We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but slightly disappoints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gore Hotel to your Saves list
The Gore Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Gourock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great location, but slightly disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at The Gore in April 2010. On the plus side is the location. Its next to the Albert Hall, the V&A, Hyde Park, a short distance from Harrods, the Tube and of course some great bars and restaurants in Kensington. The hotel is ok, a good bar area (and very lively) and the room almost suggested a traditional English/London elegance without actually delivering. The fittings in the room were a bit old, the toilet antiquated; the guest lounge area was not used at all and was some distance from the bar. Retiring to the lounge with a glass of port and some good company did not happen! We thought it expensive for what it was.... but hey, the location - as good as it gets in London!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    275
    83
    42
    14
See reviews for
88
425
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

A city version of the country house hotel. The Gore is a delight and the staff are friendly, curteous and attentive. The food was excellent and the English breakfast was the best I have ever had in England. It's not cheap but it is value for money and as near as a home from home as you can get in London.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Staff is very friendly, my kids had a great stay (5 and 7 years). Food is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I didn't stay at the hotel, as I live in London, but we organized a function there and I can only recommend it! It is not cheap but the setting is classy, staff are very helpful and if you are looking for a place to impress your guests in London as well as having good time, this is the one for you.
Michael

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We recently had a last minute request from one of our clients to find a number of bedrooms in Central at a "nice" hotel.. After trying a number of mainstream properties we came across The Gore and so glad we did! Fantastic booking procedure, with excellent customer services - the hotel couldn't be more accommodating.

I personally didn't have the privilege to stay, however one of my clients came back to me to say “The Gore is a spectacular nice hotel! Overwhelming as a matter of fact. The food is 4 stars, the library with tea, coffee and soft drinks all day is amazing, and everything is very well done.”

A huge thanks to all the The Gore for making their stay so comfortable, and we'll certainly be booking more bedrooms in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Stayed here Tuesday night (13/04/10) at very short notice as on a whim decided to go to Murano restaurant and needed somewhere to stay in town. (If you are interested check out my review of the tasting menu)
Checked out Travel supermarket and this hotel ticked my boxes with regard to quality, rating and price etc. Checked out Trip advisor and it seemed to be good. Got a fair deal I think, paid bit less than the hotel website, but it included breakfast so that was good.

On arrival greeted by very friendly staff and shown around. The hotel lobby is small but very stylish and it feels like you are in a private house. (useless fact: was the Turkish Embassy until 1960 when it was transformed into the Gore. Apparently the hotel is used frequently for TV dramas, the rooms are stunning and attention to detail/period features is obvious)
We were a little early for our room but were seated in the lounge which is beautifully decorated. The drinks here are complimentary all day – nice touch, although we were slightly disappointed their Nespresso machine was out of order…:( We were then taken to our room which was at the top of the hotel on floor 5. The lift only goes to 4 so it was would be a bit awkward if you have lots of luggage with winding stairs as you have to walk the rest of the way. No problem, but maybe if you have issues with climbing stairs.

Our room was very sweet, but quite pokey, as was in the eaves. It had a four poster bed which was only a double and seemed very small. Not a lot of space either side of the bed and not much room to store anything, there was a very small desk with a mirror over it, and few pugs, it was cramped when the two of us were trying to get ready to go out. The room was also quite dark despite having windows on either side and quiet hot especially during the night. Marble bathroom was lovely, especially the raised throne like toilet that my boyf found most hilarious..!(?)

Couple of issues, nothing major: the main mirror in the bathroom was over the toilet which is odd, with a small shaving mirror over the sink, so not great for applying makeup when I was trying to get out of the way. Also the shower over the bath was quite powerful and as usual the shower screen was next to useless so water everywhere. Anyway nothing serious to moan about. (Ooo lovely complimentary chocolates that evening.)

We had one rather expensive drink (about usual for London) in the bar whilst waiting for our cab that evening. The bar looked pleasant enough but we were only in and out.

Didn’t have a great night’s sleep, bed was soft and we did feel squashed together, it was very hot too despite having both windows wide open and unfortunately the premises across the street from out room was being renovated and the building work started at 7.30am. No fault of the hotel, but we had to have fresh air and the work was very noisy. Breakfast was delicious and the room again like stepping back in time.
No free wifi, but there was a computer with free internet and printer on floor 3.

To sum up, lovely period hotel, beautifully decorated and maintained, good service and friendly efficient staff. Would definitely go back, but would request a lower floor. Maybe the internet bookers get the smaller rooms?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I love The Gore once I'm settled in! When I arrive, I'm usually jet-lagged and a bit tired from the walk from the South Kensington Tube. The greeting is helpful but not as solicitous as I would like. Upon signing in, there is a sense of adventure as in where is my room this time - up which staircase, down which corridor?! Even with the tiny elevator, there is a bit of a walk down a hallway, as if you might have to leave a breadcrumb trail.

Once in the room, it's a big sigh of relief as if I'm never going to leave it: comfy bed, feather pillows, big bathroom with big tub & fluffy bathrobes, antique desk, small leather couch. The TV is small but nice - unobtrusive. There's an umbrella in the closet, a small mini-bar with essentials. This last visit, I had big windows overlooking Queensgate in Room 213. Couldn't have been happier.

So what would I change? Well, the carpet for one - around the door, it just looks as if it'll never come truly clean. The hallway carpet is a tired emerald green. An airing out of the room b4 my arrival for another - I ended up using the nice little lavender spray and then opening the window for a bit once the weather cleared. And a pick-up or call-back from Room Service that first night would have been lovely. (Note - I would have put these comments in the guest survey but there is no room for comments.)

That said, I highly recommend The Gore if you like small hotels (which I do) in a great location with reasonable rates (relative to London). It's old without feeling ancient and quite comfy once you're settled. It's in a nice neighborhood and close to Kensington park as well as the South Kensington Tube Station and the museums (Natural History, V&A). Trevor, the Concierge, is super helpful - probably the hardest working person there. Seek him out for tickets & advice.

The restaurant is good for both breakfast and dinner. The staff could be a bit more solicitous & timely but the food and setting are lovely. I haven't ventured into the bar (yet).

Also, they have wireless (for a fee). I just use the free computer/printer on the 2nd floor landing to do online check-in and make sure my email inbox isn't too crazy.

Check their web site for special rates. I always seem to be there on a weekend so have done well using their site directly. I also check Dukes and The Stafford (in St James Park area) but The Gore is much less expensive. Once I'm settled in, I'm happy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in London
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gore Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.