I originally stayed here 9 years ago, and it was a well-located hotel with a decent price and not a bad breakfast buffet. I just returned from London on Aug 26 where I stayed for 6 nights at Copthorne Tara, again because of the location, the price, and the included breakfast buffet. The hotel was clean-the lobby nice except for the overwhelming number of people using free lobby wifi because there is still no wifi in the rooms. The person who checked me in barely spoke English and I had difficulty understanding him. Plus he was rude. My room was away from the noise (the Kensington High Street tube station), the air conditioning was fine, and it was quiet until Saturday night when the drunks arrived and began yelling in the hallway. Other than that, there were mostly tour groups who were quiet. My room was a combination of updated and outdated. There was a brand new wide screen tv, new tea maker, refrigerator,clean linens and new pillows, and new pictures on the wall. The bathroom needed updating, and the walls needed painting and plastering. Maid service was excellent. I cut my leg and there was a miniscule amount of blood on the sheet/duvet cover. When I got back to the room that night, there was a new clean cover. I had great success when I went to the concierge for help (although he was misinformed on one point). The guest relations allowed me to use the business center for computer help I needed. The bar service was terrible and their bar food worse. Stay away from the hamburgers. The breakfast buffet was passable, but what I thought was oatmeal turned out to be congee - a nod to the many Asian customers.
My experience was not bad, in fact I'd say it was pretty good. I do recommend this hotel. It is certainly trying to improve itself. But they need each room wired for wifi, and paint the walls. And don't ask the concierge for a good Indian restaurant. He may send you on a wild goose chase for a non-existent place. It's it a great location- underground is down the block along with good shopping on the Kensington High Street.
Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the front parking lot. Infinitely quieter than the rooms th...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your detailed feedback. Our Management Team have taken note of all your concerns to review and address each appropriately with the relevant departments as you have listed to ensure we maintain our consistency with our high quality services and facilities to ensure our guests are well looked after and comfortable during their stay. I apologise that you were inconvenienced due to a lapse in our services.
I have also notified our Front Office Manager your concerns in regard to the rude attitude you encountered with one of our staff members and this will be addressed so that such incidents are not repeated, and I am sorry that you had to be faced with such a situation.
I am pleased that despite these negative incidents you have noticed the difference on the various in-house improvements we are currently working on and this did not stop you from having a positive experience to have a good enjoyable stay. Thank you for recommending Copthorne Tara Hotel to all travellers as a good choice hotel to stay when visiting London.
With this in mind, I am sure we can take the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.