We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, we got the worst dirtiest room in London. Never again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Derby Hotel to your Saves list
Derby Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155-157 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0TQ, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #803 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Wow, we got the worst dirtiest room in London. Never again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We booked the Derby based on the mainly positive reviews we read here on TA but man were we in for a horrible surprise.

The toilet was broken, the TV tiny and the remote as filthy as I have ever seen. ,The room was so noisy I couldn't sleep until the traffic on busy Cromwell Road died down at about 2am (there's a busy Hospital across from the hotel) If the noise made it hard to sleep the springs poking out of the mattress made it impossible, When the sun came up because the drapes were too small to close completely light leaked in by the ton. The toilet seat was just sitting on the bowl, the hinges had rusted out. The hairdryer hose was torn.

Worst of all this was the filthiest room I have ever stayed in. It appeared as if something had burned inside of the refrigerator box and coated the cabinet with a thin film of black ooze. The chair was a worn colour of wear and tear with the armrest blacked with dirt.

There was garbage left in the hallway, the elevator was out of order... we left at 6am to check in at the nearby Quality Inn which was ironically was £ 15.00 a night cheaper than the nearly £ 100.00 a night we were paying at the Derby.

There is hotel chain brochures in the lobby, but the Derby has failed the check list to be let in and I suspect will never be a part of the Quality / Comfort Hotel group.

At least the desk was apologetic and while I was charged for the first night, the remaining nights were promptly refunded to my VISA card.

Never again

  • Liked — Frankly, nothing. The biggest disappointment of our 19 day trip to the British Isles
  • Disliked — I wouldn't even know how the rank the failings of this sad, run-down little hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations1, Guest Relations at Derby Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2008
We apologise for the inconvenience caused and we can assure that action has been taken in regards to housekeeping and maintenance.

We promptly refunded all but one of the guest's night stays as our staff made every effort to deal with the problem encountered.

Derby Hotel Kensington is a very clean and centrally located London hotel with a beautiful garden, ideal for both leisure and business.

Our priority is always to maintain the highest standards of accommodation and service. We have taken this matter very seriously and we hope this will not discourage you from booking with us.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I was looking forward to staying at the Derby Hotel based on reviews but was disappointed after staying there for four nights.

I'll start off with the positives.

Clean hotel with decent sized rooms for London in an excellent location in Kensington, with plenty of restaurants and close to Earls Court Tube station.

Now with the negatives.

The staff seemed indifferent and bored when approached. The lift did not work for our entire stay. The curtains in the room were to small for the window so they did not block out all the light. The room was not soundproofed which made it difficult to sleep because of the traffic noise. (room was located on busy Cromwell road). If that wasn't enough, the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on, you would expect more comfort in a hostel bed.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else in Kensington as it is a beautiful area.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Very cute, clean hotel. Unfortunately the airconditioning has no individual controls and is set at a very warm temperature. Also, there are no screens on the windows so opening a window offers little relief. Quite a bit of street noise also.
A good budget hotel overall, and very close to the tube.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, nicely decorated, good-sized bathroom
  • Disliked — lack of airconditioning, noise level
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Stayed at the Derby for 5 nights in March 2008.

Positives - good location, close to tube station, plenty of restaurants nearby, good price for a London hotel, it was clean, and a simple Continental breakfast was included in the price.

Negatives - I like peace and quiet and pitch black to sleep. Unfortunately our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road and hospital - the windows were not double glazed so it was LOUD. Take your ear plugs and you'll be fine. Also, the curtains didn't meet, so might be an idea to pack an eye mask too!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I came to stay at the Derby Hotel because the places I usually stay were fully booked. It was obviously a very busy time but the staff were really very good - all of them, in my case, always calm, smiling and very helpful with the few questions I had.

As others have mentioned, I found the hotel generally and my room very clean and, for central London 3 star, the double room was really exceptionally large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom and the bedroom had everything I needed.

It is obviously quite a small hotel and I can see why they refer to it as a "boutique-style" - it is nicely decorated in a sort of "quirky" way, the corridors are wide like an American newly built hotel and the restaurant on the ground floor, with its outlook over a lovely small garden (which guests can use, by the way) is really quite unusual in this standard of hotel. There is a sort of family hotel feel to the place, so that I felt quiet and relaxed when I was there even though the hotel was obviously full.

The location of the Derby Hotel is extremely good - about 2 minutes walk from Earls Court tube station *Piccadilly and District Lines) and with the 174 (?) bus route really close by, so it was very easy to get to where my meetings were (edge of the City, close to Holborn) each morning and back again in the evening.

Having compared the price with where I usually stay and what I know of London prices, I think I got a very reasonable rate, even though I was booking at the last moment at a busy time. So, don't be put off by their slightly 'gloomy' photos of the outside of the hotel. Once you get inside, it's lovely. Full marks !

  • Liked — Very clean, nice homely feel, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Exterior looks gloomy - don't be put off !!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Very good budget hotel. It has been repainted recently, so the hotel is very clean. Reception rooms are pleasant, and the indian manager very nice.

We arrived a little early (12:00), but were given our room. I had booked a tripe with 3 separate beds. The room was nice, 2 windows, big enough for 3 persons. Only small problem: it overlooked Cromwell Road, and was quite noisy.

Personnel was nice, except for a (probably) polish lady, who never smiled!

Breakfast was ok, provided you were exactly on time. Dining room is on the 1st floor, and overlooks a small garden which is much nicer than basements dining rooms, often the case in London.

Tube station 5 minutes away, and bus 74 in front of the hotel takes you to the center very easily.

All in all, a very good unexpensive solution (90 GBP/night for 3 persons including breakfast and taxes).

  • Liked — good balance budget/nice hotel
  • Disliked — noisy and no wi fi connection
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

I booked a 6 night stay (room 402) in this hotel based on the previous "star" reviews. The good news -- excellent location; large bathroom, lots of hot water, good sized bedroom, mini fridge.The worst problem was the noise -- this hotel is situated on a major thoroughfare across from the Cromwell Hospital (yes, ambulances). If you insist on staying here -- don't book a front room,

Advice for hotel - replace the holey sheets, the hairdryer held together with duct tape; the tattered and singed lampshades; and get rid of the black growth on the grouting of the tub. These are all fairly simple things to remedy and would make a world of difference as far as overall impression goes.

Staff were fairly good -- some definitely friendlier than others. It was clean.
Definitely not a boutique hotel. Would not pay more than what I paid. ($114/night) and only if I had no alternative for the price range.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: 155-157 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #803 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, welcoming Kensington budget hotel was renovated in August 2007 under new ownership. This classical English town house hotel is typified by wide corridors and stylish rooms, more spacious than most hotels at this level, and has a small meeting room. In easy walking distance of Earl's Court and Gloucester Road tube stations as well as London's major museums, this family hotel is an excellent base for touring London or for attending exhibitions at nearby Earl's Court and Olympia venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Kensington
Derby Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.