We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS NOT A HOTEL FOR TOURISTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gore Hotel to your Saves list
The Gore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THIS IS NOT A HOTEL FOR TOURISTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

After securing a week's stay, nearly EVERY amenity was stripped from us. They had the only room that one can sit and relax or have tea, closed for parties, weddings, conventions....loud, not restful. On top of that, the place was wet with fresh paint, workers everywhere....the rooms small, service kind of cold as English did not seem A language they had control of, you had to pay for Internet, one small elevator ---slow and jammed with service deliveries of bags. we come to London a lot and stay at many small hotels....this one has LOST HER CHARM!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    308
    91
    44
    15
See reviews for
101
482
54
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked for one night only to be near The Royal Albert hall for a concert.
Hotel is very charming and pretty, staff are very pleasant and helpful, location is truly superb.
However:
The "queen" rooms (which are their lowest rate "standard" rooms) are small... and i mean very small. you have to squeeze past the bed sideways to get to the window side of it. There are no chest of drawers and only one tiny cupboard. The bathroom is so small you couldnt swing a cat (or a mouse or a flea). I could touch both side walls at the same time easily (and i'm not a tall person with long arms). We were originally in room 110 (where the lock of the bathroom sticks out so you catch your clothes on it coming out which damaged my cardigan and my daughters trousers). When coming back from the concert we ended up changing rooms as room 110 is straight over the bar where there was very loud music. We could have had a disco in our room as the music was so loud (if there had been enough space however). The hotel didnt cause any problems with this (luckily there was a free room left) and that resolved the noise issue. The new room 311 (also a "queen") seemed to be slightly larger (at least we could get past the bed without turning sideways and shuffling) but the bathroom door didnt shut. however: since the bathroom was so small you could sit on the toilet and by straightening your leg you could block the door shut !!
during the room transfer a group of us were stuck in the lift... going from floor to floor without the door managing to open... our fellow travellers in this said they had had the same the previous day as well.... a bit scary as the lift is very small and i'm slightly claustrophobic
We used the bar downstairs which is wonderful and full of character (though they could do with some more decent chairs) and the food we had there was great. After the concert we used the restaurant which was actually a disappointment. Fancy menu which didnt deliver on taste and you had to pay extra for vegetables etc.... portion sizes were small...
All in all? quaint and charming, brilliant location, queen rooms ONLY to be used for short stays!!!

Room Tip: Only take a "queen" room for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Spain, Italy, France, Germany,Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

WOW! A step back in time. What a beautiful maintained relic to the victriana era a beautiful quirky hotel with all the modern cons of a luxury hideaway
. Tucked in a tree lined avenue this little gem is so regal, I felt like royalty from the moement I walked in to the moment iI left. A great trendy modern bar serving amazing drinks in a relaxed and hip atmosphere. The bedroom had all the grandure of royalty but with all mod, cons, LCD TV -DVD inroom refreshments and a safe. (Amazing showers) Penhalagan products.

This hotel is a discreet well run haven in the hear of London.

Thank you

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We chose South Kensington because we were visiting our son who was attending school in the area. Again, this hotel was one of Fodor's choices and we weren't disappointed! The neighborhood is fabulous - sandwiched between Hyde Park and great museums. We walked to Notting Hill and Portobello Road passing hundreds of great shops and windows on a balmy fall Sunday afternoon. Our room was a bit small for the price, but well appointed as was the lobby and the very charming great room. Fabulous coffee or tea any time of day there. The restaurant and bar add great ambiance to the place as well - we didn't dine but had after dinner drinks in the bar and enjoyed the crowd immensely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel was chosen as was perfectly positioned for visiting the V&A and National History Museum. The hotel was very well presented, cosy and tastefully furbished. The twin room (304) was a little on the small side but again, perfectly presented and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with a shower over the bath and benefitted from a window.
The only negative aspect of the stay was the check in. We arrived at 3.45pm and were informed that due to staff shortages the room wasn't ready. There seemed to be no urgency and were casually informed that it would be around a 30 minute wait. As there seemed no urgency to prepare the room and no offer of a coffee whilst it was sorted out, we left our bags and decided to out for some refreshments. The communication between the front desk and house keeping seemed a little problematic and on our return at 6.00pm, we had to wait again whilst another call had to be made to house keeping with regards to the 'status' of the room!
Back to the positive, breakfast was great and we were attended by a friendly waiter who was attentive and very efficient. The food was good and prepared to order.
Overall a great stay and the blip at check in, well I feel we were just a little unlucky on the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

we chose the Gore for its close proximity to the Royal Albert Hall which is just 5 min walk away. Arrived at 1pm and were delighted to find our rooms were ready. Reception staff efficient and friendly. As the hotel has no parking, we used the NCP under the Royal Garden Hotel (10 minute walk/expensive £30 per 24 hrs).
We booked 2 rooms both described as "Wonderful" - smallish but quaint. Clean throughout.
Penhaligans bathroom products along with bath-robes,slippers,iron and ironing board.
Disappointed there were no tea/coffee making facilities though these were available in the residents lounge at no extra cost.
Radiators off and rooms very cold - when turned on, worked in one room but not in the other.Also the duvets were summer weight - not warm enough for December!
Hotel bar excellent - lively/buzzing and open to non-residents - very popular. Drinks expensive but no more than most London hotel bars.
Hotel restaurant - value for money on fixed price menu ie £21/ 2 courses. £23.75/3 courses.
Breakfast - continental included in room price - cooked breakfast available at extra cost.
Hotel very atmospheric - Victorian style which is appropiate for the area.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Lifts only to 4th floor - stairs to 5th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel has the services of a large luxury hotel but the feeling of a home. We stayed here in October and November and enjoyed the quiet of Kensington while being close to everything. We were in London in July and had rented and apartment but knew we would be returning in the Fall for a shorter stay and preferred a hotel. We went to The Gore and Harry spent an hour showing us around and telling us about each room available. The service began before we even committed to stay there! When we returned in October The service standards continued. Not only did we enjoy the staff on the following visits we became friendly . We now consider The Gore a home away from home and it is a key factor in planning another trip. When deciding where to go next we look to London because The Gore was so great. Tomaz and Trevor at the concierge desk made wonderful and unusual suggestions and arranged everything for us. It was a perfect hotel and experience.We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in London
#150 Luxury Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London
The Gore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.