We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Milestone is doing everything right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #2 of 1,050 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Milestone is doing everything right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was delighted to see The Milestone's recent inclusion in Tripadvisor's top 25 hotels in the world. From our experience, this beautiful boutique hotel deserves all the accolades it is getting. My husband and I, and two small dogs, stayed at the Milestone in September during our relocation to London. We were charmed from the outset, and every aspect of the hotel -- the cozy, comfortable bar, the gracious reception and dining rooms, the attentive service, and signature room details, only enhanced our sense of being "home." Since then, we've stayed at two other Red Carnation properties, the Summer Lodge, and the Old Government House on Guernsey: both are superb. Not many hotels make you feel this at ease, and eager to return, as the Milestone does.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I was absolutely thrilled to read your feedback following your stay with us and also thank you for taking the time to do this. I was so happy that we contributed to you all comfortably settling in London. I have passed on your kind words to all the team here and please do come and see us soon. I was also happy to read that you visited our fantastic sister properties and they too met your expectations.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    87
    31
    1
    0
See reviews for
293
556
66
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago for a few days.It was a lovely hotel,nice and small and friendly.
Very expensive though.It was in a nice spot near the park.the service could not be faulted,but the room was very small with not a good outlook.

Room Tip: Our room was very small and crowded but I am sure they have larger ones we did not bother to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I was delighted that you enjoyed the service we provided you with but was not happy to read that you found our rooms small. We are only a 62 room hotel however we pride ourselves on being able to provide a product that suits all tastes as every room in the hotel is different. If you do come back to London in the future please feel free to contact me personally and I will ensure we allocate a room that meets your expectations. I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to us.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The Milestone has
no tolerance making ANY errors. They have excellent service and very friendly reception. Food and wine together with breakfast and don't forget the bar - high class!
But nothing compared with the beds!! You will never get out of it lit's a lovely sleeping!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Firstly many thanks for your kind comments. I was so happy that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay with us especially our fantasic and comfortable beds !! Nothing beats a good nights sleep !! I have passed on your kind words to our Reception, Food and Beverage teams plus all the other members of the team. I hope you will join us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Milestone is the perfect blend of old English atmosphere with the modern amenities. The staff makes you experience truly great service.
Visited the promenade for afternoon tea, which was a real treat. The best afternoon tea ever.
If your looking for 100% service then this is the place. Luxurious furnishings and attentive staff make a weekend stay feel unforgettable.
The rooms are so comfortable and the hotel smells of fresh flowers with the hint of polished wood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your very kind words. I was really pleased that you tried our afternoon tea and most importantly enjoyed it along with all our other services that we offer. I was very happy that we met your expecations and have passed on your kind words to the team who make this all happen. I do hope that you can stay with us once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Milestone Hotel is a little gem in Kensington, service is warm and personal, public areas are full of character and charm (specially the polo bar and the afternoon tea living room); and rooms are adequate.

Location is great right on Kensington Court and in front of kensington palace and gardens.

Our stay was full of nice little details from the staff, they make you feel at home and tend to your every need with a smile. would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants great attention to detail.

My only complaint is the service at the restaurant, for breakfast we had a couple of bad experiences with extremely slow service as well as the waiters giving tables to other guests that had come in after we were already waiting for a table of the same size. We finally gave up and started having breakfast at a couple of nice cozy cafes not far away. We also had a special dinner served in a private salon and it was a disaster, food took forever and half the dishes were cold by the time they were served, additionally the taste was nothing to brag about.

Long story short, if you stay at the Milestone you will fall in love with the place as long as you do not use their dine-in facilities.

Room Tip: all rooms are different, we were a family group with 6 rooms and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay with us last November.
I'm was pleased to read that you found our service to be warm and friendly as this together with our attention to detail are the cornerstones of our service philosophy.
I note that you also enjoyed our location and the quality and feel of the hotel, in particular I note our Public Areas.
I am most concerned to read of your disappointments with our breakfast service as we do recognise that this is the most important meal of the day for our guests. We are very much used to looking after families and recognise that the needs of a family in terms of dining together are very specific. I also note that you had a similar experience when having dinner with us on another occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not tick these important boxes for you on this occasion and rest assured that this is something that we do take very seriously and we will ensure that any corrective action is duly taken. Enjoying our unique dining areas whilst staying at the Milestone is very much part of the overall experience so we will continue to work hard at this and I very much hope that we woud be able to persuade you to try this important area of our service should you decide to come and stay with us on a future occasion.
Kind regards and many thanks once again for your invaluable feedback.
Andrew Pike, General Manager, Milestone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Yet another wonderful stay at one of the Red Carnation hotels. This time it was at the Milestone in Kensington. The staff went above and beyond their remit making our stay wonderful. The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic taken from the owners recipe book, what a meal again the staff were outstanding. The room overlooked Kensington Palace it was perfect and had everything any guest could possibly need. We would go there again tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I, and the whole team, are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We were so happy that you enjoyed our service and facilities and that we met your expecations. I was also glad that you had a fantastic meal in our restaurant. Please do come and visit us once again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the lovely apartments which are incorporated as part of the hotel -- with access to all the hotel's amenities plus a full kitchen. It's a lively location, festively decorated with the best Christmas decor in all of London (IMHO) and with an extremely warm and hospitable staff. Our second season here and we look forward to visiting annually.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback following your Christams stay in our Apartments. You are quite right that the hotel, like is does every Christmas, looked amazing. I was so happy, that once again, we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#2 Family Hotel in London
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#2 Business Hotel in London
#7 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.