We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western) (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #384 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in this property for 5 nights in November. First of all the good points: Location is good, and the front office staff were excellent. I ordered room service and the food was ok.

The building is old and my room was a very odd shape. The strangest part of my room was the HUGE four poster bed (complete with roof), it totally dominated the room and blocked out any natural light, making the room appear a little dim and depressing. Really this type of bed is totally unsuitable for a small room. The bath room was ok.

Slightly annoying that the whole building only has a single lift servicing all 8 floors. This lift can only fit 5 people comfortably.

All in all, i would recommend this hotel for the location - Was quite expensive for the quality of the product. You are basically paying for the locaiton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    357
    108
    50
    56
See reviews for
103
316
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good location, good price and insulated from noise even on Shaftsbury Avenue in a 2nd floor room
The room was comfortable and clean - and service was impeccable. Good for Christmas shopping and sightseeing in London; also very close to Underground stations, bus stations. Walking distance from Regents Street and Piccadilly

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room so cannot really advise on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Arrived to find we were unable to have our twin room as they were having a few housekeeping issues. They gave us a club room with complimentary breakfast, wine and chocolates. All very lovely but more warmth and a smile would be nice. They did try to charge for two nights. I questioned this and they were adamant I was wrong and showed me their paperwork which did to make sense. Fab location have stayed before. We did to hear noise from the street only other guests but it was fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here for business but that was the only problem. Had I been able to enjoy all the wonderful things right on my doorstep and not have to get up the next day it would have been perfect. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly. I was there during Christmas party season and right on the front so it was noisy but have had good nights sleep there before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you can sleep. You won't get the birds eye view of L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked an overnight stay as a surprise for my husband as we were going xmas shopping and to the theatre. I wish we had been there longer. What a fab location right in the heart of theatreland across the road from china town 5 mins from Fortnums and Bond Street.... I could go on! Checkin was quick and easy the receptionist (sorry forgotten her name) was lovely and welcoming. She gave us a fantastic room which was spacious and had a 4 poster bed. There was a flat screen tv in the bathroom and abundance of toiletries and tea and coffee. All in all a great stay for the price which included breakfast and was booked through Shaftesbury Premier hotels. In comparison to the cost of some other West End hotels for small rooms I don't think this can be beaten. I have already recommended this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: The four poster bed was very comfy and the room overlooked Shaftesbury Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Smallest room I have ever stayed in .. Clean but .. Small. No bar after 9.00 very disappointing. Location excellent for the theatre. Seemed expensive for what you have to pay. Shower was tiny .. Would not want to stay more than one night

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your courteous feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. However, as you might be aware of the fact that we are a victorian facade style building wherein we have rooms of different sizes belonging to the same room category.

Since we cannot make any changes to your past experience having said that we would request you to give us one more chance so that we can provide you with a comfortable & pleasant stay.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

A really tiny tiny room (the width is the length of the bed) with an equally small bathroom. But, everything is there and it's clean and perfectly located in Soho; so no complain for £97/night. My room was located at the back of the building, with no much light but very quiet. The bed was really comfortable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shftpiccadilly, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your courteous feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. However, as you might be aware of the fact that we are a victorian facade style building wherein we have rooms of different sizes belonging to the same room category.

Since we cannot make any changes to your past experience having said that we would request you to give us one more chance so that we can provide you with a comfortable & pleasant stay.

Kind Regards,
Deepak Panicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel

Address: 65 - 73 Shaftesbury Ave | Piccadilly, London W1D 6EX, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#259 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Romantic Hotel in London
#367 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel; multilingual staff; situated in the heart of theatre land; near Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square; restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.