We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne breakfast - December 2012 stay in Gore Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gore Hotel to your Saves list
The Gore Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Champagne breakfast - December 2012 stay in Gore Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a very special breakfast served by friendly and helpful staff members. Fresh strawberries and nicely chilled champagne and quality smoked salmon. mmmm. On a special occasion.
Lovely old hotel with attentive staff. Well looked after and would definitely return. Short walk from hyde park and the museums.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    275
    83
    42
    14
See reviews for
88
425
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went for one overnight stop on a business meeting held at the same hotel. Lovely venue, although suffers from quirky (older) plumbing and architecture but not bad in any way. Lovely bar, especially the private seat area! Internet charged by the minute is a bit steep though, flat rate would be better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had been recommended to stay at the Gore as it was adjacent to a function we were attending nearby, and as regards location the Gore is excellent for Imperial College (my old alma mater), the Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens and the museums but the hotel really is an upmarket guest house.

A word of warning now - DO NOT TAKE ROOMS ON THE 5TH FLOOR - the lift only goes to the 4th floor and the way to the fifth involves the utilizing the "servants stairs" to the garrets. The room we had - described as a "wonderful room" on the hotel's website - was in fact a tiny garret with sloping ceilings. A suitcase on the floor became a major hazard to negotiate getting around the bed. Now the room was nicely decorated but TINY as was the computer monitor doubling as the TV. Internet expensive and slow. Bathroom also tiny and you needed a contortionists skills to use the loo. Maybe for a child's room but for a couple the room was a joke.

To be honest the entire stay was pretty awful due to the tiny room and the fact that the next morning there was no cold water thus preventing a shower. Although the staff were helpful and friendly and the English breakfast pretty good, it is not an experience I would want to repeat or recommend to anybody. For the money there are much better hotels in this part of London.

Sorry but this is a "not again" from me.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had the wonderul fortune to stay one night at the Gore Hotel recently and to also attend a private dining Christmas lunch/party. From the moment I arrived, the wonderful staff made my visit as enjoyable and comfortable as I could be..
It is a beautiful building, and the bar and our dining room (The tapestry room) was a fabulous backdrop to our party.
The food, wine, and again, the service was exemplary.
My husband and I stayed in a very romantic room and the room service breakfast the next day was delicious and comforting.
We would definitely stay again and recommend it to our friends.
It is in a prime position in London, next to Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall and the museums etc.
Thank you to the Gore for a great pre-Christmas experience
Liane Carroll

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Germain-en-Laye, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Gore a number of times.
They have fantastic staff who is always happy to help and accommodate.
Great location, very handy for concerts at the Royal Albert Hall and walks in Hyde Park; close to South Kensington Station.
The rooms are absolutely fabulous, romantic, spacious, very clean and quiet, nicely decorated and furnished with great old wooden four poster beds (i.e. Judy Garland, Miss Fanny and many others) with all modern amenities and very nice large bathrooms.
I would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I just love it! It is a haven away from the hussle and bussle of the city. The staff are wonderful too.

The rooms have great quality bedlinen and comfortable beds. The bar is very atmospheric and cosy.

All in all a great stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well we had been looking forward to staying at The Gore and first impressions were good. Trevor the chap on reception was incredibly helpful. But as soon as the door was closed on the room things started to go wrong. We had asked for a bottle of Tattinger in the room and we had a much cheaper cousin instead. This could be put down to an error and very simple to make and to rectify but it seemed thereafter everything had corners cut. There were no coffee facilities in the room and no complimentary water there was no turning the bed down and a really cold overlooked dinner and breakfast. I sent my breakfast back for hard poached eggs and it re-emerged with the eggs clearly scraped off the plate and two new ones on there whilst the remaining plate bubbled with all the symptoms of a turn in the microwave. There is a beautiful coffee machine in the breakfast room but someone needs to be employed who can use it.

If you have a hotel that falls into this level of luxury category then you should have attention to detail and this was what was sadly lacking from the whole experience.

So on checking out I was asked how was your stay - I could honestly answer the room was lovely - but unfortunately that was all that was lovely... Apart from Trevor every hotel should have a Trevor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Family Hotel in London
#186 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gore Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.