We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic amazing dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #2 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Romantic amazing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We dined at the Cheneston's (Kensington in old English as we learnt from the intro to the restaurant printed on the menu) gastronomic restaurant. The excellence of the service is remarkable as is the attention to detail in the surroundings as well as the food and drinks. The food was fabulous and the atmosphere even though luxurious is so cosy it is heart warming. We were overall enchanted!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I was delighted to read about your dining experience at The Milestone Hotel. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your meal and the surroundings. We look forward to your next visit. I have passed on your kind words to the Food & Beverage team.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    87
    31
    1
    0
See reviews for
290
547
66
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was attracted to staying at this hotel. It's location and its fantastic rating on Trip Advisor clinched the decision.
Fresh from staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Paris, it seemed the perfect choice, living up to its high status on Trip Advisor. The hotel was extensively renovated and modernized internally after a severe fire caused extensive damage more than 10 years ago. The service staff from the receptionist to the doormen to the concierge were fabulous.
Rooms were small but given much thought in their layout to maximize functionality. Bathrooms were spacious but a little cold and the shower layout could have been better as the spray volume from the fixed overhead shower was inadequate to keep a person warm while showering. Bathroom heating, or better still, underfloor heating would have been great.
Still, this would not have detracted from the stay if not for an unpleasant encounter on check out.
My wife and I had our only in house breakfast on our last day. A la carte was not available so I decided on the full English breakfast for myself. My wife had a coffee and shared my cooked breakfast of eggs and bacon. She did not help herself to the continental buffet, which was clearly obvious to the waiter. On check out I was presented a breakfast bill of 26 pounds for my breakfast and 18 pounds for continental breakfast for my wife. When I questioned the bill the receptionist passed the matter to the floor manager, who instead of apologizing for the mistake, questioned me on how many persons were at breakfast. I could sense a certain disbelief but he directed the receptionist to correct the bill. No apology was given.
I am not used to having my credubility questioned, certainly not over a breakfast bill at the top rated hotel on Trip Advisor. This matter smeared what would otherwise have been a wonderful experience in London. I will not be staying at this hotel anymore and trust that they will take steps to prevent this mistake from being inflicted on future guests of theirs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. I am delighted to note that you felt that you were looked after by our team in general very well and this is absolutely central to our service ethos.
I have noted that you found our bathroom cold and the shower pressure could have been stronger. We will of course take this on board as we take the opportunity to refurbish our rooms.
Whilst we do not have under floor heating in the bathrooms, we tend to find that the bedroom Air Conditioning units do help provide some background heat. We have noted this though and I'm sure that we could find a room that would work better for your needs here.
I am most concerned about your experience ar departure . We provide as standard a full A la Carte breakfast choice which is supplemented by our breakfast buffet and this most definitely should have been available to you both. Please accept my sincere apologies that we slipped up with your bill initially and whilst I understand we corrected our mistake we most certainly should have apologized immediately. Please rest assured that this has been followed up with my team and I would like to send you a separate private email to reinforce this. I very much hope that I can persuade you to consider trying us once more.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came to London to visit some friends from Brighton, we did not intend to stay, after lunch we decided to go get a hotel and stay a night,
we randomly ended up in knightsbridge after driving around a bit and parked the car and walked into the nearest hotel which was the Milestone, upon arrival our bags were taken and the door was opened for us.

we asked for a room and as we had not booked we had to wait for a room to be made for us. during this time we were escorted into the most amazing bar, it was very cosy and had an equestrian theme! we were given nibbles and a glass of champagne on the house, (the best champagne I've ever had) our bags were taken to our room and then we went up.

