We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney House to your Saves list
Sydney House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Total gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times now and would not consider staying anywhere else in London. The hotel is converted townhouses on a side road from the King's Road. The location is absolutely fantastic, not only for Chelsea but a 3 minute walk to the South Ken tube. The hotel is very stylish, immaculately clean and the rooms have an absolutely huge bed, which is incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is also very stylish and has a fantastic shower and always a selection of luxury bath products. As you would expect in a townhouse the rooms are small, or seem small because of the huge bed but the hotel are happy to take your suitcases to free space in the room. For the location, comfort and luxury this hotel is a bargain and we love staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sydney House Chelsea for your recent stay and for writing such a lovely review.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Best regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    82
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
91
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this small boutique Hotel. It is in fact just 2 townhouses, with a character, put together. The rooms are nicely decorated without necessarily grand luxury. The beds are very comfortable. The people working at the place are very accommodating and gentle. Stepping out of the door you are in the fashionable district of Chelsea which has wonderful shops and has as well a high standard residential living. This hotel is located in one of the most desired areas for residents of London, if you have the money.

Room Tip: Hotel close to many attractions and fashionable shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have you with us.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sydney House is a lovely little boutique hotel in a great location in Chelsea. We spent 4 nights in a premier deluxe room which was high up at the front of the building with a very nice view. Our daughters were in a smaller room at the back of the building which while cosy was still fine. The bathrooms are good with lovely products and the staff were always very helpful and pleasant. My only complaint is the lack of a bar fridge - it was very warm when we were there and it would have been nice to have somewhere to keep drinks cold.
It's an easy walk to many restaurants, transport and museums and a lovely part of the city to stay in.

Room Tip: Premier deluxe with a king size bed was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that your stay at Sydney House was enjoyable and you found the hotel comfortable and to your liking. Being a townhouse hotel, we do lack some of the amenities of bigger establishments – like mini bars in bedrooms. However, we have a mini fridge we can offer to our guests upon request. We are more than happy to offer the facilities of our kitchen fridges to our residents who use them occasionally to store various items in need of refrigeration.
Hopefully, on your next visit we will be able to make a suitable arrangement.
Many thanks again!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely property, in a nice Chelsea neighborhood, 5 minutes walk from South Kensington tube station and from the passage to the science, natural history and Victoria&Albert museums. To Harrods it is 10 minutes walk. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Don't expect very spacious rooms but they are nice, comfortable, very clean and well equipped. Breakfast is nice with a variety of choices but not included in the room price. On the other hand prices are similar to the prices in the coffee shops/restaurants nearby although a little bit higher. Chelsea itself is lovely, with lot of nice shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper take a room on the back. Also ask for a premiere deluxe. It is little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have you with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you to Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,
Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overpriced. Very very small rooms - two people cannot be in any part of the room at one time without one of them moving out of the way! Shop around if you want to stay in this part of London.
Room Tip: If you can afford the penthouse suite with terrasse it may be worth a look.

Room Tip: Street lights light up room -- despite two sent of blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment with regard to your recent stay at The Sydney House. The feedback you provided is extremely valuable and we appreciate your effort to communicate it to us.
The fact that Sydney House Chelsea is a Grade II listed building and not a purpose built hotel is well advertised and publicized. Staying here is just like staying in any of the houses in the area. We always insist that this is a townhouse hotel. Our rooms are well appointed with big and comfortable double or king size beds.
You happened to be here during high season when our prices were set accordingly and very much in line with other hotels of comparable standard in the neighbourhood. Our prices fluctuate during the year and reflect the standards we offer and demand for accommodation in this part of London.
We are truly sorry that you found the size of the room to be unsatisfactory. We had to make space for such big bed and still provide for a desk and sitting area.
Windows are equipped with both the sheer and the blackout blind. Those are normally sufficient to keep the street light out. We regret this inconvenience.
All being well, on next occasion we will be able to allocate a room facing the back yard away from street light.
We hope there will be such opportunity.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here recently as an alternative to the more expensive Connaught, with plans to dine at two of London's Michelin starred restaurants. We are great fans of Gidleigh, and the Bath Priory and so wanted to see what this 'mini' Abode version was like. We booked the roof top room and to be fair it was all as we expected, Good , lower costing central London accommodation and not a soul-less large chain. In other words, it delivered what we kind of worked out from reading the web site.
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional.
It's obvious that its a listed town house, so it's pointless moaning about the lift ( it's 2 foot square)!
The bathroom at the room at the top is tiny, the shower is 1" bigger than the lift, and yes the water pressure is not adequate for a proper decent rain style shower head unfortunately.
If anything, I would re do the web site and show more room pictures with details.
One question it does throw up is...........please can you take a risk Mr Brownsword along with Mr. Caines and buy or lease something slightly bigger and preferably on less floors! I will help by suggesting that its called Gidleigh House, based on Gidleigh, with Gidleigh standard rooms and you've guessed it, Mr Caines running the restaurant. We all know that it will run at full occupancy and getting a table will be nigh on impossible. ( Except for me as its my idea)!!

Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at the top is great for a summers stay, but the shower is not over the bath but is still challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many, many thanks for your kind comments and thoughtful suggestions. We are very happy that you have enjoyed Gidleigh, Bath and Sydney House.
We are particularly pleased with your review of our hotel and glad that you found it to be to your liking and staff welcoming and cordial.
The water pressure issue has been investigated. Your room was located on the 5th floor and the water is boosted from the basement vaults situated below the street level. Sometimes during high demand the pressure can drop slightly. This problem will be rectified during next major refurbishment by introduction of a dedicate booster pump to the 4th and 5th floors.
Our new web site is also being updated to include more photography.
I am sure by now the people concerned are aware of your suggestion regarding future acquisitions. When it happens, you being a regular at Gidleigh Park and Bath Priory will be duly informed.
Until then, we hope to see you back at the Sydney House.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a great find Sydney House is. A first class location, lovely and close to Knightsbridge and lots of lovely shops right on the doorstep! We were lucky enough to have the room at the top and with the sun shining the roof terrace was just brilliant for a late afternoon glass of wine and breakfast in the morning. The rooms aren't huge but we are talking about an old listed property. Everything that you needed was there and the beds were comfy and the hot water plentiful.

You can always find something to criticise if you look closely enough - after all we are all different and like different things. Another shelf in the bedroom for the contents of my make up case might have been nice, and a mirror on the wall next to a power socket for the hair dryer could have been useful, but we managed and enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we would have no qualms in recommending Sydney House as a beautifully presented, bijou base in London.

Room Tip: If you fancy a splurge you couldn't better room at the top - fantastic views over Chelsea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The Sydney House and had good time in Chelsea and Knightsbridge. We appreciate your suggestion and will investigate a possibility to make the improvements in the suggested areas.
Once again we are grateful for your time and effort in writing this report and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,

Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
#199 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Sydney House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.