We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced everything but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #519 of 1,066 Hotels in London
flimgirl21
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over priced everything but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

I got this hotel using priceline (which claims it is 4 star, when almost every other site says 31/2) for $99 which I was really happy about for London. The hotels website listed 99 pounds which would have been double. However, I almost ending up paying that much anyway, and here is my biggest complaint about this hotel:
Internet in your room was 20 pounds a night!!! That's right, $40!!!!!! So I ending up upgrading my room to a corporate room for 40 pounds per night which gave me free internet and breakfast in the private lounge which was quite pleasant.

The location is in a pleasant shopping area in Kensington, and one block from the subway which is really nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but nothing exciting. I basically would recommend this hotel only if you get a great deal. And I suppose for London, I probably did.

  • Liked — Near a subway, quiet nice less crowded area of London
  • Disliked — Way overpriced internet and amenities.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    1,426
    1,053
    334
    209
See reviews for
510
1,262
207
734
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Booked via BAHolidays.com. I usually stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel for some of my holidays and a good cheaper hotel for another few days. I chose this as the good cheaper hotel in 2004 and was happy with it so despite some disappointing reviews chose to stay again for New Year's Eve 2007and New Year's day 2008. Again I was not disappointed. It does not pretend to be a top London hotel. It is an honest, well located, good value for money hotel. This is London folks and given the amount of seriously horrid hotels in worse locations for the same cost or more in many instances you could not do much better. Yes, the bathroom in my room was tired with pannelling from the 70's, but the water pressure and temperature was great, the bedroom size was reasonable, the linen good, the double glazing muted the train noise very well and the staff were courteous and efficient. The continental breakfast was very satisfactory and the location really convenient with High Street Ken tube a couple of minutes away and easy access to all parts of inner London. I tried a different hotel as my cheaper selection a couple of years ago, a mistake I will not repeat. The Copthorne Tara will do me!!!

  • Liked — Honest, unpretentious value for money and location
  • Disliked — For what it cost, nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Stayed here 4 nights through work. Second floor large room, advanced lighting switch system which worked very well. Powerful a/c which allowed me to dry my soaking clothes after I was caught in a shower very easily. Only downside whole side of the hotel does back onto district/circle tube line which even with secondary double glazing can be disturbing if light sleeper , as trains run till about 12.30am. Water pressure very high - so high in fact shower was slightly too much of a power shower! Decor slightly dated but excellent bed linen/towels. Breakfast very satisfactory, continental had good selection and english was fresh and tasty. - TV had 5 channels plus couple of digital which seems to be typical for central london. This hotel is genuine 4* luxury, with excellent High St Ken location. Downsides? Tube noise and they charge a fiver to use the fitness room. Don't know what it's like - don't pay it! go for a run in nearby Kensington Palace Gardens/Hyde Park (if it ever stops bloody raining!)

  • Liked — Room size and general quality & location
  • Disliked — Tube noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

I was booked into this hotel through work and was a bit apprehensive given some of the reviews, but I had a very nice stay.

The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the tube (exit tube station, turn left and left again), set back from Kensington High Street. There are a number of big name shops and a couple of Express supermarkets nearby. The area seemed fine and I had no problems even when I got back to the hotel relatively late.

I rang up the day before and asked for a room that didn't face the tube, and this was done. It was a good size, a little dated but clean and well equipped. There was a fridge in the room (not a mini bar) and this was also useful. Although I was concerned about having a room directly outside the lifts, thinking the doors banking and people talking would disturb me I heard nothing as the doors were semi mechanic and shut quietly. The shower was fantastic.

I didn't have a cooked breakfast but the continental spread was really good and the service very quick. Coffee was horrid though!

All staff were pleasant and I would happily stay there again, both for the location and the amenities and for either business or leisure.

  • Liked — Powerful shower, good location
  • Disliked — Slightly dated decor and furnishings
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We travelled to London on the train and then hoped onto the tube. I was amazed how close the tube station was. I have stayed in many different hotels in London which are usually at good 10-15 minutes walk but this was perfect. We arrived at the Copthorne at about 12 and guessed our room would not be ready so where prepared, however on arrival we where allowed to check-in straight away!! We went up to our room and it was as we expected clean and straight out of a copthorne brochure (as they all are!). We where very happy with the accomodation and easy tube links. The hotel has a nice shop where you can buy all the snacks, drinks etc you need and the breakfast was superb. We travelled to London for my 30th birthday and it didn't dissapoint. We had a very scary (if you don''t like hights!) Champagne 'flight' on the London eye and also watched' We will rock you' and 'Footlose' at the theatre. Both of which where excellent however Footlose was my favourite. I will definetly be visiting London again and will certainly stay at the Tara.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

For the price paid via Priceline, this is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The furniture was a bit worn but the beds were comfy and the room was quite clean with all the normal amenities: restaurant, room service, cable TV, toiletries, etc.

I was Very happy to stay here. It's less than 5 minutes to the High Street tube station which has a Pret, M&S, Boots and more on the entrance. Nearby is also a Tesco, and Whole Foods for sandwiches and items for a continental breakfast that can be stored in the small refrigerator in each room. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and we even found a place within 10 min. walk to do laundry. Very economical (w/Priceline)- but still has the option of room service, very amiable, professional check-in and concierge personnel, and ample taxis just outside if you need them. It was perfect for us as budget travelers looking for a bit of comfort and a central location.

  • Liked — Location; refrigerator
  • Disliked — Aging furniture
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

I booked this hotel with my boyfriend for a stay on New Years Eve 2007. I arrived at the hotel at around 3:30pm as I was told that I would be allowed to check in at 3pm. I was not allowed in the room until 4pm as they couldn't find a non smoking room. Very disappointing considering the amount of money I have paid for this room.

My New Years eve celebrations were great outside the hotel, but unfortunately upon leaving the hotel I had discovered that I had left an expensive bottle of champagne in the fridge in my room. I immediately phoned up the hotel and they advised me that the bottle of champagne was not there and that housekeeping had never seen it.

On conclusion, it would appear that their housekeeping staff have taken my bottle of champagne and not owned up to it to management for fear of loosing their job. Understandable, but not particularly great customer service don't you think? Meanwhile I go without my bottle of champagne and the housekeeper has a particularly festive new year with a free bottle of champagne courtesy of myself. Thanks Copthorne, needless to say I will NEVER be checking into your hotel again and my company will NEVER use your hotel again.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.