We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
Ranked #159 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of three booked a "classic" room through Disney Vacation Club for the middle of June. We had a very nice room with two twin beds and a rollaway, having an excellent view of the south end of Kensington Gardens. The hotel was very elegant and the staff were uniformly considerate and helpful. Room wasn't large, but was big enough for three and had all the upscale hotel amenities. Our experience in the restaurants and the main bar was also excellent, and late-night room service was outstanding. The concierge was very helpful with directions and tickets to shows. The hotel location is outstanding, in a great neighborhood with an easy walk to shops, restaurants, Kensington Palace/Gardens, and the tube. The only downside was the expense: hotel food was expensive (but very good), and WiFi and parking are breathtaking. The neighborhood has good dining alternatives. You can get complimentary WiFi depending on how you book (but not through Disney), or a rented mobile hotspot might be an option. And neighborhood parking is even more expensive than the hotel...skip the car altogether if you can.

All things considered, we thoroughly enjoyed our four days, and felt very at-home. Oh yes...Wills and Harry drove by right outside the dining room while we had buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    325
    84
    45
    28
See reviews for
172
391
81
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Mary Bourne
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything was near perfect, great staff, good room very comfortable with an excellent bed. Bar provided some smart cocktails. Breakfast brilliant as was the location. Top Dollar though £25 for breakfast, £300 for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your stay was nearly perfect, especially that you enjoyed our customer service, the comfort of your room and the cocktails in the bar.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Royal Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed a week and you do need to have a room which over looks Kensington Gardens. The Concierge desk were all very helpful regarding booking restaurants and directions. A central hotel for walks in the park and Kensington High Street Shopping. The breakfasts were just about OK, definitely not free range eggs and my husbands haddock smelt very strong and fishy and was definitely not fresh. There was no large screen for several of us who wanted to watch Wimbledon and have lunch. The main gripe was that they have very few irons and ironing boards and when you have been travelling other wives like me want to press they husbands shirts and it appears that if someone has borrowed one then they keep in their room and there just were not enough to share around,. They have so many staff from overseas who sadly do not have enough experience or charm for their customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Judy,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walks and shopping in Kensington. I am also glad to hear that our Concierge desk was very helpful with recommending restaurants and directions.

However, I am disappointed to hear that your breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been passed to our Executive Chef and his team who will review and monitor the standards of quality.

We also appreciate your comments in regards to the irons/ironing boards. I have passed on your remarks to the relevant departments for consideration as we understand that our longer stay guests do retain them, therefore compromising the availability for other guests.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went to the big restaurant / coffee area on the weekend. It's hard to fathom how a service industry can have such poor staff, impolite & unwelcoming, totally uncoordinated and just leave you feeling you are totally unwelcome. I feel really bad for the GM and the other good front of house staff, especially the great doorman, that the restaurant staff are so consistently appalling, badly trained and have NO idea how to address customers.

Staff training needed urgently here or time to let people move on and find something they are better suited to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Frank,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent visit to one of our restaurants. I have passed on your remarks to our Food & Beverage Director and we would be really grateful if you could e-mail us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk with some details of the restaurant and the time & date of your experience. In this way we can investigate further and ensure that improvements are made accordingly.

Thanks for your feedback and we will appreciate the opportunity to address this issue with your assistance.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for the past few years whenever I go to London for short trips.
Excellent and central location - there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel so I just hop on to go to Knightsbridge, Oxford Street etc. The Kensington High St tube is also a stone's throw away. I love that it's right next to Kensington Park as I'm an avid jogger so it's great to be able to just jump out the door and go jogging in 3 minutes.

While I was given complimentary Wi-fi, it kept going on and off and you had to log in again and if you go too near the door of the hotel, it will go off easily. There is a Chinese restaurant Min Jiang which is a branch of a Singapore Chinese restaurant that is overrated (said to be one of the best Chinese restaurants in London0 but stil decent.

The flush system of the toilet didn't work so well this time and I had to call room service for assistance , but it did not happen before. Rooms are decent sized and if it's facing the park, you will have a lovely view.

The major good point of this hotel is it's great location, easy for visitors to meet up with you.

Room Tip: request if possible a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night while Wimbledon was on, not sure if we paid over the odds but given its not near Wimbledon I would hope not. The room was so small I felt claustrophobic in it, and to have to pay £20 for Wi Fi is a joke. This hotel is certainly nothing special, it's pleasant but nothing more. I certainly will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay overall.
Our rooms have been recently refurbished and are spacious for central London standards. However, do not hesitate to enquire about our more spacious room types or suites for your next visit.

We also appreciate your comments in regards to the internet and please note that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi and other benefits when reservations are booked directly through the hotel. Please visit our website to discover more.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Best meet and greet! All staff were helpful, friendly and polite. Fast response from Room service and housekeeping. Great suite overlooking park with good amenities, free wifi that did not drop out but limited in what it would allow access to so no FB or Twitter but possibly a good thing! Staff could not do enough! Did notice on Sunday that staff complement was noticeably lower and that made noticeable differences. But that said would return again if going to RAH. Well done Royal Garden!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.