We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfy stay & lovely staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western) (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #383 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SHEFFIELD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfy stay & lovely staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stay 1 night for a theatre break. Reception staff lovely, quickly checked in & out.
Room on the back very quiet - asked for this inadvance.
Room comfortable everything you need including laptop size safe.
Tea & coffee facilitiesin room, and no problem asking for top ups. Fruit on arrival and bottles of water.
Lovely slippers & bath robes to use, towels clean and fluffy.
Didnt have breakfast as stayed on room only basis.
Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: rooms at back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such exceptionally kind feedback for your stay at The Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of staying here and visited us twice in the year. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team here and I look forward to welcoming you again at The BW Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    357
    109
    50
    56
See reviews for
103
317
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly well located, in the middle of everything and with excellent transport connections. I've been there twice, in summer and winter, and rooms are very well conditioned and clean. I had a tv screen even in the Bathroom! Staff is very friendly indeed. I definetely stay here one more time!

Room Tip: As most of the hotels in Europe, rooms are small comparing them to the ones you have in America. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such exceptionally kind feedback for your stay at The Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of staying here and visited us twice in the year. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team here and I look forward to welcoming you again at The BW Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel in good location for shows we enjoyed our 2 night stay in a club room (worth paying extra for). Nice clean room staff very friendly and really enjoyed breakfast set us up for the day sightseeing. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on top floor very quite and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such exceptionally kind feedback for your stay at The Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of staying here and had the time to sample our breakfast. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team here and I look forward to welcoming you again at The BW Premier Shaftesbury Piccadilly London in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very nice building on Shaftsbury Ave, very well located in Soho, not far from public transportation. First impressions were very positive, even though the room wasn't very big. Nice people at the reception, very polite. Good bed, clean place, including bathroom (funny to see a television screen too), but mt deception came when going to bed. AVOID room giving on the avenue, which I had, because of the noise of the street. I barely slept.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

Sir, i do understand that we are based in theatreland which ia 24/7 very lively & happening place & it attracts lots of crowd which makes it more noisy at times.

Please let us know when you plan to come down next time so that we can try to give you a room which will make your stay comfortable with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for two nights early January to take in a show and to finally visit the Tower of London. No queues for this in January !
The hotel was fantastic and the staff were extremely helpful regarding luggage and advice about restaurants, tubes etc. We were at the front of the hotel overlooking Shaftesbury Avenue but with the windows shut and the heavy curtains drawn we had no trouble with street noise.
The breakfasts were brilliant with a serve yourself buffet for Continental or English OR Both. The breakfast staff were also very attentive and ensured you had plenty of hot coffee and if you required your eggs other than scrambled these were cooked fresh for you.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting London especially if they were taking in a show at any of the numerous theatres on Shaftesbury Avenue.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd Floor at the front and this was fine. As stated above no problem with street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

We feel very happy when we can make a guest feel like at home & when the guest walk out of the hotel with a smile on his face.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Well,, the location of this hotel is perfect in theatre land. 5 mins walk from tube, Soho, really in the thick of it!

We had booked this hotel for a wk'end away for my aunty's 70th, as we were off to watch the Jersey Boys at the Prince Edward Theatre, which incidentally, is only a 5 min walk away.

We had requested our 2 Premier rooms with 2 single beds in each to be at the back of the hotel, as per previous reviews from Trip Advisor. The initial request for my mum and aunty was ok, room 306 - def request this one if you can. Double bed and then a single bed leads into another room - family room. Bonus and on the back. Perfect for them.

Our room however, was on the front and Shaftesbury Avenue, is very very busy. So, once I had a discussion with the girls on reception. We were moved to 2 single rooms (no extra cost), SUPER tiny, shoe box style. But at least they were on the back of the hotel.

I was slightly worried with the huge church clock out there but this finishes at 11pm and doesn't chime until 7am the next day, another plus.

The single room bathrooms were hilarious, tiny and a little tardy.

The staff were attentive in anything we wanted.

The maximum I would stay here is 2 nights.....no more. Like I said, great location, just in a noisy spot.

The lifts were not working and we had to use the porters lift....very small and old vanished.

Room Tip: Ask for room 306 if you can, turn the air con off, it can be noisy. Rooms are packed in and corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regarding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 06.01.13 fantastic deal for bed and breakfast. Staff were all polite and nothing seemed too much trouble. Room was clean,well presented and free bottled water and fruit. Although people have complained about street noise we found our romm to be really quiet.Location is perfect for theatreland and Chinatown is 100 yards from the front of the hotel also Leicester Square is only two minutes walk. The hotel has a bar in the basement which is only open until 9pm as this becomes the breakfast room in the morning but room service for drinks are round the clock and there are plenty of bars nearby. Breakfast was buffet style but eggs cooked to order so all in all quite good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Address: 65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Romantic Hotel in London
#366 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel; multilingual staff; situated in the heart of theatre land; near Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square; restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.