We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huttons Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huttons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Huttons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,075 hotels in London
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel our expectations were not very high, we were pleasantly surprised!

We arrived half an hour before our check in time and were thrilled when we were told our room was ready and we could check in straight away. We were staying in a lovely double on the ground floor which was perfect for us as I'm disabled. Our room was larger than we were expecting with a really nice bathroom. The shower cubicle was a large size with a sliding glass screen which was very practical. We had plenty of complimentary tea and coffee available and there was a hairdryer in our room too. The only minor fault with our room is that there were only two plug sockets, not ideal in today's era of multiple media that most of us use which all needs charging daily.

Breakfast was exactly what we were expecting, toast and cereal. It was a nice surprise to see that there was also cheese and canned fruit salad available too. Unfortunately the toasters are only domestic appliances and not meant for catering so this means some queuing is inevitable but we didn't mind. We can't comment on the optional extra cooked breakfast as we didn't try it, we were happy with the continental breakfast that was included for the price.

The hotel staff were all really friendly and helpful and the hotel location is perfect. There are lots of places close by to eat and drink, we can highly recommend The Constitution just around the corner. There is a bus stop just across the road where you can catch the number 24 which goes to a lot of the major tourist attractions, including London Zoo.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and will most definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for a great review we will take all your feed back and use it to improve our business
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    222
    204
    115
    82
See reviews for
162
183
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went to the Huttons on a tight budget.Had a twin bedroom with me and my friend.The hotel is near to victoria station and other attractions.It was a small hotel- with only 40+ bedrooms.It was clean and tidy and enough room for us both.Negative points are the size of the bathroom- very small. We fell into the shower when we went into the toilet, and felt if we braved a shower then we would flood the whole bathroom. All in all it was a value for money hotel, nice and clean, but limited space , so wouldnt stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front side, it wasnt to noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for feed back we are undergoing a full refurbishment of the old bathrooms we started in januarary and stopped for the Olympics will be finished very soon . We intend to take all the cabins out and replace with modern tiled bathrooms

Thanks

Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we paid a fair price for the hotel even though it is one of the cheaper hotels in london and after reading the reviews i was dreading my 7 night stay but as it turned out the hotel was completly fine. our room was more than adequate, we were only using the room as a base, you dont come to london to stay in the room!! free tea, coffee, wifi in the room, ensuite although small was perfectly functionable. breakfast was a bonus but often too many people, no free tables and queues for the toaster so after 4 days we chose not to bother, but our choice and when we did eat it it was enough to start the day of sightseeing. everything was in walking distance of the hotel, we even walked to the tower of london one day a long walk but do-able. theres a few restaurants within 5-10 mins walk and it seems a safe area at night. breakfast staff and room staff very friendly and willing to wait if we werent out of our room when they came to clean. but reception staff varied, one very friendly giving us maps etc and the other grunting a bit when we had problems with our key pass. but all this said it didnt affect our enjoyment of our holiday!

only negatives really are the wooden floors, the guests in the rooms above clomping about in heels or heavy shoes early in the morning and late at night and the slamming of doors!! not the hotels fault i know but it did wake me and my boyfriend up every morning.

overall id stay here again if i came to london and the price was right!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi thanks for your honest views . We are a no frills hotel we focus on value for money the most important thing is we keep the place really clean . Our rooms have all the basic things you need for a one or two night city break .

Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location is perfect for the hotel! But the rooms are little bit smal and the beds har very hard and not very nice to sleep in! But over all i think it's à good hotel with great location and service 24 seven!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for your nice response we will take your feedback about the beds
Thanks
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night with my husband to attend Olympics. Reception tiny with internet access (very dirty keyboard!). Room in basement clean, modern, nice ensuite, no hair dryer, no drawers, water in room 113 not for drinking. Breakfast room nice, food/choice dreadful, could make so much more of this and in my opinion a lost opportunity. The "garden" is a builders yard and I did not venture too far into it!
Tips
* a one night only hotel
* eat breakfast out
* take a hair drier
* take bottled water (bottled water sold at reception)

Overall ok if you can get a good room price. We paid OTT for Olympic period.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simanad, Owner at Huttons Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi thanks for the location.... we agree we are right where you want to be . Nice quiet area but central.

Couple of mis representations eg hair dryers are available at the reception no charge . Breakfast choice is very good

Continental breakfast is complimentary consists of coffee tea toast cheese cereals orange juice tinned fruit . All this is included in the rate

Full English is cooked to order or any combination of eggs etc cost is nominal starts at £2

Water in bed room is not safe as its stored in a tank that's quite normal you should never drink from taps at any hotel
Agree about the garden we are replacing the old cabin bathrooms so it's a bit unorganised in the garden but right now it's clear

Thanks for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huttons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huttons Hotel

Address: 53 - 57 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huttons Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Huttons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huttons Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huttons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.