We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT IN EVERY WAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
Ranked #159 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT IN EVERY WAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel in London for 4 nights in early April 2011.

Everything about the hotel was great...the room, the business centre, the continental breakfast in the hotel, etc...

The room was very clean and modern with plenty of space. The bed was also very comfortable.

My wife enjoyed the fact that she could go run in the parc right next to the hotel (Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park) each morning.

Location was great as well for the Tube (High Street Kensington station) and for our visit to Stamford Bridge for a Chelsea English Premier League match.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Michelle & Marcel
(from Montreal)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    325
    84
    45
    28
See reviews for
172
391
81
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011 via mobile

This hotel will always have one thing going for it - location. Over looking kensington palace gardens and hyde park, being in the centre of London yet being able to kick back and relax only a short walk away from the buzz of the city! I stay here seldomly but when I do I appreciate friendly faces and the personal service especially that of a manager who is truely interested in your experience and listens to you. The rooms are well appointed and clean the only thing that is lacking is an ajoining hotel spa. The hotel has a spa and gym underneath it but lacks one truely in the hotel that is a decent standard. Great staff who easy to deal with and tailor your stay!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Public Relations Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Garden Hotel and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are completely refurbishing our Soma Health Spa in August so hopefully on your next stay you can come and try our new Spa.

Kind regards

Caroline Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Location is very convenient. Hotel is in the middle of renovation with construction currently going on 2 floor 7 days a week which can be noisy. The rooms facing High St Kensington are quite noisy from the street traffic. Hotel is clean, rooms and bathrooms are ok but definitely not 5 star. Internet is a joke: 20 pounds for every 24 hours per gadget and you need to log in via cable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay. We are in the final stages of our refurbishment and majority of the heavy work has now taken place and all of our 394 bedrooms will be fully refurbished shortly.

We do appreciate your feedback regarding the internet connection. We are currently in the process of connection to a much higher capacity line to support the needs of high-bandwidth applications. We are also in the process of upgrading our wireless internet coverage so that the speed of the connection is not limited by signal strength. The new internet connection and wireless system is now in place and we will be reviewing our pricing structure shortly afterwards to hopefully offer more flexible pricing plans for the varied needs of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Took my wife for her birthday to London - Every member of staff from the moment we arrived until we departed, made us most welcome and valued throughout our stay. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable with plenty of space - including the bathroom - which is rare in London. We had the most wonderful dinner experience in the Ming Jiang restaurant - on the top florr of the hotel - strongly recommend the duck carved at the table by the chef ! The view across the park and London was amazing. Breakfast again was delicious with a great variety of fresh food, great coffee and even a chef to cook your eggs exactly as I ordered.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel was in a great setting, close to High Street Kensington station and overlooking Kensington Gardens, adjacent to Hyde park. It was a typical dreary, rainy London day when we checked in. We had just been traveling for the past 7 hours when we finally got to the hotel and checked in. The receptionist ( Gosnia) greeted us nicely enough but didn't even notice we were soaked to the bone OR that it was even raining out. (We mentioned we were tired and miserable, but glad to be there) It was a few minute before 2pm ( our actual check in time) but she said to have a seat and she would let housecleaning know that we needed priority so we could check-in. 45 MINUTES WENT BY! I went to the desk to politely ask when our room would be ready. I thought they might have forgotten about us but seeing how we had all of our bags with us in the lobby it was hard not to notice us! She checked again to see how long it would be but said housecleaning still did not clear a room for us. She offered my husband and I complimentary coffee which we accepted. 45 MINUTES LATER we still found ourselves sitting in the lobby! My husband (who has worked in the service industry for years) finally went to the desk to see what the issue was. The whole time we sat there we saw dozens of people checking in and being taken to their rooms. When he asked why we had to wait there a different receptionist ( Melissa) explained that it was friday and that they were busy!!! (This hotel has 390 rooms!) She finally conceded to the fact that we would not wait any longer and tossed a room key to us. No baggage porter was offered and we were left alone to drag our bags up to the 9th floor by ourselves. When we walked in, the first thing we noticed was that the AC was kicked on full blast. (London that day was in the 20's F.) The view was spectacular & the room was gorgeous but seeing it was so cold we turned up the heat and left to eat/see some sights. When we arrived back at the hotel later that evening the stench that came through the door was like a smack in the face! We found that the drain in the shower was the culprit and housekeeping had blasted the AC to cover the rancid smell. After much debating between ourselves we decided to close the bathroom door and open the window. It was already late and we couldn't afford to stay up waiting another hour or so for them "to open up a room"! (We had an early flight home the next day) Long story short, the room only got worse from there, the walls were paper thin and we heard quite a bit of commotion on all sides. In the morning the smell was so bad we decided to wake as early as possible to just get out!! Upon checking out we explained to Melissa and the other manager(?) that it was absolutely terrible. We then discovered that the room was directly below the chinese restaurant (which probably explained the smell) and right next to the laundry rooms (the noise). The manager just smiled and said "you should have told us and we could have moved you". Knowing that Melissa knew we had waited an hour and a half we explained that it wasn't an option to wait any longer for another room. We felt Melissa put us there in full knowledge of the terrible location and smell all because we had politely asked to not have to wait so long. With out so much as an offer to carry our bags out or offer a taxi to the airport they told us to come back and see them! I have never been so offended by a group of people in A SERVICE INDUSTRY! It was quite a pity b/c the hotel was beautiful and in a great location! I assumed we would get the 5 star treatment from a 5 star hotel but I was sorely disappointed. This was also our anniversary trip and If we hadn't prepaid for the room (months in advanced!) I would have happily gone to The Dorchester instead!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGardenHotelUK, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay with us at the hotel. Apologies you had problems on check in. We were particulary busy on that day and some other guests had different room types allocated so were able to check in when they arrived. If we are made aware of issues re smells in the room we would always look to move you and can only apologise again you had problems with this in your room. We did look to give assistance with your bags but understood this was not required.

