We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #604 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extremely noisy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel try's to play the 4 star role, however in reality is a cheap 2 star. Reception is very grand, the room was grotty. The bathroom looks like black marble it is in fact black formica and minuscule, no bath. The noise even from the so called quiet Bedford Street side is just appalling. Don't waste your money staying here, pay a few more pound and get a proper 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Silk purse but really a sow's ear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    1,030
    815
    303
    172
See reviews for
385
872
161
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hotel booked some six weeks before our trip, but on arrival - four ladies, we were advised that two double (executive) rooms had been booked. Following extensive discussion which involved three different members of Reception staff, we were advised that we would have to share two double beds. As no rooms were available, allegedly, we viewed the executive double rooms. As none wished to share beds, two members returned to Reception. When told that we wished to leave the hotel and asked Reception staff to book us alternative accommodation, two twins rooms magically turned up. This debacle took one and a half hours, cutting short our afternoon plans. Add to this the queue for breakfast and waiting for lifts, it coloured our view of St. Giles.
The location of the hotel is excellent, staff are okay if you don't have a problem but would view other hotels if staying in London again. Rooms are small but clean and acceptable for central London. Had the mishap been better dealt with by Reception staff, we would have enjoyed our stay much better.

Room Tip: Confirm your room before arrival. Standard rooms have a small window but our room 756 was relativel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice hotel in an excellent location just off Oxford Street. Rooms were adequate, but some of the agents at the desk could be better. However my worst experience ever in a hotel, was the horrendous queues for breakfast. If you go down after 8.00am for breakfast it will probably take you a full hour. Something must be done as it's simply not acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Trust me, you don’t want to stay here. Nobody wants to stay here. This is a horrible place and, with out question, the absolute worst hotel I’ve ever had the misfortune to stay in.

The location is brilliant, but does not in any way make up for the awful hotel experience.

Staffs are rude and unaccommodating (And I’m from Norway. We’re known for our atrocious service and unbelievable rudeness).
Elevators do not work. I spend more time waiting for the elevator, and walking up and down the stairs, than I did traveling back and forth from Norway.

My room, I think, was a converted broom-closet. When I opened my suitcase there were no floor space left, so it was impossible to move around the room.

The blinds were inside the window and would not pull open. You could open and close them; witch made them look like bars in front of the window, and created a wonderful jail ambience.
The window itself only opened few centimetres so taking a look outside was impossible.

“Breakfast” was included. And I’m using the term “breakfast” loosely.
Not knowing better we tried to get breakfast at nine thirty the first morning. But there was a forty-five minute wait. And a line that went from the dining room all the wait down into the reception.
Not wanting to spend our holyday waiting in line for breakfast we left.
Next morning we were back at eight. The line was smaller. But that was only the first line. When inside we got handed a tray and had to stand in an endless line that slowly moved past the buffet.
IT IS NOT WORTH IT! The breakfast is one the most distasteful tings I ever tried to eat. And I was surrounded by miserable faces. No smiling. No laughter. No talking. No sounds that for me are closely connected to eating.

The very nice taxi driver that took me to the airport after I was finally realised, told med that the “hotel” is actually a converted YMCA. That explains a lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed as a group of 8 for one night whilst celebrating a friends birthday. The hotel is in an excellent location. Check in was straight forward and the rooms were all ok. The hotel is very large and the only real fault is that there are only 4 lifts, and there was always a large queue for them. We had the breakfast to go which was easy and quick and very nice - I did notice that the queue for a full breakfast was horrendous and from conversations had this seemed to be a regular occurrence. The bar was nice and comfortable and the prices were typical of London. I will definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just back from a fab weekend break in London.This is the third time we have stayed at the St Giles, and we would never now book any other hotel. The location is prime - just next to Tottenham court Road, within easy access of the subway and central for everywhere we wanted to visit. The staff are polite, courteous, and nothing is a bother. As usual, our room was clean warm and well equipped ......from fridge to hair dryer.......well done St Giles yet again.

Room Tip: Love the delux room.......separate sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a very large hotel with 670 rooms, but only 4 elevators to transport all the guests up & down 12 floors. Waiting time for the lifts can, during weekends, be as much as 10 minutes. Not to mention waiting in line to get into the breakfast restaurant (which resembles a school cafeteria), then wait in another looong line to get the actual breakfast. If you eat what is offered, you will at least not leave hungry.

It’s officially 3* rated, but is (with Scandinavian standards) a tourist class hotel.
Due to the insufficiency of lifts and the presence of stairs, the hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs and disabled people.

The staff is somewhat uninspired, but not unfriendly.

We stayed in a reasonably sized twin room on the 1st floor for 4 nights. The bathroom was good and appeared to be newly refurbished. The room itself a bit "tired" with a stained wall-to-wall carpet. Luckily the room faced one of the quieter streets, so we were not disturbed by noise from the main street (Tottenham Court Rd).

You have to pay for WiFi, both in the room and in public areas. (Nicholson's pub, The Tottenham, corner Oxford St/Tottenham Court Rd, have free WiFi).

The advantages with this hotel are the location near Oxford Street and the room prices. But you get what you pay for…

If you want some nice restaurants, visit nearby Charlotte St.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 11 and 12th floor as they are not refurbished (according to receptionist)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.