotel

Address: 53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huttons Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Huttons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huttons Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huttons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.