We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four-star, maybe not, but a decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Cromwell to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #561 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Four-star, maybe not, but a decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Five minutes walk to the Tube and the 47 bus just outside the door gives location a +++. Several shops in the area including a Sainsbury and many small restaurants is also very positive.
The hotel has many small winding staircases and narrow corridors. The elevator doesn't reach the 5th floor. A fire would be devastating ! The room was small with very little floorspace but had what you need and with good quality. Nice bathroom, mine had a big crack in the washbasin. No bathtub but a nice shower with lots of hot water with good pressure ( 5th floor).
In the receptionarea there is a small lounge with a bar for snacks and drinks.
A full English breakfast was served in the basement. Good supply of whatever you might need.
Check-out is at 11 am. This is early. When asked if a late check-out was possible the Spanish guy at reception said OK but it costs 25£ per hour !! Most hotels would grant you at least an hour, unless they are very tight with bookings and clean-ups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay at the Best Western The Cromwell hotel, I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you found the location of the hotel and the facilities within the local area to be well suited for your requirements and that the bus stop outside the front of the property provided you with a convenient link to the city centre.

It is true that there are a number of corridors and stairwells within our the hotel as our property consist of three interconnected buildings however I believe that this adds to the character of the property as a Victorian era hotel. I can assure you that you have no reason to be concerned with regards to the fire safety in the hotel as we have been approved by the building authorities and fire inspector during our 2007 refurbishment.

I am sorry to hear that there had been an issue with the sink in your room and I will have our maintenance team investigate this further and replace the entire unit if need be. Whit regards to the late checkout fee this is subject to availability and as our hotel runs on a high occupancy there are certain days when these requests cannot be meet however I will still take your feedback of a 12h00 complimentary check out under consideration as this is something we may be able to do to enhance our service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    337
    158
    63
    44
See reviews for
87
352
60
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
strathmore alberta canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pros: Great location, very close to Gloucester Rd tube station. Friendly staff. Clean room and premises. Comfortable bed. Nice large flat screen television mounted on wall. Modestly priced (for London). Good restaurants nearby.

Cons: Room was very small, as was the window, our floor was likely an attic space before it became a hotel. The bathroom was very nice and modern, however the shower water could have been a few degrees hotter.

Room Tip: Top floor room was very small, with an angled ceiling on one side, making it even smaller. The windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback you have provided with regards to the cleanliness and comfort of the room and I was delighted to read that the location of our property was ideal for your day to day travel requirements.

I am sorry to there that you found your room to be smaller than expected however as our hotel is comprised of 3 interconnected buildings the size and style of a rooms can vary ever so slightly. I was however pleased that you found the bathroom to be modern and to your liking.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't mind a small hotel room, but it would be nice if you could close the bathroom door without moving the bed. Also had to wait ages to check out because the staff were busy checking people in four hours early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay at our hotel, I am disappointed to read that on this occasion your stay with us was not an enjoyable one.

I was sorry to hear that the size of your room did not meet your expectations and that you had to wait longer than expected to check out as our front office team were assisting other guest with check-in. I will use your feedback as a training tool during our next team meeting to ensure that departure guests are given priority during the early morning checkout times.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pictures on hotel websites are selected on what looks best, however, they choose the largest room in a certain category for photo purposes. Traveling alone and used to sleeping in a king size bed at home, I upgraded from a single bed to a double bed. The room itself was probably no larger than 1.5 feet all around the bed. Bed was comfortable. Pillows were comfortable. No drawers for placing clothes. Closet was small. Safe was on the floor and you would have to lie on the floor to dial in your combination. Bathroom was beautifully re-done with nice fixtures and tile. Shower only in my room. After lots of walking and tired legs, I was hoping for a soaking tub too. NO washcloths available for the bathroom. ?? What??!! I've never heard of such a thing. The location was fabulous. Street noise from Cromwell did not bother me at all. I love looking out at the traffic but the only place to sit in the room was on the bed, unless you sat at the desk with a desk chair. 1/2 block from Gloucester Tube Station. Walking distance to Kensington Palace and lots of other wonderful neighborhood sites. I thought the breakfast in the hotel was very overpriced and usually ate at other local restaurants, which was actually kind of fun. Starbucks is across from the Tube Station. I love this neighborhood and feel safe as a solo traveler. I spend a lot of time in my room when I want to rest my legs so wish there was a comfy chair and more space. Two people would NOT have survived in this space.
On the same block is a post office/souvenir type store which also features a "tour" desk where you can learn about various bus tours in the area. Tour buses picked up right next door and dropped off there also. VERY convenient. Also, the Hop On Hop Off buses are available at the Gloucester Tube Station. The neighborhood is ideal!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with space to walk around and for a leisure chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All feedback given to us by our guests is passed on to my team on a daily basis.

Due to the layout of the property our room size does vary. The majority of our bathrooms do have showers, however if a bath is preferred please make a request at the time of booking and a note can be made in the reservation. Face clothes and additional toiletries are available from the reception desk 24 hours.

Our location in the heart of Kensington is perfect for both the business traveller and tourist. We are excellently located in terms of tourist attractions, transport methods, restaurants and bars.

I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed in a twin room at this hotel, our room wasn't ready when we arrived, however the person at the check-in desk was happy to move our reservation to a twin room that was ready so we could go straight up. The room was not large, but still pretty adequate compared to a lot of hotel rooms I've stayed in within London (London rooms can generally be tiny unless you spend a fortune). Everything was spotless so that was also good. Heated radiator for your towel in the bathroom, shower over bath combo. Flat screen tv in the room, desk and sufficient mirrors. This hotel didnt blow me away, but it ticks all the boxes for everything you need, its priced fairly and so I am likely to stay here again. We didnt have breakfast here, so cannot comment on the food. Only round the corner to the tube station and cafes/pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our rooms clean, team friendly and our location to be suitable to your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Cromwell for 2 nights in march 2013 whilst on a course in central London. The hotel was centrally located, easy to find and the staff were very friendly. The waiting staff at breakfast especially helpful.
As a line female travelling for work I always am a little nervous about security but I felt so safe in my little room. I stayed on the top floor in a attic style room with eaves. The room was well appointment with clean linen and a cOmfy bed. The bathroom was superb with a handheld style and rain style shower. The room had a little entrance area so my bedroom door didn't open directly onto the corridor which meant I didn't hear a peep both nights.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. It will be a pleasure for me to share your comments with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Take care,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for the first time in March 2013 and was pleased overall with the place. The location is good for me, rooms clean and accessible, breakfast good and the WiFi works. I'm most interested in the friendliness of staff and in that regard the hotel was good. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your experience with us.

It was also an absolute pleasure to hear that all our staff contributed to ensure that you had a memorable experience with us and that you found breakfast and Housekeeping service to be of a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Cromwell 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with multilingual staff; housed in 19th century Victorian in Kensington, near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.