We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but cramped surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
amextravel.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Inclusive
Ranked #2 of 1,069 hotels in London
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good service but cramped surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel only once and it shall remain that way. The service is excellent, the staff hugely courteous, and the potential for elegance undisputed (despite one elderly man wearing an "Aman Junkie" t-shirt for dinner). The beds and pillows are superb. However, the hotel is horribly cramped, the bedrooms minuscule with inadequate wardrobe space, and the overall atmosphere is that of a dolls-house. The dining room is the worst example of the cramped feeling, with tables inadequately spaced, and the prices are higher than the Ritz or the Goring. The dining atmosphere was made unbearable by an electronic piano being played in a confined space which was deafening. The service was slow, indeed incredibly slow, and the Head Waiter tended to the arrogant. The food was good, indeed at times very good, but not exceptional (though I know of no other hotel today where wild smoked salmon is carved at the table and the £21 price tag for this first course is not so exorbitant given the generous quantities offered and the quality of the product). On the other hand, the lack of space makes any experience of this hotel claustrophobic. The location is too far West which means it is a useless if a trip to London involving any City business. Though outwardly elegant, place lacks the class of The Goring or The Ritz.

Room Tip: Unless you are a midget, you must have a studio room or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Milestone.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service and found our beds and bedding superb as these are clearly two very important factors when selecting a hotel.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the hotel overall felt cramped to you and also note that you found this to be the case with both your room and the restaurant in particular.
We are a 62 room property which was originally three private houses and we have worked hard to retain the original feeling and cosiness of the property whilst ensuring that we provide every luxury and thoughtful extra that we believe that our guests will enjoy. Each and every one of our rooms is individually decorated and the lay-out and wardrobe space of each room may vary in some cases but we will always try to find the most comfortable room according to each guest's needs and preferences.
We regularly price-check comparative hotels to ensure that we are charging a fair price for the quality of ingredients and food that we provide so again I'm sorry to learn that you found us to be expensive. I am pleased though that you enjoyed our Duo of Irish and Scottish Smoked Salmon which I have to say is very popular.
Please accept my apologies that you found our service to be slow. Whilst we don't like to rush restaurant guests we should always try and gauge the right pace according to each guest.
We go to great lengths to ensure that we employ first and foremost people with great passion, friendliness and warmth and I'm surprised and disappinted to note that you found a member of my team anything less than this.Please rest assured that we make a point of using any such constructive feedback in the most appropriate way.
With regard to our location, we would never suggest that we were an obvious choice for easy access to the City but we do find that many people enjoy our location directly opposite Kensington Palace and the largest green space in London.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike, General Manager, Milestone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    847
    76
    27
    0
    0
See reviews for
226
442
49
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here over the Thanksgioving weekend in 2011 and enjoyd every aspect of the experience. The bar downstairs is a particular highlight for pre and post dinner drinks with a great bar staff and plenty of interesting nooks and cranies to hang out in. Great location for most London based activities without being in the mist of the downtown bustle. We will return the next time I visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. I was so glad that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay with us. I was also pleased that you found our great "Stables" bar to your liking. As you mentioned the location of the hotel is perfect;y set away from the hustle and bustle of London but it is still only a stones throw away from it. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I and a friend stayed for 10 days in a two bedroom apartment at The Milestone in November/December. We enjoy the 'good things in life', but this far surpassed that.
From the wonderful driver who picked us up at the airport, the several pleasant and friendly doormen, the happy and cheerful concierges, to Fran, the butler, who gave new meaning to the well deserved word 'awesome', an overused word which I would normally try to avoid at all costs - they made our stay a memorable one which probably won't be repeated again soon.

The apartment was resplendent with beautiful furniture, opulent draperies and bedding, beautiful bath amenities, well appointed kitchen - well, I could go on and on.
Coming home in the evenings after a full day of enjoying London, the fireplace was a welcome addition to the beautiful living/dining room, and of course the little treats by the bedside, slippers by the bed, and candles in the bath just added to our feeling like royalty.
Oh, I mustn't forget the personalized business cards on the desk. What a nice touch!

The breakfasts were a delight and catered to all tastes and appetites. The several times we had room service, champagne accompanied the breakfast - a nice start to the day!!

There is nothing about the Milestone Hotel that we could fault. We heartily recommend it.
Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so very welcome.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any of the rooms/apartments not being first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I was so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our fantastic apartments. We certainly do have a fantastic Butler in Fran and a brilliant Concierge desk along with a great Housekeeping and Food and Beverage team. I was delighted that we met your expecatations and I do hope that you will join us once again in the near furture.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great place to visit over weekend break.
Nice relaxing place, great comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
Children were very happy and feel that they are very welcome by staff who was very friendly and accomodated.
Enjoyed! thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments over Christmas and also enjoyed lovely breakfasts each morning, the Christmas dinner, and a tea. All were wonderful! Our family loved the space and convenience, plus it was only 5 minutes walk to the Tube and Whole foods. Many nice restaurants in walking distance, and the staff was superb at giving suggestions on where to go and eat. We avoid the tourist traps at all costs. Our apartment was so clean and comfortable, and the beds felt so good after a day of sightseeing. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted to read your comments following your stay in our apartments and that we met your expectations. I hope that you will join us once again in the near future. I have passed on your kind words to the team here at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi, uae
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the milestone before and the first time it was cosy and cute. My first room was a savile row design which was awesome! Different! Yet not too loud, this time we stayed at the Venetian suite and it was jut an absolute charm in Kensington.
To be honest I had different options of hotels but I wanted to stay here because the location is brilliant, it's a boutique hotel therefore you get treated like its your own home and this what I exactly wanted.
Anyway the stay was lovely, charming and nice, staff were responsive and attainable ( thank you )
What the hotel gives you is love and what it needs is a new kettle, probably a new iron and coffee+tea in the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time, once again, to leave your feedback following your return stay with us. As you mentioned each room in the hotel has its individual home from home charm and I was so happy that you found the rooms along with the service to your liking. I have noted your comments regarding the need for a better iron and tea and coffee tray in your room which I have added to your guest profile for future stays. I do hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I still fondly recall our stay at The Milestone Hotel. Our first couple of nights in the UK were spent at this lovely location and we couldn't have been happier. It was wonderful to return every night to such a comfortable, welcoming place. Staff members were superb. We stayed in several other hotels during our travels and this hotel had the most genuinely amiable, efficient and knowledgeable staff. The Milestone has excellent dining options, is located in a pleasant part of London - right across from Kensington Park, and our rooms were cozy, elegant and very well appointed. In fact, we were so impressed with the hotel that we decided to stay there the last couple of days of our vacation. If you would like a gracious and truly memorable stay in London I would highly recommend The Milestone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I was really pleased to read your very kind feedback. I was delighted that you found that the hotel met your expectations. It is all of the teams aim here to ensure our guests have a perfect stay with us so I thank you once again for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England
Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list