We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
Ranked #153 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a great Travelzoo deal. The hotel room was spacious with a good bathroom. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Bus stop is directly outside and train station just a short walk. After a big day shopping it was nice just to sit and enjoy Kensington Gardens which is right alongside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    330
    84
    45
    27
See reviews for
174
395
82
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose to spend our Ruby Wedding Anniversary weekend at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We were allocated a beautiful room on the 10th floor with views over the London skyline. The room was terrific and Alex and his staff really pulled all the stops out to make our special weekend special. The concierge even lent me his cufflinks for our restaurant as I had left mine at home. Great location and next to Kensington gardens for a pleasant walk and the Bus stops right outside taking you into the West End. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Kingdom,

Thank you for staying with us for your special weekend. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay overall, especially that my colleague Alex and Concierge team made your stay extra special.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for your next wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,
RGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for just two nights but enjoyed every minute of our time at the Royal Garden. Our room (1016) was situated on the tenth floor and offered fantastic views towards Battersea. The room itself was well appointed and spacious with a lovely bathroom which incorporated a walk-in shower which was just what the doctor ordered after a day's sightseeing.
We had continental breakfast which was extremely good and the staff coped well despite being very busy and they were friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

All in all the rooms were very good but the service was very inconsistent!

1. One of our rooms was not even ready at 4 PM when they should be ready at 2 PM.
2. One of our rooms were not cleaned properly, toe nails on the floor!!! We got a new room.
3. The corridors on first and second floor smells of food in a very bad way.
4. A lot of smell of cigarette smoke goes through the ventilation making it not very comfortable for my wife having asthma. (this was on the 9th floor)
5. Both of our rooms were not cleaned the same way once, a couple of times we had to tell the cleaning staff to clean the room again.
6. Yawning staff at the reception is not a good thing, not ever. Not very nice to be greeted with a yawn.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a room on the first or second floor because the smell of food on these floors are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Byggare,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments following your recent stay and I am sorry to hear that the customer service did not meet your expectations. I have passed on all your points to each relevant Manager who will be reviewing our procedures and standards of services with their teams.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff next time to report any issues. We always strive to maintain high standards of service and no issue is too small to investigate to ensure our guests’ receive the best experience possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
RGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Well located on high st and adjacent to Kensington Gardens and easy to navigate London with an underground station metres away. The room I was given looked over the gardens at the rear of the building but was about as small as you come across anywhere. The conference facilities downstairs were nice and the food was good. The hotel breakfast was basic but did the job. 20 GBP for wifi and extraordinary minibar prices were ridiculous. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you had a nice stay overall, especially that you enjoyed the conference facilities, the food and the hotel location.

We appreciate your comment in regards to the internet and please note that you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and other benefits when reservations are booked directly through the hotel. Please contact us directly if you wish to get these benefits should you choose to return.

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
RGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked rooms for a number of nights on a business trip. The hotel was running a promotion, so the room was an excellent deal. The hotel is centrally located and right on the Park. The king room was very large and modern with a spacious bathroom. I stayed on the third floor and did not notice any noise whatsoever, from other guests or the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review as I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the spacious feel of our King Rooms.

I’m also happy to hear that you benefited from one of our promotions. Please look out for future offers through our newsletter.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

RGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Quite an experience, but disappointed with the room which overlooked Kensington High Street and although on the 6th floor found the traffic noises and police sirens in the early hours caused a couple of restless nights.
Good value for money at half the normal nightly rate, and was surprised that a hotel of this quality did not provide (half milk) as standard, but did supply it on request.
must applaud the staff who were most helpful in all respects.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear if possible to avoid traffic noise and the revellers going home in the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bob H.,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our customer service.

I am sorry if you were disturbed by the street noise, please note that our rooms have been recently refurbished with improved features such as double glazed sound proofed windows, however; I do understand that we are situated in a convenient and prestigious location on bustling Kensington High Street. We offer a range of room categories with differing sizes and views; including our spacious Garden Room’s which offer another perspective overlooking Kensington Gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
RGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in London
#69 Family Hotel in London
#109 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#132 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.