We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #506 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Muğla
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good hotel. Good services but foods were not so good. I had great two days. Rooms were clean but a bit dark. Lits were randomly busy but fast. Good reception desk and brilliant lobby. Thanks to all Copthorne Tara Hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our services excellent.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,582
    1,137
    365
    230
See reviews for
572
1,403
214
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this property with excellent location, which is a cul-de-sac from the main busy High Street Kensington. We have 2 rooms - one facing the subway track, the other facing the back of a residential building in front of the hotel. The room facing the subway track is well insulated from the noise of the passing trains.

As mentioned by many reviewers, the rooms are large but outdated and fraying in many places. Strange that the shower hose is attached to the pole and cannot be detached to use in the hand when washing up. However, considering the cost we paid, what we had is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking a moment to post your comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to be good value for money and conveniently located. I would like to assure you that we are aware that some of our rooms appear dated, and we are working on in house redecoration of our standard bedrooms.

We trust you will be returning soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good location by subway, restaurants, cafes and shops, close to the gardens Kzington. Majority of the staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms are relatively large., But .... design outdated, terrible bathroom - walls covered with Formica [like a stone] - no hygiene. Shower hose attached to the ring so you can not bathe freely.Mold around the bathtub faucet area. services sprinklers with low water pressure, when it seems they are going to become clogged all time. gap between door and frame so that all dialoga qr all operation sound in the hall ..
It looked like something from the seventies, early eighties. Need to renew urgently. Stay away if comfort and aesthetics are important. The hotel is four star level! Did not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with interior of the hotel and I have noted the points you have raised with the conditions in your room and forwarded same to our Management Team to take action so that these problems do not occur going forward.

I wish to inform you that we are currently working on in-house redecoration and we are endeavouring to provide our guests with a high standard of service and facilities as we possibly can. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to constantly better our products and services.

I do note however that you were positive with regards to the location of the hotel, room size and that our staff provided good customer service to compliment your stay to be a pleasant one.

I hope you will visit us again to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence, and look forward to welcoming back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location! Hotel a bit shabby and especially rooms and hallways need to be refurbished. Staff pleasant. Breakfast quite good. Happy to pay extra pounds if hotel upgrades, but would not return until they do. Would rate it a 3 and 1/2 out of 5

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is important as our in-house redecorations continue ongoing to improve our services and facilities going forward.

We hope you will reconsider visiting us when you next visit London to give us the opportunity to provide an excellent service and you can be assured you will have have a pleasant stay.

We look forward to your welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Kensington. Handy for the underground and all of central London. However the whole place is becoming shabby and in serious need of an update.
This relates to the rooms as well which we're very disappointing.
If this were a budget hotel you could understand it but if you are paying more than £60 a night then this hotel is not good value.
The breakfast was also a little basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for you comments. We are aware that some of our rooms appear dated and we continue to monitor guest feedback whilst our in house redecorations continue. I trust that you found your room to be both clean and comfortable as we always guarantee we provide our guests with the best services and facilities possible.

We are a very popular four star hotel in the heart of Kensington and we aim to provide an exceptional guest experience. Please be assured that I have noted your comments for our Management Team to review and to take action to improve our facilities and services going forward.

I wish to welcome you back when you next visit London

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As with others rooms a bit dated but clean and room ,bathroom where good.Stayed 2 nights and did not eat there , plenty places near by.Great location for museums,bus and tube into central London.We would stay again if the price was right

Room Tip: Buy a Oyster card for bus .tube travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to read that we provided good services for you to have an enjoyable stay and that the location of the hotel was convenient to your needs.

We trust you will be returning in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel recently for our 3 day visit to London. On first appearances it wasn't pleasing to the eye at all, tho once inside the reception is clean and well presented. Our check in was easy, but then up to the rooms, one of the 3 rooms had a bad musty/damp smell. The rooms are quite dated and are in dire need of a renovation. We were on the second floor. The king size beds needed a topper as feeling the 2 king singles under the sheets was not very comfortable. The rooms were good in regards to noise, didn't hear much from the hallway or other rooms (maybe I was just dog tired from all the touristy stuff all day). The location was great, close to shops, tube etc.
The breakfast however was the biggest down fall of this hotel, it was awful. I'm sure the eggs were powdered, the bacon salty, the coffee dreadful, the breakfast sausages, well I don't even know if they were sausages and sadly the service lacked in this department greatly. The gentleman on the door did not cope well with pressure, he was so stressed and came across rather rude to not only the clientele but his staff. There was also a language barrier problem with many of the staff. Even later in the evening when we headed back in there for late night drinks it was still an issue with staff unable to speak/understand english well.
All in all the hotel was fine but 4 stars, no way. I would stay again, tho would not eat there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give a detail report with regards to your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that the location of the hotel was of such great use to you, with exception of a few concerns that you have raised.

Your feedback is taken seriously and I am disappointed to read that the breakfast was not to your expectation and also your interpretation of your interactions with our staff. I can assure you that customer service and guest satisfaction are amongst our top priorities. Please accept my apologies if we failed to meet your expectations in this matter.

I have noted your concerns and communicated same to our Management Team to review our Staff Training Processes and for action to be taken to improve our communications, services and facilities we provide to our guests going forward. I hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services the next time you are in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.