We do take our service standards very seriously so can only once again apologise for the problems you encountered.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 nights for a business and leisure. I like it a lot. Next time will stay there again:))

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel twice - in Dec/10 and Jan/11 for a total of five nights on business. I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but I can't really report that I find it to be a 5 star hotel - 4 or at best a 4.5 stars- but in a great location and can offer very good value for central London at below 200 pound prices.

No issues with the front desk on check in or check out. Concierage helped me out once looking for a specific store and eagerly drew directions on a map which after walking around in the rain for 20 min turned out to be wrong - but he tried. A GPS enabled smartphone is the new concierage - except at data roaming prices not a cheap one.

I guess i was put in a Queen both times which i found very small and based on the website dimensions would be about 170 sq ft. The upgraded King and Garden are more closer to 275 sq ft which would be a typical North American basic entry level room Of course this is to be expected in Europe but don't be surprised if you choose the cheapest room looking for value in central London and then after walking in scratch your head wondering where you are going to put your large luggage (as I did). I was told I was put in the recently refurbished rooms but I didn't find them that impressive for a new renovation - nice and modern but not luxurious that you would expect to live up to 5 star standards. If this hotel was in a large American city it would be a 3.5 to 4 star as a Hyatt or Hilton.

Did not eat at the hotel. Lots of restaurant options in the immediate vicinity. I enjoyed walking over to Whole Foods which is 2 min away for a quick and inexpensive breakfast (well below 10 pounds).

Did not enjoy the large circular door at the front entrance which jammed frequently and is quite slow.
Sauna/steamroom adequate but small and a little tired, and used a few times - but did not enjoy having to walk outside and in a separate building.

Beds/bedding no issues and slept well. Both times faced the High Street but did not hear the traffic.

Biggest beef was on the 2nd visit i was put in a room where immediately above it sounded they were jackhammering the floor presumably to redo the tile in the bathroom, which was aggressively loud in the afternoon after checkin. After a day of travelling with flights and trains - believe me, you do not want to sit in your room to try and relax for a few minutes before an evening out, and have it felt like someone has a drill on your head. The front desk promised it would be over shortly, and then it kept going - and then after some back and forth admitted it would be awhile. So dont' tell me it will be over when you have no idea. I can understand it's difficult to run a hotel when you are doing a major refurbishment, but it really is unacceptable to place someone in a room immediately adjacent to aggressively loud activity - block off zones around the construction when it's expected to be loud at that stage. And fill in the front desk a litle more and encourage them not to give out information when they really have no clue.

Overall I would return to this hotel based on the value it offers for the location and getting a rate in the 180-200 range - but it falls a little short on overall room furnishings styling and overall facility for a full 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.