We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room too small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney House to your Saves list
Sydney House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“room too small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overpriced. Very very small rooms - two people cannot be in any part of the room at one time without one of them moving out of the way! Shop around if you want to stay in this part of London.
Room Tip: If you can afford the penthouse suite with terrasse it may be worth a look.

Room Tip: Street lights light up room -- despite two sent of blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment with regard to your recent stay at The Sydney House. The feedback you provided is extremely valuable and we appreciate your effort to communicate it to us.
The fact that Sydney House Chelsea is a Grade II listed building and not a purpose built hotel is well advertised and publicized. Staying here is just like staying in any of the houses in the area. We always insist that this is a townhouse hotel. Our rooms are well appointed with big and comfortable double or king size beds.
You happened to be here during high season when our prices were set accordingly and very much in line with other hotels of comparable standard in the neighbourhood. Our prices fluctuate during the year and reflect the standards we offer and demand for accommodation in this part of London.
We are truly sorry that you found the size of the room to be unsatisfactory. We had to make space for such big bed and still provide for a desk and sitting area.
Windows are equipped with both the sheer and the blackout blind. Those are normally sufficient to keep the street light out. We regret this inconvenience.
All being well, on next occasion we will be able to allocate a room facing the back yard away from street light.
We hope there will be such opportunity.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    76
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
79
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here recently as an alternative to the more expensive Connaught, with plans to dine at two of London's Michelin starred restaurants. We are great fans of Gidleigh, and the Bath Priory and so wanted to see what this 'mini' Abode version was like. We booked the roof top room and to be fair it was all as we expected, Good , lower costing central London accommodation and not a soul-less large chain. In other words, it delivered what we kind of worked out from reading the web site.
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional.
It's obvious that its a listed town house, so it's pointless moaning about the lift ( it's 2 foot square)!
The bathroom at the room at the top is tiny, the shower is 1" bigger than the lift, and yes the water pressure is not adequate for a proper decent rain style shower head unfortunately.
If anything, I would re do the web site and show more room pictures with details.
One question it does throw up is...........please can you take a risk Mr Brownsword along with Mr. Caines and buy or lease something slightly bigger and preferably on less floors! I will help by suggesting that its called Gidleigh House, based on Gidleigh, with Gidleigh standard rooms and you've guessed it, Mr Caines running the restaurant. We all know that it will run at full occupancy and getting a table will be nigh on impossible. ( Except for me as its my idea)!!

Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at the top is great for a summers stay, but the shower is not over the bath but is still challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many, many thanks for your kind comments and thoughtful suggestions. We are very happy that you have enjoyed Gidleigh, Bath and Sydney House.
We are particularly pleased with your review of our hotel and glad that you found it to be to your liking and staff welcoming and cordial.
The water pressure issue has been investigated. Your room was located on the 5th floor and the water is boosted from the basement vaults situated below the street level. Sometimes during high demand the pressure can drop slightly. This problem will be rectified during next major refurbishment by introduction of a dedicate booster pump to the 4th and 5th floors.
Our new web site is also being updated to include more photography.
I am sure by now the people concerned are aware of your suggestion regarding future acquisitions. When it happens, you being a regular at Gidleigh Park and Bath Priory will be duly informed.
Until then, we hope to see you back at the Sydney House.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a great find Sydney House is. A first class location, lovely and close to Knightsbridge and lots of lovely shops right on the doorstep! We were lucky enough to have the room at the top and with the sun shining the roof terrace was just brilliant for a late afternoon glass of wine and breakfast in the morning. The rooms aren't huge but we are talking about an old listed property. Everything that you needed was there and the beds were comfy and the hot water plentiful.

You can always find something to criticise if you look closely enough - after all we are all different and like different things. Another shelf in the bedroom for the contents of my make up case might have been nice, and a mirror on the wall next to a power socket for the hair dryer could have been useful, but we managed and enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we would have no qualms in recommending Sydney House as a beautifully presented, bijou base in London.

