We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five-Carat Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 33% OFF!
Ranked #3 of 1,055 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Five-Carat Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

With tentative expectations for The Milestone, we were absolutely blown away by the boutique oasis. The attention to detail given by every single member of the Milestone's staff never ceased. The moment we were delivered by our driver, I knew that this was going to be special. As the doorman greeted me, he requested my name and he never failed to use our name when addressing us. We were greeted by reception and quickly escorted to our beautifully appointed guest room suite. Every single detail was considered for our junior suite. We were even provided with business cards that included our name. To add to our wonderful experience, the hotel has an amazing restaurant and parlor for proper English tea. The restaurant, Cheneston's, has a wonderful menu, outstanding food quality and service without pretentiousness. I will not mention any names in this review because I am sure someone would be missed. The staff should be the envy of any hotel. Sincere thanks to everyone at The Milestone that made our visit to London so very special. The Littletons

Room Tip: I sincerely believe there is nothing but wonderful guest rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Milestone has an environmentally-friendly program.
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    99
    32
    3
    1
See reviews for
325
585
69
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

An excellent hotel with all the amenities with a great location across the street from Kensington Park and Palace. Also, close to the tube making it easy to get around.
The room at the hotel was good sized and very clean. Every day we found little gifts like tea and candy. We had breakfast included with our stay and we were able to either have room service or go to the dining room. The entire staff at the hotel seemed to try to go out of their way to be helpful, but we really want to thank the concierges Andrea and Jose who we're always very helpful and had great personalities. We would like to go back to London and we would definitely stay at the Milestone.

Room Tip: Gets room overlooking Kennsington Park
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is eco friendly. They have both a towel and linen reuse program.
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After spending two weeks traveling through England, Wales, Spain and Belgium, we decided to add three days in London. A friend recently stayed at the Milestone and gave it high marks, so we decided to walk in and see if there were any available rooms. We were greeted at the reception by a very helpful young woman who did an excellent job fitting us with the right room. After collecting our baggage, we were given a nice tour of the property ending in our room. I wont say the room number...but we think we got the best room in the hotel. Without too much detail, this hotel could do no wrong. The service: exceptional, the room: better than being at home, the food: some of the best we ate on the whole trip (they even were able to have menus specific for my wife's allergies). From the time we walked in, to the time we left, we felt like we were the hotel's top VIPs. After being home for a week, we were already planning on when we would return to London,,,and stay at the Milestone.

Room Tip: Reception will tailor the best room for you...trust them.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has posted it's Green practices.It is apparent they don't cut costs, yet are procedural and economic in their practice.
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great location so walking was was a good option to several areas.
The staff goes above and beyond to make the guests feel like family.
The staff handled everything with sincerity and professionalism.
The restaurants are amazing, food is exceptional and the decor so inviting.
The room where afternoon tea was served was attractive and comfortable, the food was more than sufficient in quantity, was wide in variety, and was very good in quality, the tea remained at the right temperature, and the service was excellent.
The rooms are comfortable and each one is uniquely decorated in styles that make you want to visit all of them.
I highly recommend over nighting at The Milestone Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I found this hotel purely by chance some years ago when attending an event at the Royal Albert Hall and having suffered grievously from the dire accommodation and non-existent service of an hotel much closer to the venue. I have never looked back and stay at this place for both business and pleasure trips to London. The staff are excellent, without exception, the bar is quirky and comfortable, the rooms are havens of respite and the food very good (the menu being underpinned by some long standing favourites of the founder).

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The reason I pick Milestone because it is great old hotel. I was there for 3 night and couldn't have gone better. The room was so good and comfy, the staffs were very helpful 24/7. Me and my mom particular like the bar and the cocktails there were amazing. I will stay here again when i back

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time in London and our stay at the Milestone could not have gone better. The staff were so cordial and accommodating from our arrival and throughout our stay. We particularly enjoyed our room and hight tea. We also were served very well in their bar. We would highly recommend this hotel and staff. We will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I was thrilled that we met your expectations on your first visit to The Milestone Hotel. I was very pleased that you got to try our brilliant Afternoon Tea and that you enjoyed the facilities of the room we allocated you. I have passed on your feedback to my team ands we all hope that you will come back and stay again soon. My best wishes, Andrew Pike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,055 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,925 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,055 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#8 of 1,055 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,055 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#9 Green Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.