We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average - definitely no frills!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Save Saved
You added St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #579 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Distinctly average - definitely no frills!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Location is perfect for shopping - literally a stone's throw away from Tottenham Court Road. As for the rooms, we paid extra for a "deluxe" double. The best I can say about it was that it was clean and comfortable. Not sure exactly what qualifies as "deluxe" in their classification! To me, this was on par with a Travelodge anywhere else in the country, only difference being that you got to pay London prices here!
I called down to reception to ask for an ice bucket and 2 champagne glasses. On first attempt, the call connected and I was told "I'll have them brough to your room madam", before I'd even spoken to anyone! When I asked what they were bringing up, I was put on hold then disconnected. On the second attempt I was told "we don't do room service" and that I would have to go down to the concierge to collect them myself.
In the room there was a folder with lots of information - including the card relating to breakfast in which it warns of a 20 minute queing time! Funnily enough I didn't bother!
I won't be returning to this hotel in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    874
    706
    248
    144
See reviews for
328
738
137
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a night in September, it's okay if you want a central base but otherwise I wouldn't stay again at all. Rooms are tiny, dull and basic. Forget about the breakfast, very disappointing! The restaurant is more like a school canteen - don't bother paying the extra its honestly not worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here 3 days in a single room - although the room/bathroom was very small, it was o.k. and clean. After all you are in London to do shopping, sightseeing etc. The hotel was very busy - sometimes a long waiting time for the elevator .... the breakfast was not that delicious but basic. I would stay there again because of the location.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 364 - fine little corner room with a view to a street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is brilliant if you just want to get your head down on a visit to London or Heathrow. It is right opposite Feltham station and on the end of the main high street.Parking is only £7.00 a night. So you can park up, check in and be in Waterloo station half hour later. Don't bother with breakfast because there's a Wetherspoons 2 mins away on the high street and a Macdonald's opposite. The rooms are basic but warm and clean. We arrived at 10am and checked in only to secure our rooms, but the 2 rooms were ready. We dumped our bags and jumped on a train 5 minutes later. We were in the West End by 11am. Amazing. Feltham can be a bit noisy and we could hear the trains. But great for a basic, cheap stay near London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked this hotel with a hotel and theatre package, ideally placed for most of the theatres.

Rooms as stated are very small but clean and pleasant

Bar in hotel very good when we returned from our evening

Breakfast included in price and cannot complain good choice and hot

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I've booked this hotel for 7 days with my sister after a good friend of mine recommend it as nice centeral hotel right next to Oxford st'
Well I got nice twin bed room small but good on the sixth floor nice size bathroom in the morning the meal was allright good selection of things to eat .
The hotel is in great location and the stuff are nice and friendly
I could ask more for that price I honestly recommend it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Londoner in SW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When you need to stay central in London, St Giles offers a great positon close to Oxford Circus and on the corner of Tottenham Court Road. Check in was torture. First the room was ready, then when I raised a query it suddenly wasn't. Staff take a while to 'warm up' in the friendly stakes, am sure it because they are the front line for flak, but come on, we're not all ogres.
Finally got the room, on the 9th floor. Tiny room but all you need with a narrow dressing area and a caravan bathroom. Two windows, one overlooking TCR the other out the back. The room smelled strongly of stale damp towels, pseudomonas. Eugh, couldn't get it out of my head. No fan in the bathroom probably didn't help. Noisy night, can hear upstairs clearly and even though high up, the street noise was disturbing, though not the hotel's fault. Lifts have their own agenda, wouldn't like to stay here if tehre was a fire. Didn't book breakfast but from the other reviews that was probably a good thing. Plenty of street cafes around to serve the breakfast of your choice. The bed was very comfy and warm. Otherwise an adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Expedia so you can book your St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;