We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Giles Hotel London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #597 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Lausanne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“St Giles Hotel London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good location, central London, near Soho and Oxford Street - this is the best point. Nice room, clean and very comfortable, good beds, good shower. Not enough elevators (and quite slow). Stressful breakfast in a big space, overwhelmed staff, running around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    950
    754
    278
    160
See reviews for
356
801
148
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our third visit to the St Giles hotel just off Tottenham Court Rd .The team are polite are efficient the hotel is clean. The rooms whilst not being massive are comfy clean warm with tea coffee facilities extra pillows , and we were given a small suite on this visit which meant we had a sitting room ,fridge , two tvs , hairdryer , and a seperate bedroom. Im sure there are many more upmarket hotels in London but if you want a great location you can walk to Leicester Square in 10 minutes and be on the central line tube in 2 minutes then this is the best value well run base for great 1 or 2 night weekend breaks .We will use this hotel again definitely.

Room Tip: we had room 201 which was a small suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

As a family get together this hotel was booked for me so it was a matter of put up and shut up.

The rooms are small but acceptable what wasn't was that it was really really cold. The radiator or at least the bit of folded tin under the dressing table was barely tepid even with the 6" of snow outside. Eventually we were offered a portable heater but heater but it was too late.
The bed had broken springs all over it; so was actually painful to sleep on.

The bar prices are what I expect for the centre of London we didn't eat there as just outside the door is a much better choice on offer.

I would not use this hotel again would rather spend half the amount on rooms at a travelodge outside the centre and travel in on the tube.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stay here regularly. the location is great, the staff are friendly (for London!). The rooms are always clean, although very small.

We always stay in the executive rooms, they have more space and a seperate breakfast room that doesnt become feeding time at the zoo!

Biggest problem is the lifts, there isnt nearly enough and you can end up waiting 5 + minutes at busy times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location in central London , a few minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road tube station. The check in staff were polite and efficient and my keys were in my hands within two minutes. My room on 3rd floor was reached after an horrendously long wait for lifts that only accommodate 6 people at a time and there always appears to be a queue of about 20 waiting but stairs are available.. My room was the smallest I have ever stayed in with a single bed tucked into one corner. The room has all things you need, TV, Safe, Coffee making facility and a tiny en suite bathroom with shower cubicle. It felt very claustrophobic and I thought I would never sleep. The bar and facilities are good value and comfortable as are the restaurants, although step outside and experience great dining in central London. On my return from a restaurant down the road I had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable single bed ever and never woke until next morning, no noise and felt almost foetal in the room as it was so small and compact but overall for one night was good value and would use again if for a very short stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from this hotel. Not much to add from other reviews. Rooms are very small, bad pillows and just a Venetian blind at window that let in light early morning. Very odd heating system, convector heaters that are under the dressing table. Ours was not working and as it was freezing weather we had to ask for electric heater that was promptly supplied. Breakfast was ok, we were on inclusive deal with Superbreaks. Highly recommend these for UK visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate, north yorshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. I was worried about staying here with my family after reading the reviews
I have to say we had a great time.
The location is great. You can almost walk anywhere. Yes its a budget hotel but all we wanted was a bed and breakfast and great location and thats what you get

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.