We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay anywhere else in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #606 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would never stay anywhere else in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just back from a fab weekend break in London.This is the third time we have stayed at the St Giles, and we would never now book any other hotel. The location is prime - just next to Tottenham court Road, within easy access of the subway and central for everywhere we wanted to visit. The staff are polite, courteous, and nothing is a bother. As usual, our room was clean warm and well equipped ......from fridge to hair dryer.......well done St Giles yet again.

Room Tip: Love the delux room.......separate sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    1,323
    1,051
    385
    218
See reviews for
506
1,147
200
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a very large hotel with 670 rooms, but only 4 elevators to transport all the guests up & down 12 floors. Waiting time for the lifts can, during weekends, be as much as 10 minutes. Not to mention waiting in line to get into the breakfast restaurant (which resembles a school cafeteria), then wait in another looong line to get the actual breakfast. If you eat what is offered, you will at least not leave hungry.

It’s officially 3* rated, but is (with Scandinavian standards) a tourist class hotel.
Due to the insufficiency of lifts and the presence of stairs, the hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs and disabled people.

The staff is somewhat uninspired, but not unfriendly.

We stayed in a reasonably sized twin room on the 1st floor for 4 nights. The bathroom was good and appeared to be newly refurbished. The room itself a bit "tired" with a stained wall-to-wall carpet. Luckily the room faced one of the quieter streets, so we were not disturbed by noise from the main street (Tottenham Court Rd).

You have to pay for WiFi, both in the room and in public areas. (Nicholson's pub, The Tottenham, corner Oxford St/Tottenham Court Rd, have free WiFi).

The advantages with this hotel are the location near Oxford Street and the room prices. But you get what you pay for…

If you want some nice restaurants, visit nearby Charlotte St.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 11 and 12th floor as they are not refurbished (according to receptionist)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nobody is going to rave about this hotel, but apart from some issues it would be difficult to slate it either. The best thing is the location in Bloomsbury, walkable to Oxford Street, British Museum (and Museum Tavern - top tip for real ale and good wine). If you get a good deal book it! Breakfast is very ordinary and queues can be long to get served so allow for this.
Check in was friendly as was the concierge. Well designed in that rooms are at an angle and don't overlook each other, but an awful modern concrete exterior. This is a big city hotel with lots of rooms so don't expect seclusion and special treatment.

Room Tip: They are all quite similar really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel just situated off Oxford Street, ideal for shopping and landmarks of London. Stayed in double room for two nights, slept well both nights, beds are rather hard to sleep on though. Room was small and clean. Stayed on first floor, room only basis, however plenty of eating places near by. Price reasonable. For the amount of staff on the check in/reception area, they could have took more time being friendly both at check in/out time. They were efficient but weren't welcoming. If visit London again, would use a different hotel even if had to pay that bit extra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Every year I visit this hotel with my mum and we love it, this year due to illness my mum uses a wheel chair. The staff and hotel it's self was fine, unfortunately this could not be said about the lifts ever time we wanted to leave the room we could never get in the lifts every time I wanted to take my mum out of the hotel or back to the room we would have to wait 20+ mins to get a lift , then to top it of we got trapped in it for over 20 mins . Out of 4 lifts only 1 or 2 were working . Very stressful for a disabled person and the person supporting them .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayo Coco, Cuba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is my second time ay this hotel .
stayed here for 3 nights in November ,in a executive double room at 4 th floor .our room was clean ,and the coffee facilities very helpful.
I booked this room because I knew the normal rooms are very small . We were paying 129 english pounds per night with no breakfast,which I knew it was poor and the restaurant very small ,so every day I was watching people queuing to have breakfast.not nice
But no Wi fi ???? we had to pay to get some internet ?????? and the lifts we were locket once in
it was very scary.I thing the people are not interest to do more because they have the best
location !!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I had an very enjoyable stay at st.Giles Hotel - nice hotel - food excellent.
Unfortunately after checking out on the 14th I realized I had left my engagement ring in the room, and at around 12 p.m. phoned hotel and told them where I had left it. About 12.45 they returned my call to say the room had been cleaned and there was no sign of the ring! Went back to the hotel and spoke to the duty manager who logged the incident for the security manager to read on the following Monday. We found the manager to be very helpful and he said the incident would be looked into - but to be honest I don't hold any hope of seeing the ring again. Would suggest future guests be extra vigilant - still very upset! !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#360 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 5,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#337 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#652 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Bloomsbury
myhotel Bloomsbury
myhotel Bloomsbury
#321 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.