We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
Ranked #151 of 1,075 hotels in London
New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Hote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, well placed on Kensington High St for shops, buses, the tube etc. Lovely room with a split level sitting room area. Large modern bathroom. Staff on the whole friendly but Youssra Ahmidi was especially good and was very professional and helpful.

One downside, the breakfast area is close to the lifts/reception and the smell of cooking fat is overwhelming, even on the top floors. The area where the eggs are cooked fresh has no ventilation and so the fatty smell permeates throughout - made me feel quite sickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you felt the hotel has a good location and room facilities. I am also particularly happy to hear that one of our staff members made such a good impression, which I’ll pass onto their Manager.

However I was concerned by your remarks about the smells coming from breakfast. We only serve a buffet style breakfast on the weekend, offering freshly cooked eggs, as we understand that our weekend guests may want a more leisurely morning experience and not feel rushed. Unfortunately this does cause some smells to waft into the lobby area. I have passed your comments onto the food and beverage team who will investigate if any changes can be made.

Thank you again and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    298
    73
    42
    24
See reviews for
143
349
68
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business trip and conference. The hotel met all of my expectations!

Upon checking in from an international flight, we had the opportunity for early check-in, which was awesome. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Upon entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised that even though the room was a bit small, the accommodations were upscale, clean and comfortable. The water pressure in the bathroom was very good with plenty of hot water. I could also see Kensington Palace from my window.

The hotel conference facilities are excellent, with comfortable large and small rooms available. The only complaint I had was that the hotel was not really able to handle our large group that well. The areas where we tried to eat and drink was very cramped and the staff had a bit of an issue with logistics and keeping up with our needs.

The area around the hotel is a typical High Street with plenty of shopping available of all types. Additionally, you are right next to Kensington Gardens, with great walking/running areas available for all.

Unfortunately, I did not use the restaurant facilities themselves, but the food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay at the hotel in March.
I am very pleased to know the hotel met your expectations and that you were happy with your room and friendly service at check-in.

However I was disappointed to read your mixed reviews of our conference facilities. If you have time it would be great to get some more details as our Conference & Events Manager is interested in knowing how we can improve the experience of all our guests. If you can spare the time then please get back to us on: feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great Concierge and Housekeeping but first you have to get past the Check In desk. We booked two rooms at the same time last year and found our allocated rooms were on the same floor but not near each other! It took a while for them to come up with an alternative and only one room was ready...could we wait (we have 2 nights and only one full day in London??) So we walk with our elderly mother to Kensington Palace Cafe, lunch, walk back and the second room is still not available! Waited another short while in the lobby and yea it is ready. The checkin desk didn't direct us to the lift or the floor, I had to ask?! Thankfully beyond the checkin desk every aspect of this hotel was excellent. On entering the room we found them well sized, modern and with lovely and meticulously clean bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms well appointed. Windows opened for fresh air onto Kensington High Street. Beyond the room... The gym was accessed through the lobby, out the front door and down a lift but it was large and well appointed. For pilates and yoga travellers there was a studio with equipment mats, balls etc available for your own workout and there are also timetabled sessions available for a fee. Also a sauna and steam room. Breakfast included was a continental breakfast which had sufficient and satisfying variety. Both the Concierge and Housekeeping are to be commended for their very high standard of service. The Concierge was extremely good, helping obtain same day theatre tickets, arrange parcel post and airport transport. Housekeeping are extremely thorough and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nothing is lacking at this hotel. It is by far one of the best places on earth. The employees are top notch and can not do enough for you. Giving us a temporary room to use because our plane landed at 6:00am and our room was not ready to helping us on a daily basis with tours, directions and great restaurants. Our room was fabulous and cleaned daily to perfection. This is the fourth time we stayed there and we will never stay anywhere else when we come to visit. The location is beautiful and safe. This makes our trip wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you think we are one of the best places on earth. I am also happy to learn that you received great service again and were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the fifth time I hope.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not much to say really, which is a good thing. Everything was as expected, polite staff, clean and quiet room, cosy bar and excellent Chinese restaurant - the Beijing duck really is amongst the best I have had anywhere.

My only criticisms would be 1) the parking arrangements (rip off NCP under the hotel with no concession for hotel guests and if you leave the car there for 24 hours and 1 minute you get charged 2 days and when you come back the clock starts from zero again); and 2) the gymnasium which you have to go out of the front of the hotel to reach and it is a little bit dingy once inside.

Apart from that our short stay was everything we needed and we would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from three nights at The Royal garden, could not have wished for a more pleasant stay.
Everything was great including the room, food and helpful staff. Really great location and view of Kensington Palace from our window.
Cannot wait until our next stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

By far the best hotel in London. The hotel is clean, modern, great location. However the thing that separates the Royal Garden from others is the outstanding service from all staff I have encountered on my numerous visits. From the check in to check out you are made to feel welcome, it really is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.