We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar to your Saves list
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book HERE - save 15%
Ranked #113 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from a 3 day weekend break staying at this hotel and the Location is perfect. 10 to fifteen minute walk to virtually everything you could want to see and subtantially less for some things. Ideal for Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and Covent Garden area.

Hotel staff were fabulous - we have a 2 year old and she loved the attention she got from the staff and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were modern, up to date and hd everything you could need.

Would definately recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in central London and I will be staying here again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    272
    53
    17
    7
See reviews for
122
368
30
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. Couldnt beat the location. Piccadilly, Chinatown, Theatres, Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square all a couple of minutes away. Full breakfast is the 'help yourself' type of buffet but food is good, restuarant was not overcrowded, plently of staff on hand to assist. I had a twin exec room which wasgood. Bigger than some I've styed in in London. Furnishings etc. were new and the bathroom had obviously been refurbished with a full walk in rain shower. Couldnt fault the hotel. Clean, helpful staff and great location.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got 310 which was nice and quiet. Overlooked the museum to the back so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. While our room was not large it accommodated my wife and I very well. It was well appointed and extremely comfortable.

Staff were friendly and customer focused. We were particularly impressed by Manos at the front desk.

The hotel is ideally located - close to the theatre district and central to the city's attractions.

The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast with numerous options.

We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked the royal trafalgar for 3 nights ( Thurs-Sun ). We arrived at reception just before midnight and were greeted very friendly by the staff . We stayed in room 317 which is a family suit. This has one double bed and a sofa bed . The sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and wouldn't stay flat. I reported this the next morning and by the time we got back from breakfast it had been replaced by a single bed. Huge difference :-) Despite the hotel being bang in the middle of Leicester square , the rooms are quiet . Don't expect a view though from the 3rd floor. The bathroom has a bath and separate shower. Overall great quality .
WIthin 2 minutes walk you are in Leicester Square / Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square . The nearest tube station is Leicester Square .
This hotel is great for someone who wants easy access to the hustle and bustle of the city centre but still wants a peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is well situated to Leicster Square and Covent Garden.Our room was small but clean.We were on the fifth floor but could still here street noises in the middle of the night.We did not eat at the hotel but we did have breakfast which was adequate.The now normal buffet breakfast where its all layed out trying to keep warm.The breakfast area was again very small.
I don't mind a small bedroom but it was an expensive small bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the room. I have noted your comments on the street noise and will contact you separately to identify the room number so we can investigate further. Although we do have secondary glazing in all rooms a thorough check on all the seals on the fifth floor is being conducted. Thank you, once again for your balanced review.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed five nights in an executive room and were happy with our experience. The Hotel itself is smaller than those that I would normally stay at and as expected had small rooms etc. Everything in the rooms worked and I can't complain but to be honest the hotel is probably 3 star but when coupled with location it is close to a 4. Service is fine.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Trafalgar Square and we love to walk on our holidays and found it easy to get to Piccadilly Circus, Chinatown, Buckingham Palace and even the Thames wasn't too far. The hop on/off bus stop is at the end of the street and the underground is also close by.
The ultimate test for me is, would I stay here again? Yes.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we went to this hotel for afternoon tea, after visiting Buckingham Palace, on our 42nd wedding anniversary. The service was excellent, and the atmosphere in the hotel was calm and inviting. we were early, but were made to feel very welcome, and shown to a table of our choice in the window. Other couples were in the dining room, but there was ample space between the tables to feel comfortable, and not over heard. The sparkling wine was very nice, but the food was really nice, well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#115 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.