Room Tip: If you fancy a splurge you couldn't better room at the top - fantastic views over Chelsea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The Sydney House and had good time in Chelsea and Knightsbridge. We appreciate your suggestion and will investigate a possibility to make the improvements in the suggested areas.
Once again we are grateful for your time and effort in writing this report and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,

Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently spent a very happy weekend in London based at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and very anxious to help. The room had all the amenities that you would expect other than tea and coffee. The hair drier was the best ever experienced in an hotel and an excellent magnifying mirror. The breakfast served was excellent and very fresh. A very short walk to the Sth Kensington tube made this hotel a very convenient place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sydney House and had a pleasant journey to London.
We appreciate your thoughts and hope to see you soon. We will be happy to supply tea/coffee making equipment upon request as we always do!
Kind regards,

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Sydney House is immaculate and our Premier Deluxe King room I couldn't fault at all. It was spacious and met expectations except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities which I found odd. The bathroom although small with only a shower rather than a bath was immaculate too. The down side to the latter was the towels which whilst clean and white were very hard on your skin but I expected soft, fluffy ones.
Whilst it is true that Sydney House is situated on a mainly residential street it isn't a quiet one so be aware of traffic noise if you are a light sleeper.
The lift is the tiniest one I have ever come across and will just accomodate two people without luggage so long as you are slim.
We didn't try breakfast because we thought it was over priced with an A La Carte menu but there are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast at a more reasonable price.
The Bar and Lounge area is nondescript and lacks atmosphere and warmth.
We have a mixed view about the staff. A couple were extremely friendly but there were another two which weren't. One in particular was unhelpful with a simple request and the Owner/Manager, not sure which, was a very cold individual and didn't make you feel welcome at all but wasn't rude.
So this is a mixed review unfortunately and I have tried to be fair. I am pleased in a way that I have stayed here but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, General Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time and effort to write the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our customers regardless of what we may feel about it.
I am pleased that you found the quality of accommodation and cleanliness of your bedroom satisfactory. The issue of the quality of towels has been addressed and our linen supplier is currently working on it. Tea and coffee facilities or hospitality trays are not on offer due to space limitations. Nevertheless, we can provide kettles and associated paraphernalia to guests who prefer to make their own tea.
You may have noticed that the rooms are double glazed making the traffic noise almost unnoticeable. However, it sometimes is not enough to completely block off sound of a passing police car or fire engine.
The Sydney House is situated in two Grade II listed Georgian houses, and having a lift at all is a blessing and a great advantage. Assistance with luggage is always provided upon check in or departure.
It is a great pity that you did not try our breakfast as it is highly rated as one of the best in the neighbourhood. Following your observation with regard to the prices, we conducted a local survey and obtained information on prices and breakfast range of the six nearby hotels and two restaurants serving breakfast – establishments of comparable standards to those of The Sydney House. I cannot name them now, due to Tripadvisor website regulations, but I would be happy to clarify the information in a direct e-mail to you should you so wish. We could not really investigate prices in a few Greasy Spoon/Greasy Joe types of establishments located in the area, as those simply could not be considered, as their standards of produce, service and equipment are far below the level of a four star hotel. We found our prices to be 30%-40% lower for the offer of what could be considered as continental breakfast, and about at the same level for English breakfast. We use only the finest, fresh ingredients, and serve them in the delicate bone china. We have many testimonies from our guests to support this statement. I hope you will give it a try next time.
I am sorry that you have found our Bar and Lounge area nondescript and without atmosphere and warmth. We are a contemporary townhouse and its present day and modern design is not to everyone’s taste. I hope that you have enjoyed the drinks we served and at least had good time in it.
I truly regret the fact that you thought of one of us here as being unwelcoming and cold. I wish I could do something to change that. It may have been a hectic day with too many things going on or “just one of those days”. Please accept my apology. I hope you will change your mind and stay here one more time.
Once again I would like to thank you for staying here and taking time to write about your experience.
Kind regards

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in Chelsea. We cannot rate it high enough and had a really amazing time there. The hotel is in a perfect location and only 5 mins from South Kensington underground station. Very central and we were able to walk to many London attractions from here. Service was very discrete, but always there when needed. Room service was prompt and efficient, breakfast good quality but there are other places around for a change quite near to the hotel. We spoiled ourself really by staying in what is called "the room at the top"
a beautiful room with its own private roof top garden, Just lovely.
We will certainly go back. Thank you to everyone at Sydney house.

Room Tip: Well we loved our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for two nights for my birthday treat as we visiting the Chelsea Flower show. The hotel is situated in a quiet street and is very convenient for the Chelsea flower show. The bedroom was fairly small but you expect this for a boutique hotel. The bed was amazingly comfy and I was the best couple of nights sleep I have had for a while. The staff were really friendly and polite and could not do enough for you.

We ordered room service the first night and it was good value and a lovely meal. We skipped breakfast on the first morning as we had to be out early. Breakfast on the Sunday was good value and really had that personal touch. We unfortunately had a morning where the service was a little slow due to a new member of staff. But it was Sunday we were in no rush!! We will definatley be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We are so pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and polite and that your stay was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Sydney House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.