We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon ruined” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Nevern Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twenty Nevern Square to your Saves list
Twenty Nevern Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Nevern Square | Earls Court, London SW5 9PD, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #546 of 1,065 Hotels in London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon ruined”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked us thos hotel as a suprise for our honeymoon. He checked out their website along with trip adviser and after reading the reviews rang up and booked us two nights.
He explained on the phone it was our honeymoon and would like a nice room and view.
When we got to our room it was a tiny room with a 4 poster crammed in leaving only a small gap around the bed to walk around. The nice view was a brick wall as we were put in the basement!
I went for a shower but there was no curtain or door so the bathroom got flooded and the towel that i had put down were sodden.
We went out for dinner and asked the lady at reception to send someone to tidy up the bathroom. When we got back the room and corridor outside stunk of raw sewage. We rang up reception to sort it out and their solution was to switch on a dehumidifie. After half an hour the smell was still unbearable so we asked for an alternative room - the only one they could offer was a twin room, not what you want on your honeymoon.
The receptionist couldn't get through to the manager nor have the authority to give us a refund. Nether the less we decided to leave the hotel - something I have never done before.
The next morning my husband rang the hotel for a refund but the receptionist refused and claimed we'd compained about things we hadn't such as the lights and tv not working. After he demanded to speak to the manager she said we could have a refund for that night. He told them that they had ruined our honeymoon and that we weren't coming back and wanted a refund for the following night but they
refused point blank.
Would not recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    200
    96
    20
    38
See reviews for
38
268
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHERN IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it - good location,friendly staff and good breakfast. We booked a luxury double room but could not believe how small the room was we were allocated on arrival. Extremely doubtful if the bed was actually big enough to hold two people.Luckily we had booked in early and asked for a change. At the third attempt we settled for a room which while adequate was not exactly what we had hoped for and could not have been described as a luxury room. On reflection the hotel is probably more suited for a younger clientelle - we were conspicuous at breakfast by our "silver surfer"appearance. Room problems apart we had an enjoyable stay and staff were were always courteous and helpful. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip on Thursday 7th feb 2013. The location suited me as I had work activity a few streets away. The front of house staff were very welcoming and the service was pretty good. Free earl grey or breakfast tea brought to your room on request. The only down side was the size of the room. I booked was a deluxe double room after looking at pictures on the website showing spacious double rooms, however, the room I was in (room 17 on the 3rd floor) was only just big enough to get a double bed into. It was the size of a box room in most three bed houses. I had to rearrange furniture in order to do some ironing and although I can't grumble on the price (£80 B&B via late rooms) the title 'deluxe double room' is a tad misleading. My other gripe was the noise from the room above. Beyond the hotels control, an amorous couple began vigorous horizontal gymnastics at 10.30pm and I thought they were going to come through the ceiling. Fortunately though, stamina seemed to be lacking and it was over pretty quickly. All in all a nice property but the room I was in was very small. I was in a rush the next morning so never got to sample breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet location in Earl's court - it is about a five minute walk from the tube station and yet far from the madding crowd that surrounds it.

The hotel rooms are small and the wifi connectivity is poor, even though it is free. I was not overly impressed with the customer service given that my room was changed without informing me.

There is a continental breakfast included in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel while we were abroad. Booking was nice and simple and it was explained to us that the rooms were small. On arrival we were given an upgrade to the Ottoman Suite which was amazing. The breakfast was really good too. The staff were really helpful too and even fed the meter all day so we didn't have to move the car. Looking at previous reviews people cannot complain when paying the excellent rates this hotel charge. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddeek S, Front Office Manager at Twenty Nevern Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear annazartarian,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. Yes, our Ottoman Suite is the best suite in the hotel and when given the opportunity, we would like all our guest to experience a night there. We will pass your good feedback on to the staff. 20 Nevern Team constantly strive to improve their services and are glad that the guest is happy.

Warm regards,
The Manegement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay and went for the luxury four poster option - following the previous reviews I would definitely recommend staying in the more expensive rooms as you seem to get what you pay for. Location great, can't complain. Staff friendly if a little slow. Breakfast really average - give it a miss and go down the road for a proper full English.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely little townhouse hotel, tucked away in a quiet square just round the corner from Earls Court tube station. Excellent service and stylish decor, comfortable, quiet and very good value if you get a late deal. Paid £58 fur a luxury single room, the night before, was actually double bed but smallish room, still space for suitcase though which you don't always find! I was in room 19 on 4th floor. Rooms are decorated with beautiful fabrics and hand carved beds. Had tv and iPod docking station but I wasn't there long enough to use either. Nice marble bathroom, small but fine for one person. I was travelling alone on business and this was the perfect room for this purpose. Nice continental breakfast, included in price, variety of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, cheese, meat, croissants, pain au chocolat etc. with tea/coffee and juice to drink, served in the light & airy breakfast room/café. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, and while there's no tea and coffee facilities in the room they will bring you tea/coffee any time of day/night. As a lone female I felt safe in this hotel and area. Only complaint was that room was too warm so had to sleep with wondiw open, but it was quiet so not a problem. Great little place, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Address: 20 Nevern Square | Earls Court, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a serene garden square, Twenty Nevern Square is a boutique hotel in West London, featuring 20 beautifully designed rooms. The rooms at this four star luxury London Hotel are defined by an attractive mix of European and Oriental influences, with hand carved furniture in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Nevern Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.