We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #505 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Dirty Bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a nice sized room with a large bed. Was happy with the place until I went into the bathroom. It looked as if it had been superficially cleaned, but it had not had a deep cleaning in quite some time. Dark hairballs in every corner, hair on the sink, and a ring in the toilet. We complained immediately and they sent a maid and her supervisor up promptly. I explained to them both the issues we had. The supervisor was somewhat apologetic and we left to sightsee hoping all would be well when we came back. We returned several hours later and it looked exactly the same. We were only staying one night, so we did not complain again, but I would have been quite upset if we had to stay longer. My husband lived in a fraternity house for several years, so such things don't bother him, but if you're a stickler for cleanliness don't stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Copthorne Tara, and for making us aware of the concerns you encountered during your stay. I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the bathroom conditions in your room. I am pleased that you reported the matter immediately to our Housekeeping Supervisor who responded to your report and took action with immediate effect to ensure your comforts. I am disappointed that your mention although our staff came back to clean the room that the status was still the same. I have referred this to our Management Team to follow up and to ensure staff retraining is conducted more regularly and monitored to ensure all rooms are cleaned and well maintained to ensure our guests comforts at all times so that such incidents are not repeated in future.

I hope this incident will not deter you from returning to stay at the Copthorne Tara, and that you will return to give us the opportunity to make amends to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,582
    1,139
    366
    231
See reviews for
572
1,404
214
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in a club room on the 12th floor. for our wedding anniversary, location is spot on and very close to tube and high street. The continental breakfast had every choice you could wish for. The staff cannot be faulted they are polite, helpful and very attentive. Our room had a lovely view of London and was cleaned every day. If I had one point to make I think the furniture is tired and had its day and needs replacing. But overall an excellent stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you both enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary at the Copthorne Tara and that we provided excellent customer services and the facilities in your room was to your expectation for your comforts for this special occasion. We have taken note of the points you mentioned for improvement and our Management Team will review for future action.

I thank you for your recommendation to all travellers to London that you will stay again, and we look forward to welcoming you both back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel chosen for it's proximity to a tube station. In this respect a good choice. Bad part was that Rooms with odd numbers backed directly onto the tube line with resultant noise. Easy walking to Kensington High Street with shops, supermarkets etc. Superior room had most things that one looks for although, some may quibble at the cost of Wi-Fi., no bedside table on one side of the bed and inability to turn off just one of the bedside lights. Room clean and nicely decorated although with signs that it had been a while since refurbishment. Six lifts which handled the amount of guests easily. Enjoyed a meal in the Bugis Restaurant, better than the average oriental eating establishment although the drinks were not cheap. Usual buffet breakfast but quality better than we have found in some Hotels. Problem was with staying five nights no variation at all in the Breakfast items. Very friendly and efficient staff (predominantly non-British) who were only too happy to please.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, if you are worried about tube noise avoid odd numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

As a first time visitor, I am very pleased to read that you were satisfied with your choice of hotel and that by our excellent services and facilities we provided confirmed that Copthorne Tara Hotel is an excellent choice to stay when visiting London, good value for money and hotel is convenient to all places of interest around the London area, all adding to an enjoyable experience. As we endeavour to provide a good service with every effort and intention of pleasing all our guests, our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised for future improvements.

I am sure we can expect your support going forward and that you will return to stay in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Best thing about this place is its location - a few minutes walk from the High Street Kensington tube station and the shopping street. Rooms are nice but a bit run down and requires renovation. Breakfast spread is nice but is often crowded and finding a table could be a challenge on a busy day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments. Our Team are delighted that your stay was the success it deserved to be and so pleased that you left the hotel feeling satisfied with our services and facilities and the hotel’s convenient location. We have taken note of your feedback for future improvements.

We look forward to your next visit with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked despite seeing some poor reviews on this site and were pleased that we had. From the start, the staff were pleasant, attentive and helpful. The public areas were spotless. Our room, a superior double, was somewhat dated but clean and fully equipped. The airconditioning worked well. The rooms were cleaned properly each day and inspected by another member of staff. The fridge was useful for cold drinks. We used bottled water fro making tea and coffee as the mains water was so calcified that the tea tasted dreadful. The restaurant provided a good breakfast although the list price of £17.50 was excessive and we would have eaten out had we not been given vouchers bringing the price down to £10. Some of the public areas were cold due to enthusiastic use of air conditioning. However, when we asked about this, the setting was changed.
The hotel is just round the corner from Kensington High Street tube station.
We will use the hotel again on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room. Noise was not an issue despite being on the railway side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

From your detailed review, it is pleasing to see that we were successful in providing excellent services and high quality standard of facilities more than you expected and all was satisfying to your needs to have a memorable stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback and your concerns is important as it assists our Management Team to review for future improvements.

Thank you also for your recommendation to all travellers that you will definitely use Copthorne Tara again when you next visit London and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. The service was first rate, and we were only a few minutes walk from the tube station. (High Street Kensington) Lots of shops near by, including a 24 hour Tesco and two Starbucks.
The rooms are average size by American standards, but quite large compared to other London hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I am pleased to see from your review that your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara that we provided great service, hotel is a great location and all was to your expectation and satisfaction for an enjoyable stay. Your recommendation to all travellers is much appreciated.

I hope we will have the pleasure of your visit again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here 3 times during July 2013 as we used this Hotel as our base. Perfect location to the Underground & buses. It was disappointing that we were not recognised at book in time on our 2nd & 3rd stay - nothing in the computer to advise we had recently stayed. Also very disapointing the staff spoke English as a 2nd language which caused problems with communication. WIFI in the rooms is not free. But perfect location for seeing & doing things in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Stephanie H

Thank you for your time and your valuable comments on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I have taken a few notes that we can focus on as a team from your feedback. As a regular guest to the hotel it is our duty to ensure that your profile is updated for every stay so that we are able to recognise you prior to arrival. I sincerely apologise that this was not adhered to in your case, and I can assure you this is not the norm. Our Management Team have addressed this matter with the relevant staff to ensure this is not repeated in future.

In terms of your mention that some of our staff speaks different languages and that you feel that English is a second language. Please may I clarify, we have a few new trainees who come from abroad to keep developing in their future careers and to improve their English language. At the same time they are able to assist us here at the hotel with our foreign guests. I can assure you English is the first language as this is why the trainees come from abroad to learn and interact with English speaking people on a daily basis to improve their English. You will be happy to hear that there is always a Senior Manager, Supervisor or Senior Receptionist on duty to assist them when any problems or miscommunication arises. However, we do know there is still space for improvement and we will tackle these matters as they arise accordingly.

Please may I reiterate that customer service and guest satisfaction are amongst our top priorities, and I am truly sorry if you did not feel recognised as a regular guest with us. I can assure you this was not intentional, but merely a reflection of the amount of people our team deal with on a daily basis. Your feedback makes us aware of the issues that arise so that Our Management Team can review for future improvements so that we maintain consistency with our excellent customer service that is expected. Once again I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we will monitor this in future so that our guests are not made to feel uncomfortable but to be recognised and well looked after to ensure they have a memorable stay.

I thank you for your positive feedback and your recommendation to all travellers that the Copthorne Tara Hotel is a perfect location to stay in the London area. Since I notice you are travelling from afar, Auckland New Zealand, I hope we will have the pleasure of you visiting us again in the near future so that we can make amends to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

We look forward to your continued support and to welcoming you back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.