The room was lovely! the deco was so homely, it was extremely clean!
we decided to have dinner at the restaurant downstairs, the food was absolutely fabulous ! and it was well priced. the atmosphere was very romantic and i had a lovely time !!
this is one of my favourite hotels of all time !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I was so glad to read that you found The Milestone Hotel by chance and most importantly you had a memorable stay. I have passed on your kind words to my great team and please do come again to stay when I am sure once again we will meet your expecations.
My best regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Perfect, perfect rooms, entrance hall, the staff are so friendly yet not overbearing, upon a random arrival- we hadn't even booked we just drove up to the entrance we relieved of our bags and before you know it drinking a couple of glasses of Guy Cadel champagne - one of the best tasting house bottles I've had ! Had a great dinner also , would love to come back and visit !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I was so glad that you enjoyed your recent unexpected stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was glad that you found us and that you managed to try all of the facilities we offer. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed our house Champagne. Please do come and stay with us again soon.
Kind reagrds,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my fourth visit to the Milestone in 15 years. I wish I could visit several times a year, but I am not called to London often enough and my bank book cannot support my penchant for this sort of luxury. My most recent stay was in mid-November, and I admit I left feeling that I could live here. Not just in London, although that appeals, too, but no: I could easily live in the elegant cocoon of the Milestone where my every want and need are anticipated and filled.

From the moment you pull up in front of the hotel, you feel welcome. The staff are friendly but quietly understated. After the butler shows you to the room, tea is offered. How very civilized on a chilly London day!

Part of the Milestone's considerable charm is that it is just quirky enough to be authentic, and it is very English. A cocktail in the Stables bar includes a plate of finger food—sandwiches, cheese sticks, olives, crackers—that comes without your bidding. Whatever is done here is done with style and panache. I took breakfast regularly at Cheneston's, where wait staff make sure everything is to your liking. While London life begins to unfolds just outside your window, you can flip through the London Times that was delivered to your room before you woke. What better send-off into a gnarly business day than a Milestone breakfast!

The hotel is conveniently located in Kensington near the Royal Albert Hall and just across from Kensington Gardens, where you can pop in for a few laps through Hyde Park. The park’s attraction is not to be minimized; during my stay, the leaves had turned and shimmered in the November sunlight, turning the view from the Milestone into the perfect pastoral portrait, albeit in the heart of the city.

Whatever your expectations of five-star accommodations, the Milestone will exceed them. Even one night there will impress, but my recommendation comes with the warning that you may not want to leave. Make sure you can afford to stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: There is no bad room here, but I would ask for one that overlooks the street for the maximum London...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was so glad that even on your 4th stay with us we still met your expectations. I was glad that you managed to use most of the facilities.I have passed on your kind words to the team and please do come back and stay with us for a 5th time soon.
My best wishes,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We're not usually big on boutique hotels but this one is exceptional. Service really sets them apart, and it is attentive and friendly from beginning to end. The decor is very traditionally British, but renovated and well-maintained throughout. We had been upgraded to a park view room, though the view was obscured by the lovely (from the outside) Christmas decorations. The staff is terrific, and addresses you by name very quickly. The food at Chennestons is wonderful, and there are a number of other restaurants easily accessible nearby.

If you're visiting London for the first time keep in mind that while the Milestone is convenient to Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens and Knightsbridge, it is not as walkable to the big sites in Westminster as the hotels in that Park Lane area. However, the area is quieter and in my view far more pleasant, and all the traditional tourist sites are an easy Tube stop or bus ride away (a piece of advice for anyone visiting London is to pick up an Oyster card at any tube stop - it makes getting around a cinch).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Milestone hotel. I was delighted that we met your expectations and as you say it is the staff who make the Milestone that extra bit special and I have passesd your feedback on to them.
Please do join us again in the near future.
My best wishes,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at the Milestone three years ago. Last night we were even luckier to stay the night. We had the Kensington Palace room, appropriately overlooking Kensington Gardens and onto the Palace. The room was walled silk, thick damask type eiderdown, fluffy duvet, penhaglion toiletries, fruit and complimentary biscuits. Knowing it was our wedding anniversary, they complemented all the above with congratulation cards, a bottle of champagne, strawberries dipped in chocolate and the final icing on the cake was returning to the room after dinner to find we had suddenly arrived in candle-land. What seemed like hundreds of candles decorating the room, with equally hundreds of rose petals adorning the bed, and leading to the bathroom. Unexpected extras like this are what makes the Milestone stand out. It's already a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, but one day it might make Leader of the Leading Hotels of the World! Try it for yourself and see. Indulge. And experience the difference.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated and each one is beautiful. It won't matter whether you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind review following your recent stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was so happy to read that we met your expectations once again and that you really did enjoy this special anniversary stay with us. Please do come back and stay again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#2 Family Hotel in London
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.