We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Travelcard
Ranked #356 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was my second stay at Strand Palace Hotel and I am so glad that I returned. Room was spacious and clean - no airconditioning but lucky for me it was still chilly weather in London so did not matter. It is just such a pleasure being so central - 2 minutes from Covent Garden; 5 minutes from Trafalgar Square or for a quick walk down to the river; 10 minutes from Leicester Square! Everything within a few minutes walking distance !! Could be a bit pricey but ask for a room without a view (who needs one anyway?) and you'll get a better deal. What is a really great option is getting free wireless for those of you who need to catch up on those pesky emails from home or if you don't have your laptop with you they also have computers for you to use also with free access . All I can say is ....." I'll be back !!! "

Room Tip: To get a better rate ask for a room without a view - you will get a room with a view of the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

As you have indicated, our non-view rooms booked directly through our website offer the best deal to guests. Our central location is certainly one of our attractions, with many of London’s attractions only a short walk away.

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    1,939
    813
    267
    171
See reviews for
445
1,301
686
964
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfortable room but not luxurious in spite of 'executive' description. Friendly welcome by efficient reception staff. Good breakfast served in
Restful environment by helpful
Staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed in the Strand Palace for the first time in May. I got a rate of 135 GBP per night for a single, on booking.com. I was a bit worried because I've stayed in singles before and there are really no good deals to be had in London, for any kind of room. However, I was very pleased with my stay at Strand Palace.
The room, even though a single, is ample, with adequate room in the wardrobe, a desk (complete with tea kettle, tea, etc.) and an extra sitting chair. The bathroom has more than enough room, with good water pressure, big towels, etc. The bed was comfortable and the tv had plenty of interesting channels.
The location of the Strand Palace is superb, you're smack in the center and near all kinds of transportation choices, restaurants choices, drug stores, and grocery stores.
I look forward to staying at Strand Palace again when I'm in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting the rate you received for your single room which coupled with our great location does indeed offer great value for money

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful central hotel for the four days of the diamond jubilee. It was superb. We only ate in the dining room once as it is too much of a conveyor belt, tables too close together and service not attentive. Food indifferent. However, for location for royal London the hotel is perfect and the rooms very comfortable. The use of free internet in lounge is very helpful.

Room Tip: We like a room at the front of the hotel usually but it is covered in scaffolding at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed there for two days for work and the first thing to say is that it’s probably the best location you can find to visit London or to travel inside of it (not far from Covent Garden, Tube,…)! As I had a single room, it was a really really tiny one but extremely clean… Small desk, flat sceen TV + free WIFI… The bed was OK… The big problem that I had was about the plugs… As everybody knows it, English ones don’t match with the Western European ones but I really think that in an international hotel at this price they should provide it for free and not telling you that you can buy one inside the hotel at an expensive price!!! … Personnel nice and helpful… Nice Breakfast… Maybe too expensive for what it is... But the location is so great!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for my birthday.
Pros-
GREAT LOCATION!!! minutes away from trafalgar square, the london eye, big ben and Buckingham palace, we couldnt believe how close we were- we walked everywhere!
Rooms, clean tidy all the amenities we needed, didnt need a massive space and for London they were more than adequate.
Breakfast- great hot and cold buffet- as much as you wanted.

Cons
Building work being done which meant entire outside of hotel was covered in plastic which meant you couldnt see it- we struggled to find it.
Roof outside our bedroom door- ceiling tiles came down and a persistent leak- when we informed reception we were told ' yes we know' nothing more said or offered
Reservations didnt add our sunday carvery offer to our booking, when we asked about this the night staff had no idea! they said if it wasnt on the booking we couldnt have it- END OF! It was my birthday and I thought that something could be done.

The only saving grace was Adnan the Front of House manager. He dealt with us in a genuine and courteous manner and rectified the issues we had. Its a shame that his staff didnt conduct themselves in the same way. The Night staff needed more informationa and training in customer service!!

We would stay here again as the location is fantastic and for the price the rooms were good value for money. Everyone deserves a second chance :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. On the whole I hope you enjoyed your experience at the Strand Palace Hotel. I’m sorry for any issues you experienced and am pleased that Adnan was able to assist you in resolving the problems. We endeavour to constantly improve so I have taken your comments on board.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you book this hotel through Orbitz or as part of any package and then need to move the reservation (for whatever reason) this hotel is completely inflexable in either cancelling or even moving (and adding a night) to a week where they show clear room availability on their website.

Their flat, incredably rudely stated by the reservation clerk, policy is that, once booked:

****They have your money and they are not giving it back - even if they are now getting it for free.****

***Beware of this hotel and do not book through Orbits or any other package unless you want o put your entire hotel stay money at risk for the sake of (potentially) saving a few dollars***

****Beware-Beware-Beware- Read the reservation terms - this hotel is out to take your money***

Room Tip: Do not book as part of any package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. For bookings made directly with the Strand Palace Hotel, the cancellation policy states that any cancellations/amendments are completely free if they are cancelled by 6pm the day prior to arrival. On occasion, we have a discounted rate available for advance purchase. You have, however, stated that your booking was with Orbitz and not directly with the hotel. Orbitz charge a 100% cancellation fee for advance purchase rates, similar to airlines. Orbitz and all other third party agents clearly state their terms and conditions when booking.

It is very disappointing then, that you should extend such a negative review of the Strand Palace Hotel without firstly having stayed here and secondly, not actually having made a booking directly with us.

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Romantic Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 786
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West End the Strand Palace Hotel is easily accessible from the City and Docklands areas. The property is located in close proximity to Covent Garden, Charing Cross and a short stroll from Waterloo station. Surrounded by some of London’s finest architectural and cultural landmarks, the hotel is the perfect base for leisure travelers, while for business it provides an impressive location for important meetings with well-equipped Conference and Events rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.