We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huttons Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huttons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Huttons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #601 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Whitley Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were full of trepidation having read so many negative reviews but our stay at this hotel was overall a positive experience.
We had a room at the back on the fourth floor. It was small but clean,newly fitted out and very warm. In fact,so warm we had to sleep with the window wide open. The shower worked well and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was basic but adequate and the coffee was good. The staff in the breakfast room and reception were charming.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a short stay hotel near the centre of London. The area is pleasant and Victoria station is nearby. So is the river and Tate Britain.
Our only problem was with noisy people in the room above late at night but earplugs sorted that out.

Room Tip: Room 403 was quiet with a lovely view of the rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    226
    206
    117
    81
See reviews for
180
199
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We travelled in October 2012. We found this hotel to be centrally located, close to the Victoria station with buses and taxis available. Staff was extremely friendly. We had to check out of the hotel late at night since our flight was early morning, they organized a cab for us. We felt very safe and content. The breakfast although very simple, was like breakfast at home. The only downside was the rooms were small. But worth it if you are going to be staying for just a day or 2. I would visit again. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travelled up on Friday 18th jan in all the snow and when we arrived we was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, who also changed are room to a double without any fuss, the receptionist was a very helpful young man, also showing us where the hotel was and where we were going that evening on a map.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the only downside was the room was slightly crammed and the mirror to far from the plug, and very very warm in the room. The bathroom was great.
The breakfast room was clean and staff very cheerful.

Room Tip: We had a double at the back very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms are small beds very uncomfortable walls like paper I could hear upstairs walking about I could hear ppl coming in and out ov the doors even talking. rbathroom was nice but again couldn't move once inside location is the only thing this hotel has going for it breakfast was a joke as far as continental style some bread chease and cornflakes oh and orange juice my room was freezing from drafts coming through the window will not be staying again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

You haven't even have to get to your room to realise what to expect. The lift, which clearly stated for 8 persons but a small typed stuck on note stated no more than 3 persons for safety reasons! We checked in at about 2pm on a Saturday and the room next door to us had been completely gutted and workmen were in there until late drilling etc. no mention of this on booking. The room was fairly clean but although for 4 adults, only 3 of us stayed, had only one electrical point for the kettle so hair dryer or phone chargers were a big no. The toilet/shower was of the type I would describe as being on a plane. Once you stood in there you couldn't move. Overall a poor stay/room/facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If this place was anywhere but London I'd give it less than average.

Trouble is that places in the capital really can take the mick and charge a fortune for very basic service, especially in places as strategically placed as this hotel.

The Huttons hotel was clean and generally efficient, but absolutely don't expect anything special whatsoever - for that sort of stuff you'd have to aim for over 100 quid in London.

My complaint is that the cleaners are extremely loud. They start early, which is fair enough, and from 7.30am on they are constantly knocking on your door asking if you want your room cleaned. Which, if you're on holiday and sleeping off the previous night's drinks, is quite annoying.

However, I've seen worse, so three stars it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place has been rated 3 star, but it should be downgraded to 1 star. The bedroom was abouut 3 x 2.5 metres, leving hardly any space to move round the bed, with a tiny (albeit clen) en-suite. The public areas, other than the reception, were tatty. The bedroom doors looked like WW2 surplus.
My main gripe is the "continental breakfast". How this hotel has the audacity to call sliced bread, slices of cheese and packets of margarine and muesli a continental breakfast is beyond all belief. There were no croissants, no rolls, no ham. There were of course many guests from "the continent" staying there, so heaven knows what thjey think now of British breakfast catering.
I for one shall be asking that this place be downgraded to 1 star.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Chris thank you for your review although they are very negative I thank you for being honest
I would like to assure you and future guests that we are 3 star guest accommodation. It's ironic that you should award us one start because it was only two weeks ago we were reregistered and maintained our three star status by the Official tourist agency of the UK . Your comments are valuable and I will take on board your feedback about breakfast.

Room sizes always small in central London especially in three star market I must say however your measurements are are little exaggerated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huttons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huttons Hotel

Address: 53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huttons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Huttons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huttons Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huttons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.