We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful with which room you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England (Covent Garden)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #359 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
north west england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“be careful with which room you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

I have stayed at the hotel several times for work in the past, however I have just returned from a three night break with my wife.
The Hotel could not be better positioned, and has all the services you require.
My advice though is be wary if you get room 500. (dont know if the numbering is the same on all floors) as it is situated opposite the lifts, before you go through the doors. Everytime the lift stops you can hear the bing bong, and in addition not everyone is a quiet as I try to be when they are coming out, or waiting for the lifts. A big thankyou to the American family, who at four am were shouting at each other trying to find their rooms, hope they had a better sleep once they found it than I did.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    2,135
    875
    288
    180
See reviews for
499
1,456
728
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

I accompanied my Husband on a business trip, & this was the Hotel which we were booked into.

The Staff on reception are very helpful and professional, and we were pleased with our room, which was very clean and spacious. (I think it was a club). The bed was quite large and very comfortable. There was a flat screen T.V. and ample refreshment facilities. As seems the norm, there was not a lot of wardrobe space.

We had dinner in the Hotel, which was good but limited choice - a 2 or 3 course cavery or 2 or 3 course a la carte carvery. (With vegetarian option). It was good value for money, and tasty, but the restaurant was almost empty.

The main problem is that our room faced the Strand opposite the Savoy. It seemed exciting at first, but there was constant, and mean CONSTANT traffic noise going on. Even with earplugs I could still hear it. If you are like me, a light sleeper, then PLEASE ask if you can have a quiet room. I know this is central London, but I thought it would have been tripled glazed or something.

Breakfast was chaotic with a self serve hot buffet. We had a slight wait, but it was nothing like the queue which formed behind us. When you have this set up, you have the usual jostling around and impatient people leaning across you. Perhaps it is a quicker turnover than waitress service. There is only one toasting grill. I was lucky, No one was there when I went. However, the woman behind me grabbed at least six slices of bread to toast, so heaven help the person waiting behind her.

On the positive side, it is a clean Hotel with friendly staff and perfectly situated for Theatreland. I would stay here again, as long as I could be guaranteed minimum noise disturbance.

  • Liked — Staff, Food, Location
  • Disliked — Outside Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

A friend and I spent 3 nights in the Strand Palace Hotel. For me, it's top selling point is its central location. It's only a few minutes walk from Embankment and Covent Garden Tube Station and also Charing Cross Rail Station. It's also slap bang in the middle of Theatre Land with many of London's top shows only a few yards away. There's also plenty of restaurants around and the Open Top Bus Tour stop is only around the corner. Staff were friendly and efficient. Although my room wasn't as plush as the lobby would convey, it was spotlessly clean and had everything I needed. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed. Top marks to the wonderful concierge who arranged tickets and gave good advice as to shows etc. Overall, I was very happy with my stay and found the hotel to be reasonably priced, considering its central location. This hotel would be ideal for someone staying on their own, as it's in such a bustling location and you can walk back from the theatre quite safely.

  • Liked — Central location, close to all amenities - Couldn't be better!
  • Disliked — Bedroom was a little old fashioned - in need of updating (Though very clean).
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

I am just home from staying at this hotel as had tickets for Grease & Dirty Dancing. I cant fault this hotel on anything. From the great & helpful communication from Kevina at reservations to the welcome from Geoff the doorman - the room was lovely - spotlessly clean. The breakfast was amazing also. A buffet with just about everything you could ask for - yum yum!!!

It was a two minute walk to the Aldwych Theatre and a twenty minute walk to the Piccaddily theatre for Grease. There are tons of theatres around it. Its honestly a perfect location even just for the sightseeing as a ten minute walk and you are down facing the London Eye.

Dont let any bad reviews put you off this hotel as its perfect.

  • Liked — The location is just perfect for everything - 3 minute walk from Charing Cross Station also
  • Disliked — Nothing at all !!!!! Was just perfect
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed at the Strand Palace in February for two nights. We flew into Standstead and the hotel web site gave us perfect directions as to how to get from the Covent Garden station to the hotel (approx 4 min walk). The hotel itself was a lot larger than i expected. Check in was quick and there are a number of bars and restaurants. We had breakfast included in our stay and the breakfast was lovely. Buffet style and plenty of everything. The purpose of our trip was to see Joseph in the West End. The hotel could not have been closer to the theatre. If you stood outside the hotel you could see the sign for Joseph.
The hotel is also ideal if you want to browse around Covent Garden and is very near Trafalgar Square. The only down side to this hotel was that the rooms are small but if you are like us and not planning to spend much time in the rooms this hotel is perfect. Also very near some nice restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay here again if going back to London.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — room size small
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Strand Palace is in a great location being right in the West end , ideal for theatres and sightseeing in general.
I was disappointed when I discovered my room bore absolutely no resemblance to the nice bedroom pictures on their website.
My room, a singe room had one of those shaky unstable tiny single beds jammed into one corner of the room.
I would not have stayed in the hotel if I knew what my bedroom looked like in advance.
Breakfast was great despite the long queues on the Saturday morning. The staff all were all fantastic and gave a great impression of the hotel.
Hotel is overpriced but I suppose can sell itself based on its fantastic location.

  • Liked — The Staff and location
  • Disliked — Tiny bedroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Stayed for one night only, but would stay here again. The hotel is located on the strand about 5 minutes from the embankment tube station. I found the hotel and facilities fine, I stayed in a room on the 6th floor, which was fine. The hotel I found was a little dated in parts but overhaul a nice hotel and the location is perfect. Just remember to make a note of your room number when going out, because the hall ways are like mazes and after a few beers, you might find yourself wandering around looking for that hotel room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Why dont hotels ever put enough tea and coffee out
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#245 Family Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
#335 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 786
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West End the Strand Palace Hotel is easily accessible from the City and Docklands areas. The property is located in close proximity to Covent Garden, Charing Cross and a short stroll from Waterloo station. Surrounded by some of London’s finest architectural and cultural landmarks, the hotel is the perfect base for leisure travelers, while for business it provides an impressive location for important meetings with well-equipped Conference and Events rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.