We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant boutique hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney House to your Saves list
Sydney House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elegant boutique hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very comfortable and our room on the back was very quiet. It has a very modern decor with extremely comfortable beds and luxurious linen changed every day by two delightful Polish girls who kept the room immaculate. My only complaint was no Sky Sports so could not watch Murray win the US Open! All the staff are delightful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. The team here are vey pleased and proud of their performance.

I just have one thing to add. We do indeed have Sky Sports here. It is featured as one of the analogue channels and it does not always seem obviuos that it is there. The analogue channels - fed from the digiboxes are displayed as channels 1-21 in the ATV mode.

We will be delighted to offer our assitance on your next visit and tune the channel in for you.

Many thanks again,

Kind regards,

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    76
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
79
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a lovely treat this was. I booked the "Room at the Top" with its own terrace. It was wonderful and well worth the £270 for the night. On a beautiful sunny day, my friend and I bought some wine from the very local wine shop and sat on the terrace overlooking London. The area is very pretty and not too noisy with a few choice restaurants/bars a few mins walking distance. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning on the terrace - Eggs Benedict Royale which were done to perfection. The room was quite small but perfectly formed which basically sums up this hotel. Very private address, you ring a bell to enter. The staff were very pleasant. Very handy to have 24 hour room service. Couldn't criticise it at all. Not sure what the other rooms are like but I will never know because I plan to spend a night every year from now on in the Room at the Top as a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great hotel, beautifully run, and very good value. However, the downside is the noise in some of the rooms from guests walking around in the rooms above. If you have a restless guest above you then prepare for a lot of creaking and sounds akin to muffled tap dancing. Trouble is the builders obviously didn't sort out this problem when the houses were converted. Some really thick carpeting might do the trick but it is a problem for the light sleeper.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent 1 night here on return from holiday and because we were visiting Earls Court. Parking was a bit of a nightmare but once sorted we could not fault the service levels at Sydney House. Had both room service & breakfast at the hotel and cant fault the food. The only slightly misery thing i would say is that the shower head dribbled rather than washed me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were in London to attend the Olympic Games. I liked this hotel very much. It was quiet and demure. The room was small but there was enough space for our suitcases and carry ons. I wish there would have been complimentary coffee and or tea available for the guests in the morning. The Sydney House is really close to the South Kensington tube station so we had no problem getting to all the Olympic venues. Staff was lovely. Great location for exploring the museums of London on foot. I would recommed this property if you are looking to stay in the Chelsea or South Kensington area of London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Sydney house for 5 nights during the Olympics, It Is a great small Hotel situated 5 mins walk from South Kensington Tube station and walking distance from all The Major Museums , and Harrods etc. The Rooms were well very clean ,tidy and comfortable, we had a deluxe room and the bed was one of the best ive slept in. If you are in London for buisness or pleasure I would reccommend this Hotel anytime. ( also there are 2 or 3 great reasurants within 50 yards of the hotel)Breakfeast is not included, however worth every penny!

Room Tip: It is a small hotel, with a small lift. I would suggest asking for a room near the ground floor at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the second time that I've stayed at the Sydney Street House - the previous time with my husband but this time I was there on my own after flying back from Italy on business. Staff quite delightful and very helpful - particularly at reception. Room not huge (clever and interesting use of space though) but calm and cool and spotless - very white, so soothing after a mad few days. Breakfast yummee - eggs benedict delicious!
This is quite expensive for me - bed and then extra for breakfast - but then it's quiet, I felt safe and it has character & style. (And of course may not seem expensive for other peple!)
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Sydney House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.