We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & Quality, small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #604 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location & Quality, small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very well located hotel with good quality and service. Hotel and rooms are clean. The room (single room) is very small. Bathroom too small. Overall i go back but try to get a bigger room. No experience with restaurant, bar and spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    1,030
    815
    303
    172
See reviews for
385
872
161
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I last stayed at St Giles Hotel about two years ago and so when I was going to see ‘We Will Rock You’ at the Dominion Theatre, I had no hesitation in staying there again, particularly since the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the theatre. The room is compact but comfortable and perfectly adequate and had a nice little sitting area between the room and ensuite, which was bigger that I remembered it. The room is furnished in a simple modern way and everything was spotlessly clean in the room and ensuite. A couple of nice features is that the room had a safety deposit box and microwave. The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed an undisturbed night’s sleep. After the show, I went for a drink to the hotel bar which stays open late. The breakfast was a well provided buffet costing £9.95 but the hotel had sent me a voucher to have breakfast for £7 – another nice touch. Throughout my stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2014. I was travelling alone on business and the location was walking distance from the office. Price was also excellent (for London) at around £120 for the night.

I can see why this is also popular with tourists. The location is perfect for theatre goers, shoppers and anyone wishing to explore Soho, Covent garden, Camden, Leicester square etc. It is literally 30 seconds walk from Tottenham Court Rd tube station.

My room was on the 2nd floor and it was small, but clean and comfortable. It is however quite dated, with the exception of the bathroom which seems newer.

I think it may have felt cramped with two people in the room. This hotel really just serves as somewhere to sleep in between all the sightseeing and exploring; so I wouldn't let the size of the rooms put you off!

I ate at the Hudson's House restaurant bar which is to the left of the hotel entrance and open to the public. The staff were very helpful, and the food was excellent. Great atmosphere and music, which was old rock n roll and blues. 5 stars to them.

The issues I have with the hotel are firstly, the elevators. There are just too many people and floors for those 4 lifts! It was fine most the time, but breakfast time was a nightmare.

The other problem was the so-called high speed wireless internet. It cost £10 for 24 hours and was unbearably slow. I did a speed test and it was sub 1mb/s. This was not a signal strength issue either. I would recommend going down to Hudson's House restaurant for a drink as they have separate wi-fi, which was much better.

Breakfast was tasty, but very busy and lacking continental choices. Limited fresh fruit etc. Fine if you enjoy a fry up like me. Think queuing for school dinner, and that's the kind of atmosphere it was in there. There are some coffee shops that do breakfast up the road, so you could skip breakfast and head out somewhere.

Overall a pleasant stay with Hudson's House food and staff being the highlight. I would stay again, and have recommended you to my colleagues.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the wi-fi, and try to make sure you are no higher than 3rd floor so you can avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed her for our honeymoon and I was very excited especially when we arrived in the palacial reception area, our room however was laughable! It was very small and basic, a tight squeeze, lucky we were on honeymoon! However, the location was fantastic and I can't fault the service.

Room Tip: Check room sizes if you're fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a show and stay deal. Had a single room. Ok it was small, but what more do you need, a comfy bed, pillow, really decent hairdryer, hot shower, working tv and decent sized kettle. Breakfast choice great, continental and full english, strong coffee. Had a lovely glass of wine after seeing the fabulous Mamma Mia and evening meal at The Ivy (see a woman who has taste) so therefore no complaints. Great walking distance to theatreland, great friendly staff. Perhaps you get treated how you treat others, witnessed appalling manners towards the hard working staff, myself and my friend would happily return, thanks guys :-)

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, hardly heard any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel's greatest asset is its location. A minute or so away from Tottenham Court Road tube station, close to Theatreland and Tottenham Court Road for all you techies! (Hope I've spelt that correctly but you probably know whom I mean!) It is in need of refurbishment and certainly needs new lifts. We must have spent a lot of time waiting for the small lifts to arrive and considering there are supposed to be 700 rooms, the lift space is disproportionate. Our rooms were small and the shower very small. Generally clean and the staff we met were very friendly (providing they could understand English) Food was nothing to write home about and the downstairs restaurant (VQ I think it was called) was disappointing. Open to the public from the road it was too busy for breakfast. We would certainly stay there again but eat elsewhere and hope that the rooms were on the first or second floor so we didn't have to use the lift.

Room Tip: There was no air conditioning in the room which was on the side of the hotel so it would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

So i checked in and the room is supposed to be newly furnished. If 80s furniture is new, i don't know. The tv is new & the mattresses at least and the bathrooms are new.
I changed almost twice my room, because the first room they gave me, the wc was filthy. The second room, the bed covers seemed to have vommit on it. I was so gross out. The manager and generally the people who work there are helpful, but the facilities are not worth the money.
The location was ideal, pick another hotel near this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.