We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England (Covent Garden)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 1,052 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A well situated hotel for covent garden and the theatres all within a few minutes walk, We had a twin room which was a decent size with nice size shower room, Breakfast was self service and there was plenty of choice. Bags can be stored free on day of arrival if you are early and cost £2 an item on day of departure. We have stayed here before and will certainly return as reasonably priced for central London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    2,322
    962
    317
    199
See reviews for
574
1,630
793
1,143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel could hardly be in a better location, just a few minutes walk away from the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden and the west end theatres. The rooms are very comfortable if a bit on the small side. We had a meal at the carvery whilst there which was nothing special. What really spoiled our stay was being charged £2 per item of luggage for storage on our day of departure. We've stayed in hotels all over the world and have never had to pay such a charge previously. The hotel is being renovated and part of the cost is obviously being levied on customers through these sorts of charges. Will try elsewhere the next time in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location near Charing Cross and Covent Garden. The hotel is quite large and the inside is really nice. We ate here for a xmas do and stayed over night i think we got a deal and if the price is right i would def stay again. Yes there are better plusher hotels but i would advise checking it out ... if the price is right ...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September, as it was central to the locations we were visiting. In fact there is so much to do here, Covent Garden is behind the Hotel, with the Opera House, museums, and restaurants. Numerous buses run past the door, and the Underground and Mainline Station are a 5 minute walk. Trafalger Square and the Art Galleries are only 5-7 minutes walk.
Our Hotel room booked only two days before lacked a view from the window, but it was very quiet and a good sized room. The Hotel was full, but the corridors were very quiet. Our room appeared to have been recently refurbished, and was bright and modern with a lovely bathroom.
We had an excellent buffet breakfast in a busy dining room. We thought for Central London, that the room rate was not expensive. We will definitely stay here again, ideally nearer to Christmas.

Room Tip: inner rooms are very quiet. We preferred the higher floors, although at busy times you may wait a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we booked for afternoon tea online, not an expensive ofcourse as places like the ritz, but nevertheless i expect a certain standard even so. The finger sandwiches were stale and the cakes were too and not at all appetising. The only saving grace were the scones, which were quite nice, but the jam and cream didnt even have serving spoons with them. the tea was bog standard and no choice was offered and this was tea bags and not leaf tea. i couldnt not recommend a visit here and we left feeling let down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel seems to be marked down for the size of its rooms, but this is London where space is at a premium, like so many other cities. Try the IBIS in Darling Harbour, Sydney, and this is like a palace!! Yes the rooms are small, but very good decoration and everything you need is there. Staff very good, breakfast excellent. But above all, the location is superb, and that is what you are paying for. 2 minutes from theatres, Covent Garden, and all the major attractions. We would certainly use it again

Room Tip: We booked a room 'without a view' whilst renovations are being carried out to exterior, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is situated on The Strand, just yards away from Covent Garden, and is consequently in an excellent location for a trip to London’s West End.

Recently renovated, the hotel is clean and well presented, and the rooms, whilst small, are equally clean and well appointed. However, the bathrooms, which are also recently renovated, clean and smart are rather too small to be considered comfortable.

Nevertheless, as somewhere to rest one’s head on a visit to London, the hotel is entirely acceptable, but I would not recommend anyone to visit the hotel in its own right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#337 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#189 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#234 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#226 Family Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
#355 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of the West End. Since opening its doors, the hotel has remained a true landmark in the area. With over 700 guest rooms ranging from Cosy to Executive, WiFi throughout, Art Deco features, a gym, two restaurants, lounge area, two bars and meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.