We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Save Saved
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save 15%
Ranked #576 of 1,073 hotels in London
nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at different times and consequently got separate electronic keys but only one was allowed to be active, which was a bit off putting and would of been a problem if we had been going to different places and different times, which wasn't a great start for us.
The hotel itself is in a good location just around the corner from Tottenham Court Road tube station and the British Museum. Unfortunately the room I stayed on the 4th floor was compact although although we are of average height and build would of struggled in the small bathroom and shower if we were of a bigger build. The bathroom had only one bath towel and hand towel for a double room and 2 of us. I called Housekeeping and got an answerphone message to say their opening hours and to call the following number out of hours, it was 4pm and was well with the times stated. I then called reception who asked me to check the wardrobes as sometimes housekeeping put them with the spare pillows. I informed the receptionist I had checked the small wardrobe and draws and nothing and explain we were going out to dinner and wanted showers, they informed me 10 minutes, I had to call just over an hour later to remind them. The towels in my opinion are small bath towels and not a great quality, compared to many of their competitors and even lesser expensive rivals who use bath sheets. The bed was adequate. The biggest concern for us the lack of curtains as the windows are venetian blinds, that reflect the light outside through the gaps. When it starts to get light the room gets light, if you are a light sleeper(excuse the pun) not a great experience at all.
Breakfast is more like a cafeteria rather than a restaurant, basic, just OK. I had originally booked again for next month, but cancelled it on my return home. We would not stay here again and felt very disappointed as the write up gave a good impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    830
    670
    238
    132
See reviews for
306
700
133
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at The St. Giles Hotel on a one night Theatre break. The reception team are very polite. Rooms are small but clean with Tea and Coffee facilities, the beds are comfortable, and the Bathroom is small but functional. It was a very cold evening but the room was warm, in fact too warm at the beginning, but heating was easy to adjust. We didn't experience any noise as the room looked out over a side street. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good location, central London, near Soho and Oxford Street - this is the best point. Nice room, clean and very comfortable, good beds, good shower. Not enough elevators (and quite slow). Stressful breakfast in a big space, overwhelmed staff, running around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our third visit to the St Giles hotel just off Tottenham Court Rd .The team are polite are efficient the hotel is clean. The rooms whilst not being massive are comfy clean warm with tea coffee facilities extra pillows , and we were given a small suite on this visit which meant we had a sitting room ,fridge , two tvs , hairdryer , and a seperate bedroom. Im sure there are many more upmarket hotels in London but if you want a great location you can walk to Leicester Square in 10 minutes and be on the central line tube in 2 minutes then this is the best value well run base for great 1 or 2 night weekend breaks .We will use this hotel again definitely.

Room Tip: we had room 201 which was a small suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

As a family get together this hotel was booked for me so it was a matter of put up and shut up.

The rooms are small but acceptable what wasn't was that it was really really cold. The radiator or at least the bit of folded tin under the dressing table was barely tepid even with the 6" of snow outside. Eventually we were offered a portable heater but heater but it was too late.
The bed had broken springs all over it; so was actually painful to sleep on.

The bar prices are what I expect for the centre of London we didn't eat there as just outside the door is a much better choice on offer.

I would not use this hotel again would rather spend half the amount on rooms at a travelodge outside the centre and travel in on the tube.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stay here regularly. the location is great, the staff are friendly (for London!). The rooms are always clean, although very small.

We always stay in the executive rooms, they have more space and a seperate breakfast room that doesnt become feeding time at the zoo!

Biggest problem is the lifts, there isnt nearly enough and you can end up waiting 5 + minutes at busy times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location in central London , a few minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road tube station. The check in staff were polite and efficient and my keys were in my hands within two minutes. My room on 3rd floor was reached after an horrendously long wait for lifts that only accommodate 6 people at a time and there always appears to be a queue of about 20 waiting but stairs are available.. My room was the smallest I have ever stayed in with a single bed tucked into one corner. The room has all things you need, TV, Safe, Coffee making facility and a tiny en suite bathroom with shower cubicle. It felt very claustrophobic and I thought I would never sleep. The bar and facilities are good value and comfortable as are the restaurants, although step outside and experience great dining in central London. On my return from a restaurant down the road I had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable single bed ever and never woke until next morning, no noise and felt almost foetal in the room as it was so small and compact but overall for one night was good value and would use again if for a very short stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#576 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.