We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, great location, appalling internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #339 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent room, great location, appalling internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked 2 nights at this hotel so that I could get to the early starts for a 2 day conference. Having stayed there before in a single room which I found too small, I took a so-called Clubroom. This was 305 at the back overlooking St Anne's churchyard, so it was free from traffic noise. I found the room very comfortable but was more expensive than perhaps I should have paid, but in such a great location that's what is to be expected. It was really nice to be able to step out into a district of London that I have known all my life. The internet, both by wi-fi and wired, was far too slow to be of any use at all. This point needs attention.

Room Tip: Obviously, rooms at the back are quieter. The single rooms do not have a lot of space, so upgrade if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us.

With regards to the internet issue, we do have an upgrade lined up this week which will resolve all the issue related to the Wi-Fi & internet in all bedrooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble caused due to the teething internet issues.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    336
    103
    45
    50
See reviews for
99
297
91
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ELY CAMBS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked on last minute.com and found hotel had everything we needed and was in the best location for most of shows, and plenty of bars to nip into before and after show. Good couple of days in London. Only fault breakfast was a bit chaos as more people than tables if you hit the wrong time, but food was very good.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade to room 310 huge bed and nice and soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us. Moreover, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the space allocation for more tables for breakfast & we will definitely work on the same as earliest as possible.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked The Shaftesbury as we had quite a few things to do in and around the West End and rather than wasting time travelling all over by the tube we wanted to be in the heart of it and we certainly were, directly across from China town, easy walking distance to Covent Garden and theatres, minutes from Piccadilly.
The hotel was clean, breakfast was very good & reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly, I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is well located , family hotel ,friendly staff , great breakfast ,room are small but comfortable ,clean ,stocked with tea coffee drinking water ,Perfect experience ,happily stay there again ,strongly recommend to all my friends

Room Tip: Hotel is well located , family hotel ,friendly staff , great breakfast ,room are small but comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had booked out "premier" room at this hotel in May (2013). An evening in London to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary; theatre, dinner etc. We arrived at the hotel in September to find that - listen to this folks, it borders on the preposterous - a computer glitch meant that they were now overbooked and we had to shift to another hotel "but don't worry we have a nice room for you" we were told. Our arguments about the booking fell on deaf ears so a taxi was called and we were hustled to Bayswater/Hyde Park! Not exactly close to the theatre district. So instead of walking to the theatre we used the Tube.The hotel they sent us to, Grand Royale, is an old place, the rooms were extremely small, the shower so small you could not bend over to wash your feet. The TV remote did not work, but I told my wife that we could just use the manual controls with our feet from the bed we were that close.
We were told that we had a "Club" room. I would hate to think what the regular rooms were like. So this is my question Mr. Best Western: why did we get turfed in spite of having a reservation for over 4 months, was it because we booked through a third party and Mr. Booking.com can answer this part of the question.

Room Tip: From my perspective I would stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regard to your experience at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely & profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on foh@shaftesburyhotel.co.uk as per your earliest convenience.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & kindly provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Prashant Marne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked 2 nights at Best Western Shaftesbury London to extend my business trip with 2 days leisure. The hotel's location is perfect, just in the middle of the flow - a corner away from Chinatown's main street and an other corner to the Soho's best restaurants and bars. At reception desk all the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is free wifi (in-room and lobby as well) - which was very useful and worked well. My room was 308 - on third floor, facing the courtyard (grey walls, messy) - not really about panoramic view - courtyard needs a some reconstruction. The room was a single room, extra small - but very clean, not noisy, comfy beds and pillows.The bathroom is super small, but still clean (no rusty spots). Overall I recommend the hotel - it has a good price-value.

Room Tip: 308 faces a grey courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Would definitely stay at the Best Western again. Perfect family hotel, with friendly staff and great location. The room was very modern and stocked with tea coffee biscuits drinking water ect. We received complimentary fruit on arrival. The breakfast and breakfast staff were great. Perfect experience well done guys..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is also very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

We will keep up the good work so that all our guests can enjoy & experience a comfortable & pleasant stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel

Address: 65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
#319 Business Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel; multilingual staff; situated in the heart of theatre land; near Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square; restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Shaftesbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.