We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-18 Harrington Gardens | Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4LH, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #375 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed in a family room with our two children. It was large , clean quiet and comfortable. You need to ask for information or maps. The concierge has info tucked away under the desk! While we were there the whole bar area was completely flooded by rushing water coming through a pipe between the 1st and 2nd floors and was out of use for the rest of our time there. The fridge in our room did not work either.
This hotel is right next to the tube station but in a quiet street. We bought a London pass and travel pass and so didn't have to queue for train tickets. A great thing for a family. It makes you get out and really see London.
Gloucester road has some good cheaper places to eat , only our advice -don't go to the restaurant Little India. The waiter tried to upsell the meal on every part of the order. Took the wrong order, then came and had a heated argument with us about how we had ordered a particular dish when we hadn't! It was most unpleasant for our 1st night in London. He was not a nice man.Don't go there. Waitrose is just nearby if you want to eat in

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — fridge didn't work
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    1,177
    502
    231
    97
See reviews for
434
1,043
172
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. We booked through a travel club, which had us picked up at Heathrow and brought to the hotel, very convenient. Same arrangement for the return trip home. We had a large, well equipped room, large comfortable bed, easy chair with ottoman, desk with ergonomic computer chair. The bathroom was clean, with all the necessities provided. The hotel provided a full English breakfast each morning, that was quite good.
Location is the key, and we were right around the corner from the Cloucester tube station, which has the Main line and the Picadilly line to choose. Traveling the subways and buses is very easy and convenient all over London, after purchasing an all day ticket at the station for 5.1 pounds. The undergound is very clean, as is all of London, and very efficient. NYC should go take some lessons from the British in maintaining and running a subway system. And this is from a native New Yorker.
There are many restaurants in the area, and a wonderful pub just down Gloucester Road, going toward the S. Kensington tube station. Just several streets away are the Natural History and Science Museums, both excellent, and museums are free in London.
We booked 2 all day tours, one around London, the other to Warwick, Stratford and Oxford. Both were outstanding. The British guides were the best, energetic and knowledgeable. Money well spent, I would recommend guided tours to see the most in a limited time frame. I was disappointed that so few tipped the guides and drivers at the end of the tours. Maybe customs differ, but we spent all day with these people, and they give it their all. We also took a Beatles walking tour, which we enjoyed tremendously. We saw a play, Phantom of the Opera, in the theatre district, and Shakespeare's Othello at the Globe.
London and the Millenium were both wonderful, " a splendid time was had by all."

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Booked this room for £75 a night on Lastminute.

Able to check in at 11am which was great. Upgrade was offered but at £20 per night.

The room was not one of the refurbished rooms. It was not worthy of a four star hotel. Room was cold as the air con wasn't working properly and the bedclothes were pretty inadequate!

It was pretty dingy and carpets and furnishings have seen much better days!

On the plus side, the location is great. Within a 100yds of Gloucester Road tube station. For £75 a night you can't complain as you wouldn't get a budget room for that price in such good location. If you are paying full price for the room, make sure you get a refurbished one.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dingy/Grimey Room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

We frequently visit London on business and stay in Kensington mainly SW7; we have stayed here before and we were unable on this occasion to get much of a discount after searching the usual websites.

Breakfast was good as was the service and concierge very helpful.

The room was average size but at end of a very long corridor; carpeting to room was tired and badly repaired in several places and corridor smelled of damp. The decor badly in need of a coat of paint. By Millenium standards not now one of their better ones and we would now consider the one in Sloane Street or another hotel in Kensington and are unlikely to return to this one.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

I and a friend stayed here for 2 nights for a WWE event at the nearby Earls Court Arena.

After driving around the area for nearly an hour, we arrived at this hotel. Upon entering, we were pleased to find a very spacious and nicely set out lobby and check-in was no problem.

We were also happy to find that our room was well maintained. I noticed after switching on the TV (which is a ritual I often partake in) that the choice of channels was very poor, only a few English speaking channels, no sports and bad reception also.

We left the room to check out the hotel drinking facilities. We headed over to the bar (Humphrey’s) and saw that this was closed. We asked reception if this would be opening at all and her response was just that they had a flood and there was a number of bars close by. No apology was given for the inconvenience just a lot of shrugging shoulders on her part. We headed to the rather dead restaurant and were seated and ordered by saying "can we have 2 bottles of Budweiser please"....This was met by a smiling/blank stare from the waitress and I then had to point to it on the menu!! We got the drinks, which looked like they had been recovered from the bottom of the Thames, the way that the labels were hanging off of them.

A different waitress then took us by surprise when, instead of taking our next order, plunked the bill down on the table and wandered off!
In the end we had to settle on becoming members (for free) of the casino next door in order to get a proper drink and service.

Later in the evening we asked a further 2 more members of staff about the bar area and the 1st person said that it would be open in a month, the 2nd said that they would be opening it tomorrow (?) Obviously the communication between the staff was second to none (!)

Day 2. In the afternoon we went down to the lobby and headed for the restaurant only to be told that they were holding a private function so we couldn’t go in. We then noticed that a number of staff were going back and forth into the so called “closed” bar with tables, chairs and everything else. This at least confirmed that the at least 1 person that we had asked was correct.

Trying to get through to the main reception to arrange a taxi to Earls Court was an absolute nightmare and when I finally did get through was just told rather abruptly to come down and arrange one closer to the time...Ok..Thanks.

All in all this was undoubtedly the worst hotel that we have stayed in and my advice to you is that unless your wearing a suit or are there for business purposes then expect to be treated like a 2nd class resident.

  • Liked — Close by to Earls Court
  • Disliked — Everything else, including £35 a night for hotel parking !!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

After staying here for two nights we had a lot of mixed feelings. Most of the staff were really friendly, while some were almost rude. The hotel had however a lot of staff, so most things were solved quickly.
The rooms seemed to be quite ok, except the one we were given. There were severe water/moisture damage in the bathroom. Upon pointing out this to the staff i was answered with a blank stare, almost as if this was the norm.

The first night the firealarm sounded at 1am and woke up the whole hotel. No explanation were given except for the "full evacuation" on the hotel-tv was changed to "false alarm" after what seemed to be atleast 10minutes. The staff avoided the issue in the morning.

The location is however excellent, a 1 minute walk to the Gloucester Rd Tube Station.
KFC, Burger King and Tesco at the same distance.

Overall this experience was "okayish", but NOT what we expected from a 4star hotel. I dont want to badmouth this hotel, but we wont be staying here again as long as there are alternatives.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Doesnt feel like 4 stars as advertised
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

We asked for twin room but had twin beds made up as one king size - this had to be rectified but was done so fairly quickly. Sadly there was a very damp smell of wet carpets in corridors of floor 2. Apart from that hotel was very good - staff were courteuous, hotel room very nice and breakfast excellent. I will return.

  • Liked — Rooms large and wonderful feeling of space everywhere
  • Disliked — Damp smell on corridor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Address: 4-18 Harrington Gardens | Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Gloucester London
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.