We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 1,054 Hotels in London
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Milestone is the perfect blend of old English atmosphere with the modern amenities. The staff makes you experience truly great service.
Visited the promenade for afternoon tea, which was a real treat. The best afternoon tea ever.
If your looking for 100% service then this is the place. Luxurious furnishings and attentive staff make a weekend stay feel unforgettable.
The rooms are so comfortable and the hotel smells of fresh flowers with the hint of polished wood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your very kind words. I was really pleased that you tried our afternoon tea and most importantly enjoyed it along with all our other services that we offer. I was very happy that we met your expecations and have passed on your kind words to the team who make this all happen. I do hope that you can stay with us once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    83
    30
    1
    0
See reviews for
252
486
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Milestone Hotel is a little gem in Kensington, service is warm and personal, public areas are full of character and charm (specially the polo bar and the afternoon tea living room); and rooms are adequate.

Location is great right on Kensington Court and in front of kensington palace and gardens.

Our stay was full of nice little details from the staff, they make you feel at home and tend to your every need with a smile. would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants great attention to detail.

My only complaint is the service at the restaurant, for breakfast we had a couple of bad experiences with extremely slow service as well as the waiters giving tables to other guests that had come in after we were already waiting for a table of the same size. We finally gave up and started having breakfast at a couple of nice cozy cafes not far away. We also had a special dinner served in a private salon and it was a disaster, food took forever and half the dishes were cold by the time they were served, additionally the taste was nothing to brag about.

Long story short, if you stay at the Milestone you will fall in love with the place as long as you do not use their dine-in facilities.

Room Tip: all rooms are different, we were a family group with 6 rooms and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay with us last November.
I'm was pleased to read that you found our service to be warm and friendly as this together with our attention to detail are the cornerstones of our service philosophy.
I note that you also enjoyed our location and the quality and feel of the hotel, in particular I note our Public Areas.
I am most concerned to read of your disappointments with our breakfast service as we do recognise that this is the most important meal of the day for our guests. We are very much used to looking after families and recognise that the needs of a family in terms of dining together are very specific. I also note that you had a similar experience when having dinner with us on another occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not tick these important boxes for you on this occasion and rest assured that this is something that we do take very seriously and we will ensure that any corrective action is duly taken. Enjoying our unique dining areas whilst staying at the Milestone is very much part of the overall experience so we will continue to work hard at this and I very much hope that we woud be able to persuade you to try this important area of our service should you decide to come and stay with us on a future occasion.
Kind regards and many thanks once again for your invaluable feedback.
Andrew Pike, General Manager, Milestone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Yet another wonderful stay at one of the Red Carnation hotels. This time it was at the Milestone in Kensington. The staff went above and beyond their remit making our stay wonderful. The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic taken from the owners recipe book, what a meal again the staff were outstanding. The room overlooked Kensington Palace it was perfect and had everything any guest could possibly need. We would go there again tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I, and the whole team, are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We were so happy that you enjoyed our service and facilities and that we met your expecations. I was also glad that you had a fantastic meal in our restaurant. Please do come and visit us once again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the lovely apartments which are incorporated as part of the hotel -- with access to all the hotel's amenities plus a full kitchen. It's a lively location, festively decorated with the best Christmas decor in all of London (IMHO) and with an extremely warm and hospitable staff. Our second season here and we look forward to visiting annually.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback following your Christams stay in our Apartments. You are quite right that the hotel, like is does every Christmas, looked amazing. I was so happy, that once again, we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Really Outstanding hotel by all means ; extremely friendly staff, pretty decoration, well designed rooms, feels home with luxury

And the location is sepurb, one can just step out of the hotel to kinsington gardens

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the decoration and ambience of the hotel. As you mentioned we are located in a beautiful part of London in front of the park so please do come and visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have just visited The Milestone Hotel for a short training course. Having run many such events in other London hotels, my experience has been that there have often been problems with intrusive noise, inconsistent service levels, rooms with difficult climate control, and all too frequently dreadful coffee. Often with no natural light. From the moment I arrived (once I had located the entrance which is in Kensington Road not Kensington Court), staff were immediately, friendly, helpful and anticipative. The room was very quiet and we were not disturbed at all during our session. We were able to get the room at just the right temperature for everyone. The coffee was freshly made and full of taste. Overall, hard to fault.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I was so happy to read your positive feedback on our conference and banquetting facilities. The Windor Suite is a great room that is not your average conference room so I was delighted that we met yours and your delegates expecations. Please do come and use us again in the near furture.
With my kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I had occasion to spend two nights in London on a trip to visit friends in the UK. The hotel is a little pricy by world standards but not in London. Service was great and the staff could not do enough to assure our visit was pleasant. If you stay impress you friends by using the Bentley.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind feedback. I was so happy to read that we met your expecations during your stay and I do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future. Our Bentley will be there to pick you up at anytime. I have passed on your kind words to my great team here at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#1 Business Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.