We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gore Hotel to your Saves list
The Gore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights with work, my first visit to The Gore having stayed in most of the better hotels in S Kensington this summer.
Work had booked me into a single room which was on the small side but had a nice sized bathroom. Furnishings were good quality, but the TV was too small and of poor quality - my kids have better ones in their bedrooms! The window looked onto next door 3 meters away, and there was not even a view.
Buffet breakfast was very good quality and plentiful.
I ate in the restaurant on 1 evening and the food was also very good but pricey. I also ate room service and whilst the food was good and reasonably priced the choice of evening meals was shocking - the worst range I've ever experienced in a top hotel. When I queried this with the room service staff I was effectively told "that's it, tough!".
So what could have been a rare 5/5 review from me was spoiled by the room service (lack of), view (lack of) and TV (poor).

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    308
    91
    44
    15
See reviews for
101
482
54
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It was our 2nd time visiting London, and we chose The Gore as our base. We love the area of this hotel as it is right across Kensington garden, and not a long walk to visit all the museums. High Street Kensington station is not very far. We had a couple of meals here from breakfast to dinner. The foods were great and staffs were friendly. FO staffs were very friendly and professional. They assisted us in some occasion and everything went well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Small hotel with much character. Rooms individualized. No tissue in bathroom (why ??) Service at breakfast very slow and indifferent, and bacon hardly cooked ! Some staff very pleasant and helpful, but NOT all !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We returned to the Gore last month and still love it! Our room was charming and the location is fantastic. We really loved having the library available to hang out with our London friends, meet up for a tea and a chat. It's a great amenity. I know my husband wished the bar had draft beer, so needless to say, we didn't spend too much time in there. Plus it was pretty quiet, we were the only patrons most of the time. But it's so gorgeous!

We brought our friend to The Gore as well and I have to agree with her that charging extra for the internet is a colossal drag! Just add it to the price of the room, if you need to. It's so passe to charge for this anymore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich CT
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This has been our dream to stay at The Gore for many years. For our 33 year anniversary, we made it! Our room was very small but wonderfully filled with history as well as modern conveniences. The location is the best for us, next to the Royal Albert Hall and opening night of the ballet Romeo and Juliet. Also, just across the street was the London Antique Show. I'd you want a larger spacious room, be prepared to pay top dollar or try a more modern hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrewas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We only stopped 1 night, but would have liked to have stayed longer. It was our 1st stay at the Gore & was chosen by us due to its close proximity to the Royal Albert Hall (having previously stayed further afield & got incredibly wet trying to get taxi's from outside after concerts). We certainly hope to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked The Gore for last Friday on recommendation from the Royal Albert Hall as we were attending a concert there. My booking was for a "Wonderful Twin Room' on a bed and breakfast rate of £285. As promised it was very handy for the concert. The staff were warm and friendly and the food in their Bistro 190 was very good. Unfortunately my Wonderful Twin turned out to be a double and when I said there must be some mistake I was told that the rather dilapidated leather sofa also turned out into a sofa bed. My mistake was in accepting this. I should have made a fuss and asked for proper twin beds but being quite an easy going sort of person I said I'd give it a shot...big mistake. Hideously uncomfortable night. I e-mailed the manager when we got home on Saturday and had hoped for some sort of explanation but so far no reply. Also worth noting that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the TV was pretty old and didn't have the usual radio or red button facilites. All things I would expect for this kind of price. Also, although I asked by e-mail for a booking in the Bistro for 6pm when we got there it hadn't been made and they were fully booked. Fortunately the bistro is open all day so the best they could do for us was a very early dinner at 4pm so we didn't starve. In retrospect it was the staff who saved the day, if they hadn't been so kind and cheery this would all have been a disaster which would have been a great pity because it was a special night out for my husband and me.

Room Tip: Avoid 302 with the dodgy sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in London
#150 Luxury Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.