We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caveat Emptor!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Nevern Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Twenty Nevern Square to your Saves list
Twenty Nevern Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #552 of 1,050 Hotels in London
NORTHERN IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it - good location,friendly staff and good breakfast. We booked a luxury double room but could not believe how small the room was we were allocated on arrival. Extremely doubtful if the bed was actually big enough to hold two people.Luckily we had booked in early and asked for a change. At the third attempt we settled for a room which while adequate was not exactly what we had hoped for and could not have been described as a luxury room. On reflection the hotel is probably more suited for a younger clientelle - we were conspicuous at breakfast by our "silver surfer"appearance. Room problems apart we had an enjoyable stay and staff were were always courteous and helpful. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    215
    102
    26
    41
See reviews for
41
291
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip on Thursday 7th feb 2013. The location suited me as I had work activity a few streets away. The front of house staff were very welcoming and the service was pretty good. Free earl grey or breakfast tea brought to your room on request. The only down side was the size of the room. I booked was a deluxe double room after looking at pictures on the website showing spacious double rooms, however, the room I was in (room 17 on the 3rd floor) was only just big enough to get a double bed into. It was the size of a box room in most three bed houses. I had to rearrange furniture in order to do some ironing and although I can't grumble on the price (£80 B&B via late rooms) the title 'deluxe double room' is a tad misleading. My other gripe was the noise from the room above. Beyond the hotels control, an amorous couple began vigorous horizontal gymnastics at 10.30pm and I thought they were going to come through the ceiling. Fortunately though, stamina seemed to be lacking and it was over pretty quickly. All in all a nice property but the room I was in was very small. I was in a rush the next morning so never got to sample breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet location in Earl's court - it is about a five minute walk from the tube station and yet far from the madding crowd that surrounds it.

The hotel rooms are small and the wifi connectivity is poor, even though it is free. I was not overly impressed with the customer service given that my room was changed without informing me.

There is a continental breakfast included in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel while we were abroad. Booking was nice and simple and it was explained to us that the rooms were small. On arrival we were given an upgrade to the Ottoman Suite which was amazing. The breakfast was really good too. The staff were really helpful too and even fed the meter all day so we didn't have to move the car. Looking at previous reviews people cannot complain when paying the excellent rates this hotel charge. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddeek S, Front Office Manager at Twenty Nevern Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear annazartarian,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. Yes, our Ottoman Suite is the best suite in the hotel and when given the opportunity, we would like all our guest to experience a night there. We will pass your good feedback on to the staff. 20 Nevern Team constantly strive to improve their services and are glad that the guest is happy.

Warm regards,
The Manegement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay and went for the luxury four poster option - following the previous reviews I would definitely recommend staying in the more expensive rooms as you seem to get what you pay for. Location great, can't complain. Staff friendly if a little slow. Breakfast really average - give it a miss and go down the road for a proper full English.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely little townhouse hotel, tucked away in a quiet square just round the corner from Earls Court tube station. Excellent service and stylish decor, comfortable, quiet and very good value if you get a late deal. Paid £58 fur a luxury single room, the night before, was actually double bed but smallish room, still space for suitcase though which you don't always find! I was in room 19 on 4th floor. Rooms are decorated with beautiful fabrics and hand carved beds. Had tv and iPod docking station but I wasn't there long enough to use either. Nice marble bathroom, small but fine for one person. I was travelling alone on business and this was the perfect room for this purpose. Nice continental breakfast, included in price, variety of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, cheese, meat, croissants, pain au chocolat etc. with tea/coffee and juice to drink, served in the light & airy breakfast room/café. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, and while there's no tea and coffee facilities in the room they will bring you tea/coffee any time of day/night. As a lone female I felt safe in this hotel and area. Only complaint was that room was too warm so had to sleep with wondiw open, but it was quiet so not a problem. Great little place, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room is described on the hotel website as a luxury twin room, however nothing about the room fits the term “luxury” for a traveler from any developed country. Although they claim that the room is 12 square meters in area, the usable space is much less, as most of the room consists of a narrow passageway and a “solarium”. The passageway has stairs on one end, and an inward opening door on the other; it is unusable even for suitcase storage, without obstructing safety and egress. The solarium has a wardobe and tea table in it that take up all the floor space. Thus, the only passable portion of the room is the ~2X8 foot gap between the beds. There is no place to unpack your suitcase – the wardrobe has one small shelf and a safe but no drawers – so your luggage will be open on your bed, which is also the only place in the room to sit.

The shower is on one side of the passageway and separated from the room by only a curtain, no door. There is no counter at all next to the miniscule basin, so set your toiletries on the floor. The toilet is on the opposite side of the passageway, and is about the size of an airplane lavatory. The phone worked intermittently during my stay, and once I had to go to the office to ask a question. In order to turn on the floor lamps at the end of each bed, you have to move the bed and use the cord switch on the floor under the bed. The large windows in the solarium look out over a dreary alleyway, and the drapes are translucent – as soon as the sun is up, you are awake.

The room is in a separate building from the dining area, so be prepared to go outside and walk down the street for breakfast. Take your umbrella. On returning to your room, you will go through 3 locked doors and climb a steep flight of stairs – there is no lift or elevator. Pack light.

The staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful, although few are native English speakers. Their knowledge of London seemed to be somewhat limited. The management is extremely intransigent, and unwilling to work with unsatisfied guests. The food was adequate – microwaved frozen croissants, cold cereal, fruit, cheese. The tube station is very convenient, and there are nearby restaurants that were fine. This room would be OK for a pair of college students backpacking across Europe, whose alternative might be a park bench, but it is inadequate for adult tourists, even on a limited budget – the room price was not cheap. We purposely chose this hotel over a chain, seeking a small, European hotel experience with some character and charm – we came away feeling ripped off.

Room Tip: Don't pay in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Address: 20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in London
#357 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty Nevern Square is the second hotel in the Mayflower Collection, a family-run trio of hotels nestled in some of London's most desirable areas. Each hotel in the Collection has been uniquely designed in an East-meets-West style, complete with sumptuous furnishings, opulent colour schemes, and original carved antique furniture. Twenty Nevern Square overlooks the beautiful Nevern Square Garden and features 20 stunningly individual rooms, each equipped with all the modern essentials. The hotel has a fully-licensed bar and a secluded courtyard garden with tables and chairs. Alongside our gorgeous rooms, we have a number of special suites with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful views, marbled bathrooms, Egyptian cotton sheets, and state-of-the-art technology, including a large flat-screen HD LED TV. The hotel is just 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre, 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court tube station, and a mere 25-minute journey from Heathrow Airport! As we are situated in the fashionable Kensington & Chelsea borough, we are within walking distance of the King's Road in Chelsea, High Street Kensington, and Hyde Park and close to the Science Museum, the Victoria & Albert, and the Natural History Museum. Knightsbridge, with the illustrious Harrods department store, and Harvey Nichols London store, is also only a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Nevern Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.