We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Milestone Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 1,073 hotels in London
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked a superior room, which was the cheapest fare. Well everything is definitely 5-star, except the size of the room. It feels smaller than Travelodge rooms. One might think its ecological because the room heats up by your body heat, (its that small, but you get what you pay) but then on the other hand, using the aircondition or opening the window helps. Still great, will come again. The small room is fine for a night and on single occupancy. Staying longer needs upgrading...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you will return to us again and please feel free to contact any member of the team to discuss your room requirements so we can meet your expectations. I was pleased that you liked the service we provided you with and I have past on your kind words to my fantastic team.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    82
    30
    1
    0
See reviews for
250
482
58
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here as part of a birthday celebration. We could not fault the hotel at all. What a beautiful place but what made the stay perfect was the staff. Everyone who worked in the hotel were polite, friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying at the milestone again. Thank you again for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I was really pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and that we met your expecations during your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My teenage daughter, husband and I really enjoyed the afternoon tea experience at the Milestone. The service is incredible, the tea rooms are just as the pictures show and the tea and cakes - unforgettable! We had a wonderful time. Our waiter was very funny, putting us at ease.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I was very happy to read your comments following your Afternoon Tea with us with your Daughter. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and please do come back and see us again soon. I have passed on your kind words to my great team here.

Kind regards
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My fiancé and I are pretty seasoned travelers and have stayed in some amazing hotels all over, but OMIGOD this is my hands-down favorite hotel!! we usually go for more contemporary hotels with modern design, so we were wary of the very traditional look of the Milestone initially. As soon as we parked our car around the corner (!!! we could PARK...that was a great start! haha) and walked in the lobby, we were blown away by how wonderful and attentive the staff were. Our bags were whisked away and replaced with flutes of champagne, and we were greeted by name..."You must be Mr and Mrs Rawding, welcome". The looks on our faces mustve been priceless. What a stellar greeting. As we were checking in, we were casually lamenting the fact that we were unable to secure a reservation at Nobu for that night--a friday--and how we really should've planned ahead. The concierge heard us, and within 3 minutes, he had gotten us a table for 8pm. WHAT?! It's like he was a magician. We had literally just been denied by that restaurant! We went upstairs to our room, which was super-plush and filled with soft squishy chairs and big fluffy robes. I have never liked that "traditional" style decor in any hotel except this one. we were even more thrilled when we discovered a little tray of pastries and cookies "from the chef", with a little welcome note. We felt like royalty.

The Milestone Hotel is always our first choice when we go to london, and I look forward to staying there again this Christmas (assuming all these glowing reviews don't book it up and leave me out in the cold;).

Warm Regards,
Natasha and Jason Rawding
Florida USA/Nottingham UK

Room Tip: Our room wasn't gigantic, but it was the coziest thing ever! The bath products were great and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations. Please do come back at Christmas and we will ensure you have another excellent stay.

Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend at the Milestone Hotel to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. I've been lucky enough to stay at some wonderful hotels throughout the world, both on business and for pleasure from Bournemouth to Bora Bora, but have to say this was one of the nicest experiences yet.

From Manvee on the phone when booking, the doorman on arrival, the reception staff, the concierge, the bar staff (fantastic cocktails by the way!) and the cleaner I passed in the hallway Sunday morning; every interaction with the people who work there leave you feeling like a truly valued customer.

I'm trying to give a balanced review, warts and all, but I honestly I can't fault it.

Following my hotel choice my wife finally recognises what a great bloke I am, so I think we may make 15 years. If we do, we will definitely return. If we don't, her loss and I'll take someone else!

Room Tip: Let them pick the room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I really was delighted to read your review and I too hope we can have the chance to look after you once again on your 15th anniversary !! I was so happy that we met your expectations and I have passed on your very kind words to the great team I am proud to have at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

returned to The Milestone for the second Olympic week to celebrate 2 birthdays and an anniversary and everything about our stay confirmed that this hotel is an outstanding property. Our room, overlooking Kensington Gardens was beautiful and the staff was once again friendly, pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel like valued guests. Our anniversary was noted with roses and candles making our first evening on this trip a special memory.If you have an opportunity, a stay at TheMilestone is a experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I was so pleased to read your lovely feedback. Many thanks for taking the time to do this. The Olympics was indeed a very special time for London, our hotel and our guests. We always try our hardest to meet our guests expectations and was so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and appreciated the extra touches we provided you with. Please do came back and visit us once again ion the near future. I have passed on your kind words to mr brilliant team.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Where to start praising this amazing hotel? My husband and I stayed in Apartment 1 for seven nights in mid-September. First of all, the staff was incredible. We never walked through the lobby without someone acknowledging "Mr. and Mrs. Jones" and holding open a door, or calling us a cab. Everyone is so friendly and service-oriented. The hotel itself is great! The decor is beautiful and the dining & bar areas are very cozy.

Apartment 1 was great! There's a large living room/lounge on the main floor. We sat there a few times to catch the light coming in through the windows. The bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are downstairs; basically in a basement-like area. At first, it seemed a little darker and "closer" down there. But, after hearing some bumps and such from the floor above when sitting in the living room, we really appreciated the fact that there was no one above us when we were downstairs.

When we checked in, there was a large basket on the kitchen table, filled with fruit, cookies and chocolate. There were also little business cards with my husband's name on them that included the phone & fax number of our apartment. So cool!

The master bedroom is great, with a very sizable en-suite bathroom. The shower has two options - rain shower or handheld shower. The towels are huge and fluffy, more like bath sheets, and they are in a rack right in the shower area, which I love. There's real shower gel, which a lot of hotels don't offer. One very small annoyance - the smoke detector has two red lights that blink throughout the night. I used a little sleep mask the first night and then switched to the other side of the bed. Both of those took care of the issue!

Turn-down service included a little treat each night on the bed - there was always a bottle of water for each of us, candy, chocolate, little books with booklights, tea and even some bubble bath/foot treatment items for use in the bath.

The kitchen came in handy. We made our own breakfast a few of the mornings we were there. All the bowls and utensils we needed were right at our fingertips. There was also a washer & dryer which we used a few times. Just a note that it did take a couple of hours to wash and another couple hours for clothes to get dry, but they both worked well.

There was something I've never seen in a hotel room before - a Pillow Menu. You can order exactly the kind of pillow you want for maximum comfort. They even have a "hangover eye pillow" to refresh your eyes.

We also enjoyed food & drinks in the Stable bar many of the nights we were there. Both the food & drink are excellent! The drinks come with snacks like peanuts, etc., but they also come with canapes - little croque monsieur sandwiches, salmon mousse, olives, celery & carrot sticks. All very tasty! We had soup, sandwiches and salads a few different nights for dinner and they were all excellent as well.

Bottom line - we loved this place! The location was so perfect for us. We didn't have far to walk to the tube and the park across the street was a great place to stroll or sit on the grass. The staff treated us amazingly, but it didn't feel stuffy at all! If you get the chance to spend 7 nights in London, the Milestone Hotel is the place to do it!

Room Tip: The Apartments are through a little back door on the side of the hotel. Very private, but still clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Jones
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our aprtments. As you mentioned they are ideal for a longer stay. I was so pleased that we met your expectations and you felt at home in the hotel.
I have passed on your feedback to my team. Please do come back and visit us again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time leave this feedback.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#1 Spa Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed within a meticulously restored Grand Victorian Mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.