We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #3 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Loved my stay at this hotel, everything was to an extremely high standard and I can't wait to make my next booking. The rooms are just perfect and although I was in and out on business throughout my stay I couldn't wait to get back each time i left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expectations and that you cannot wait to come back and see us soon. We look forward to ensuring you have another great stay.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    83
    31
    1
    0
See reviews for
261
517
60
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Milestone for the first time. It was an incredible experience from the moment we checked in. The staff is exceptional, and our stay couldn't have been better. This is a special place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I was delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was so happy to read your kind words and that you really did enjoy the great service and facilities we are all so proud of. Please do come back and see us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is by far one of the best small hotels that we have ever visited. From the moment you check-in you are treated as a special guest. We were given a tour of the facilities, taken to the room and shortly thereafter a welcome drink arrived. A fruit platter was already in the room and all items requested prior to arrival (i.e.a pants press) were waiting. We were on the breakfast plan and the selections left nothing to be desired. We took advantage of the dinner option for each two nights of your stay and were allowed to utilize a credit of 25 pounds per person off the regular menu instead of using the fixed menu. The food was fabulous! Now a few words about the staff. There is nothing that you want that they cannot handle. From the front desk through the concierge, maitre'd and wait staff the professionalism is outstanding. It truly is a Leading Small Hotel of the World. We will certainly seek out a Red Carnation property on our next trip.

Room Tip: Upper floors towards the back as the street is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at The Milestone Hotel. I am so happy that my fantastic team ensured we met your expectations. I have already passed on your kind words to them. Please do come back and see us again soon.
My kindest regards
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our third stay at the Milestone this year - following a recommendation by a friend when we were going to an event at the Royal Albert Hall in March. We no longer wait for an excuse to stay here, such as going to an event in London - staying at the Milestone is an event in itself. There are so many things to praise at this hotel that it's difficult to know where to start. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, as well as being so comfortable you don't want to leave them. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order (my husband hates buffets) and most definitely worth the short wait. Bathrooms have everything you could possibly want, including loads of unbelievably fluffy, soft towels, high quality Penhaligon toiletries and the best make up/shaving mirror I have ever seen - one of these days I will remember to ask the make. The turn down service makes the room even more inviting and the beds are so comfortable, with bed linen that is so good I never want to get up. However, the really huge difference at the Milestone is the staff. It's like coming to stay with old friends who are so happy to welcome you back and somehow remember every little quirk and preference you have ever mentioned to them. They just can't do enough to make your stay the perfect experience - carry the bags, park the car, show you to your room, give directions to anywhere in London, not to mention offering a welcome glass of champagne (or cup of tea or coffee if you prefer). As you may have realised - I can't wait to go back and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I was so happy to read your kind feedback following your recnet stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. Firstly I have passed on your very kind words to my team this morning. Secondly I was so glad to read your kind words and that we met all of your expectations. I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We asked for rooms on an upper floor and away from "the lift." Our rooms were well-appointed and very quiet- we slept soundly every night. The hotel demonstrated a keen attention to detail in every respect. From the friendly greetings of the staff each morning, to the treats placed on our beds at night, we always felt welcome. The hotel itself is beautiful and historic, and has a lovely view of Kensington Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, facilities and most importantly the smaller details that set us apart from other hotels. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Milestone Hotel is excellent in providing warm service and comfortable surrounds, leaving you wishing it was your home away from home. It feels distinctively British throughout the hotel, which is appropriate when you're staying in the heart of London.

Being centrally located, you get the best of everything during your stay. Step out and look ahead to see the impressive Kensington Gardens, look to the left to find shops accompanied by the hustle and bustle, and look to the right to spot the quieter part of town. It's a good area, and you will feel at ease walking around it.

You might notice a few complaints here about the size of the rooms, but we felt it was adequate given the context of staying in a heritage building in the city. After all, you wouldn't complain about tight spaces if you were flying business class. The room itself was impeccable, and we were especially pleased with the housekeeping side of it. They took care of our room like it was their own, and were very friendly.

We added the 'get more from your stay' package to our accommodation which included breakfast and a complimentary 3-course dinner at their restaurant Cheneston's. It was well worth it. The food was fantastic, and the range of choice on the a la carte breakfast menu made sure we always made it to breakfast.

There's an emphasis on detail here, and you see it in little things like the weather forecast being placed at your bedside or how your toast is presented on a neat little tray. This level of service is rarely seen in 5-star establishments.

In the huge 5-star arena, not many hotels can boast such a display of heritage, personalized service and attention to detail. The Milestone Hotel is an exceptional boutique hotel, and also a great beacon of English heritage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all aspects of your stay met your expectations. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team at the hotel who I am sure appreciate your feedback.
many thanks
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment you arrive you know you are someplace special. The entire staff is kind, efficient, knowledgeable and have impeccable manners. Afternoon tea in the library is a real treat as is a classic cocktail served in the intimate equestrian-themed bar. Rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and beautifully appointed. We stay here whenever in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I was so happy to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was delighted that we, once again, met your expectations especially with our fantastic Afternoon Tea and the facilities we offer. It is this service that also makes The Milestone one of the best hotels and the team I have that deliver it. I have passed on your comments to them already. I hope that you will come and stay with us once again in the near future.
My best regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#4 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.