We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western) (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #384 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“wow experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

perfect stay at ths hotel in piccadilly circus has given me sa reason to come back to this hotel. it is a wow exprience & i am gonna come back with my family next year..great going shaftesbury piccadilly hotel..great team

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the B.W. Shaftesbury Piccadilly were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.
Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    357
    109
    50
    56
See reviews for
103
317
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This Best Western hotel at shaftesbury avenue is one of the best western hotels i have ever experienced. Definitely - very much recommended...great staff & perfect service will come back for sure

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Recently stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend theatre trip. On arrival we were asked to pay before even seeing the rooms, never before has this happened to us and I can assure you we have stayed in London many times before.

The rooms weren't ready so after leaving our luggage I decided to use the conveniences, this should have told me to check out immediately, however, as I was one of four in the group I reserved my judgment. The toilet was dirty and toiletries provided below standard.

So, to the rooms, 405 and 414. These were listed as PREMIER category and belive me I would hate to have seen the standard ones. Both rooms were exceptionally small and dirty.The curtains, bed sheets and towels were grey.

We did complain and admittedly received a small discount, however, we would have preferred to have had decent rooms in the first place.

The only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

Only stay here as a last resort, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on foh@shaftesburyhotel.co.uk as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Very disappointed with this hotel, great location for the theatre but thats about it.
Booked a premier double room which was very small, smelt of cigarettes, couldn't connect to wifi and the tv didnt work looked like a snow storm and there was also mould in the shower. For the price we paid we expected better.

.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on foh@shaftesburyhotel.co.uk as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The location is excellent and given this the price is not out of the way. The service we received was friendly and efficient and I would recommend this as a good place to stay when visiting London and particularly convenient for theatres

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the B.W. Shaftesbury Piccadilly were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.
Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and managed to get a decent deal for a club room with breakfast. The outside of the hotel isn't exactly inviting and doesn’t reflect the interior of the hotel. Saying that I was filled with dread when surveying the exterior (as it does look awful) therefore I was pleasantly surprised with the interior! The location is great, just round the corner from China town, Soho and a few minutes walk to Piccadilly Circus tube. The reception staff were polite, as were the other staff we came into contact with. The room was a decent size for a London hotel and clean. The club room basically meant a bigger room and had a few touches like turn down service, fruit, fresh flowers, complementary water and a half bottle of wine on arrival. Robes were also supplied in the room and to be honest they were that worn and tatty I wouldn't even put them into the charity bag they were that bad. The robes were such a bad reflection on the hotel I think if they can’t afford to replace them with new ones they shouldn't bother.
The breakfast room was fairly nice as was the breakfast...enough to start you off for the day for a busy day! All in all we had a good experience and would be prepared to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the B.W. Shaftesbury Piccadilly were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.

Also, we are working out for some refurbishment work to be done at the main porch so that it does not give out a bad picture of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stayed for 4 nights with my mum in November 2010. We booked premier double room which was a good size for central London standards. We booked directly through the website and upon arrival to reception they did not have our reservation. After a few phone calls, the receptionist organised our room.. but we never received an apology for having to unexplainably wait. I am unsure if we ate the same breakfast as other reviewers but I considered the breakfast average compared to other London 4 star hotels. Rooms were clean however on the 3rd day we left our room early in the morning and when we returned at 4pm it had still not been cleaned, after we mentioned this to concierge they said that someone would start immediately. So we waited on reception, and waited... After more than 30min after no one approached us to say whether the room had been cleaned we asked reception if our room was ready. They checked and said it was in the process of being done. Soon after they said the room was ready. Once again... no apology.
The location is very central, although being on 2nd floor street side made it difficult to sleep at night.

The staff overall were relatively friendly however my suggestion would be that if something does go wrong or guests are incovenienced as we were , an apology does go a long way (and it doesnt cost the hotel anything).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

As a gesture of goodwill, we would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Four Poster Suite along with full English Breakfast for one night only. Please do not hesitate to contact me atleast 48-72 hours prior to your arrival in order to ensure that your stay is satisfactory & comfortable in all respect.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Shaftesbury Piccadilly.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Address: 65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Romantic Hotel in London
#364 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel; multilingual staff; situated in the heart of theatre land; near Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square; restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.