We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch place at nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
Ranked #164 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top notch place at nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night for work (client booked us there). Great location next to Hyde Park. Breakfast was very good (though expensive, as almost always in hotels...). Wanted to try the gym but I was too early (jetlag) and it was still closed (e.g. no 24-h service) so I went for a jog in the park instead. I guess it's a good one as also used for non-guests.
Rooms were a bit small, but overall very good (quite, cosy and high quality).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    327
    84
    45
    27
See reviews for
173
393
81
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel to attend an awards ceremony that was being held there. I felt it pricey but worth the extra to be in the same hotel.

I made my booking for a queen room via a third party company and it was clearly listed as a double room for two people. I was later advised by the hotel staff that this room was not deemed suitable for two people and they ‘recommended’ I pay an additional £30 to upgrade. Which I did.

I must admit the room itself was very pleasant and spacious, but no matter how hard I looked I could not find any tea or coffee facilities. I contacted reception but was told this facility was not available but I could order from room service if is wished. Sorry but I am not paying over £3 for a tea bag and hot water (I don’t take milk or sugar). Luckily Starbucks was opposite so we paid a visit. I was later told by other attendees at the awards that they had tea and coffee in their rooms.

I then followed the instructions provided to access the Wifi but couldn’t do it. I phoned the number provided and was asked if I had purchased Wifi as it was at additional cost. There was no mention of this on the instructions. Again, no I am not incurring the excessive additional costs.

It was horrible to wake up in the morning with no facilities for a cup of tea so we planned to ship out pretty quickly, but despite being told checkout was at 12, there was a knock on the door and in walked the maid wanting to know what time we were leaving.

Considering this was a 5 star hotel I was extremely disappointed. I stop in hotels regularly for work and this is the worst I have stayed in as far as experience goes. I have stayed in 3 star hotels where the staff are friendly and bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. I have stayed in hotels where tea and coffee is not provided in your room but is available complementary on request.

All this hotel wants to do is apply additional charges for things we are accustomed to being included.

It turned out that the prize I could have won at the award ceremony was a two-night stay in the same hotel. I have never been so relieved not to win something! Yes the bathrobe was nice, but I’d swap it for a cuppa any day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
We were sorry to hear you had some problems during your stay. We do sell our Queen rooms for single occupancy only so can only apologise this was wrongly described with the third party company you booked with. We do offer Best rate guarantee on our own website so would always recommend to book direct with the hotel.

With regard to the tea & coffee making facilities, we are now including this in all our newly refurbished rooms and are completing our last 4 floors of bedrooms so all rooms will have tea & coffee making facilities. We do however offer a tea & coffee tray to rooms on request so can only apologise you were not offered this when requested.

Sorry you were disturbed in the morning, maids do check to see if guests have departed if the do not disturb sign is not on the door.

We do pride ourselves on being the best value 5 star hotel in London so are very sorry you didn't feel this was the case on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Every member of staff we met this hotel went out of their way to deliver superb customer service. The last time we encountered service like this was in Singapore (never in a UK hotel of this size). We later discovered that this hotel is linked with the Goodwood Park in Singapore. All is explained!
We had a garden view room one night and a contemporary room the other night, Both had very comfortable super king beds, a settee, fitted widescreen flat TV and full bathroom.
The food in the Terrace restaurant and lounge is top notch and good value. You do not need to leave the hotel to enjoy a tremendous meal in sylish surroundings. In October there is a half price champagne offer- enjoy!
the Spa and Gym are a disappointment, not quite up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. The gym is equipment is quite new though.
Short walk from here to the Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens are next door.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Supposedly a luxurious Hotel it relies in its location to provide the wow factor.
If one is to spend that sort of money one would expect more than two tea bags, some real coffee bags, real milk; more than one towel, one cup and saucer and free wifi; in house movies and an air conditioning unit that is not so noisy that it keeps one awake at night.
Incoming guests at 1am should be encouraged not to shout and scream on the forecourt. As initially suggested it is close to wonderful Hyde Park and despite the austere reception area the staff are less so and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you for your recent comments with regard to your recent stay with us and apologise you had some concerns regarding the hotel. From your comments I am assuming you booked one of our Queen Rooms which is for single occupancy but we are always happy to provide extra towels and tea and coffee amenities so apologise this was not made clear during your stay. We do always try and control any guest noise but as you can appreciate can be difficult to do this at all times.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The location and views overlooking Kensington Palace Gardens is amazing. The rooms are large by London standards, and there is no traffic noise.

Very convenient location for tube and bus stop.

Breakfast at £21pp is a ripoff! Internet at £20/day is too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My first time staying in the Kensington area. We got off at the High Street Kensington tube station and walked about 5 minutes to the hotel. Great shops and eating places along the way. Check-in was seamless and within minutes was up in our Garden view room. The room was fresh, clean, and had a nice little sitting area at the window as the room had a nice view of Kensington gardens, was nice and quiet ( great to unwind in a city ). The room was nice and spacious and was nicely laid out. The beds were comfy, in the room, the room had plenty of lighting and a dimmer for adjusting. Nice toiletries from the White Company, a bath, rainwater shower and when we requested more toiletries ( never seems to be enough for two usually in hotels ), they sent some straight up no problems. All the staff were so welcoming and accommodating , the concierge looked after us well too. The only negative I can say would be that the food and drink in the hotel are crazy prices, the internet too. But, when in London, why sit in and eat when you can get out and explore?

Overall, loved the hotel, got a great service and have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The concierge staff of this hotel are phenomenal!! We had an medical emergency during our very short stay here and they couldn't have been more helpful! (Our 12 day trip to England, Wales and Scotland was cut to 36 hours in London!! For all that, the Royal Garden helped us to have pleasant memories of that time)

The room was clean and pleasant although the view out our window was disgusting. We expected that as the price we paid for our nights there were below normal due to our booking at a discount site. Luckily, we hadn't come to London to look out our hotel room, we came to see the city and the address of this hotel couldn't be better for that activity. It's at the center of everything we needed. Expensive but worth the effort if you want a classy place!!

We ate in the restaurant and unfortunately, were not impressed by it but you can't have everything!! The class of the hotel made up for alot!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.